We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine Graduation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 11th Street Dockside Restaurant

11th Street Dockside Restaurant
1699 11th St, Port Royal, SC 29935-2300
843-524-7433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Port Royal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
White Oak, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marine Graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent food, even better service and a great view. Tremendous amount of food and the pricing was reasonable. Tried almost everything that each person ordered and could not find anything I did not like. Seating for a large crowd is not an issue. If you have to wait, great, get a deink from the bar and enjoy the docks and the pier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    179
    57
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As much as we love to visit Beaufort itself, one reason is to go to Dockside. We have had several memorable meals, we especially like the Lady's Island restaurant. In May I was able to have the soft shell crab special and it was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Great View & Great Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dockside is a mixed bag. The place is extremely popular but we got there early and we were seated overlooking the shrimp docks. The place is a typical large seaside food shack with a menu of fresh seafood. The service was friendly with the usual souther hospitality of the region. The good was the incredible corn bread which we devoured and the large platter of excellent jumbo peel-and-eat shrimp. My wife's she-crab soup was ok and a plate of oysters on the half shell were mediocre. First, instead of being on a bed of ice, they had ice strewn on top, which diluted the oyster's natural brine. Second, they were very small and had no taste, perhaps a characteristic of local oysters. But the wonderful shrimp made up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Now this is what we were looking for, just a little place with great seafood. We had a super seafood chowder and coconut shrimp appetizer. I had pasta with shrimp and my husband had a nice Salmon dinner. Good food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Plentiful food, well prepared, bustling, not gourmet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a seaside town with a lot of tourists, and one doesn't expect a real gourmet experience in such a place. Even so, this was at best an average meal. If you want to take the family out for a splurge, not have to worry about the kids and noise, and know that you'll eat well for a good price, this is your place. If you want exceptional fish, well...

We began at the bar (while waiting, as one must, for a table to clear) with a beer (adequate bottle offerings and, sadly, nothing on tap) and had their Buffalo Oysters, which were an odd arrangement of breaded oysters on their shells with two very rich sauces. Kind of hard to find the oyster n the sauce. Dinner was a quite ordinary green salad with prosaic dressing at the side. One of us had the twin lobster tails, tasty but a bit mushy (steamed ahead?) and accompanied by a mushy piece of corn and baked potato. The other main was the crispy flounder, enough fish for two, perfectly cooked, with a seasoned rice and a cold bean something. Dessert was not possible. It was a filling, rich, generally tasty dinner. If you're after a gourmet experience, this is not it. There was nothing subtle or refined about it. There's nothing wrong with that, of course. The place fits its milieu and does its job well. Whether that's worth more than three stars is a question of what you're looking for.

The restaurant is quite noisy, and on this Friday night was packed, with thirty or more people waiting for tables. They turn their tables very fast -- not a place for a leisurely, romantic evening -- and the food comes at you a bit too fast. We left a little harried and too full of rich food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 11th Street Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 11th Street Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 11th Street Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.