We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for dollar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 James F. Taylor Dr., Ridgeland, SC 29936 (Formerly Quality Inn Ridgeland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Ridgeland
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for dollar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Great frendly staff, Super clean room! This hotel is on the old side but it has been very well maintaned. We travel to and from Florida and this is our choice for value and comfort has a great seafood resturant within walking distance.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    3
    6
    17
See reviews for
8
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I didn't check reviews on this hotel and will never stay in one that I haven't checked out. I wore my socks to bed because walking on the carpet and in the bathroom scared me.
The breakfast room is very small, decent breakfast but they ran out of orange juice.
The Comfort Inn was very full so that should tell you something. Pool not open, probably because of the terrible pollen.
Sundays few restaurants are open. Jasper's was closed not sure if it was because of Easter or they just weren't open on Sunday.
We went all the way back to the last exit in GA for a meal.
SC and GA do not sell liquor on Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenvalley,n.b.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

this was only one of four quality inns i would not recommend. It was still value at $52 but just! Bit run down, small rm, says it is newly reno but coudldn't see it. small bkst rm with passable continental bkst.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

It didn't bother me that the clock didn't work, or that they booked us next to really noisy people, or even that the toilet ran for 20 minutes after we flushed. It didn't really even bother me that the ceiling could have fallen in at any moment or that the bathroom floor was disgusting. Believe it or not, what did it for me was that even on "stop" the air WOULD NOT TURN OFF. We almost froze to death. It was so bad that I finally had to put the heat on. We did not get good sleep whatsoever. The room did it's job of a place to sleep for the night and a place to shower, but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

. It was very dark , old, lack of security other than a chain on the door , Most of the lights didn't work. I told the desk on the way out but don't know if it got fixed. The whole place needs a make over. I read reviews on Trip Advisor and most said it was a good place to stay. We were afraid to take off our shoes and worried about the safety of our car and persons. I realize it was $60 for a night at the senior rate. It was in the middle of nowhere, next to I-95 so it shouldn't cost much. But still, I would hesitate staying at any Quality Inn ever again. To check in at night, you couldn't get in the lobby, you had to hand your credit card through a space at the window. The breakfast room was nasty and the food unappealing in appearance and taste. Never go there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, WV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Pros:
Nice grounds. Easy check-in and check-out. Conveniently located. Lots of pillows. A/C works well.

Cons:
Only lukewarm water in the evening, only cold water in the morning. Wi-fi (still) not working. No mattress pad on bed. Breakfast area inadequate in size for the number of people trying to use it (we went elsewhere). Carpet in the room was totally, disgustingly filthy! Upholstered chairs in breakfast area and in lobby also dirty. Some fixtures in room are rusty. Sloppy paint job last time it was done.

I stopped at the Comfort Inn as I was leaving and asked a guest about the cleanliness of the Comfort Inn. She said that it was very clean. I believe that it would be worth the few extra dollars to stay there rather than the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Very nice hotel and front desk girl was very friendly and welcoming. There was a beautiful park in behind that was a lovely spot to walk. It was Christmas time and it was decorated with tons of lights and different moving displays all through the park and along the boardwalk. We could view all of this from the window in our room. The beds were wonderful, and rooms tastefully decorated. We could hear a train rumble by during the night, with an engineer that loved to sound that whistle!!

A couple of problems...we could not connect to the internet from the room, or from the computer in the lobby. They told us the wind had knocked out their router, and they were having it fixed. Also the breakfast was depleted by the time we got down there...which was early. There was no waffle mix, no fruit, no knives, no muffins, no coffee, and only a couple slices of bread left, so that pretty much left just cereal. The girl at the front desk was also responsible for the breakfast area, which was part of the problem.

We mentioned these problems when we checked out, and the girl offered to print us out the directions that we needed from the internet. We thought that was great...until we realized that we were following directions that were not correct!!!

Hopefully these problems were temporary...we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Breakfast needed to be replenished
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 511 James F. Taylor Dr., Ridgeland, SC 29936 (Formerly Quality Inn Ridgeland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgeland Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.