We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View & Great Shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 11th Street Dockside Restaurant

11th Street Dockside Restaurant
1699 11th St, Port Royal, SC 29935-2300
843-524-7433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Port Royal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Great View & Great Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dockside is a mixed bag. The place is extremely popular but we got there early and we were seated overlooking the shrimp docks. The place is a typical large seaside food shack with a menu of fresh seafood. The service was friendly with the usual souther hospitality of the region. The good was the incredible corn bread which we devoured and the large platter of excellent jumbo peel-and-eat shrimp. My wife's she-crab soup was ok and a plate of oysters on the half shell were mediocre. First, instead of being on a bed of ice, they had ice strewn on top, which diluted the oyster's natural brine. Second, they were very small and had no taste, perhaps a characteristic of local oysters. But the wonderful shrimp made up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    178
    57
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Now this is what we were looking for, just a little place with great seafood. We had a super seafood chowder and coconut shrimp appetizer. I had pasta with shrimp and my husband had a nice Salmon dinner. Good food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Plentiful food, well prepared, bustling, not gourmet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a seaside town with a lot of tourists, and one doesn't expect a real gourmet experience in such a place. Even so, this was at best an average meal. If you want to take the family out for a splurge, not have to worry about the kids and noise, and know that you'll eat well for a good price, this is your place. If you want exceptional fish, well...

We began at the bar (while waiting, as one must, for a table to clear) with a beer (adequate bottle offerings and, sadly, nothing on tap) and had their Buffalo Oysters, which were an odd arrangement of breaded oysters on their shells with two very rich sauces. Kind of hard to find the oyster n the sauce. Dinner was a quite ordinary green salad with prosaic dressing at the side. One of us had the twin lobster tails, tasty but a bit mushy (steamed ahead?) and accompanied by a mushy piece of corn and baked potato. The other main was the crispy flounder, enough fish for two, perfectly cooked, with a seasoned rice and a cold bean something. Dessert was not possible. It was a filling, rich, generally tasty dinner. If you're after a gourmet experience, this is not it. There was nothing subtle or refined about it. There's nothing wrong with that, of course. The place fits its milieu and does its job well. Whether that's worth more than three stars is a question of what you're looking for.

The restaurant is quite noisy, and on this Friday night was packed, with thirty or more people waiting for tables. They turn their tables very fast -- not a place for a leisurely, romantic evening -- and the food comes at you a bit too fast. We left a little harried and too full of rich food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent - would definitely go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided to try this after reading a few reviews and it didn't disappoint. My wife eats Gluten Free and non dairy, but this wasn't an issue. In fact while we were still deciding what to get the waitress checked with the chef and there was no issue, he changed a few things according to my wife's needs, which we really appreciated. The food was excellent, I had a 14 oz steak and king crab and she had a seafood platter - lobster, crab, shrimp, scallops, etc. the seafood was some of the best I've ever had and the total bill was about $60 plus tip, which I think is pretty good value for what we got. Back home we can't buy a nice steak dinner for <$30, let alone with king crab - it would be >$50. It's not a romantic type restaurant, it's a basic sit down family restaurant. If I was coming back to Beaufort with a bunch of family this would be at the top of my list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Savannah River Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went on a carriage tour of the historic city and asked the guide about restaurant recommendations. He recommended Dockside and it was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant opens 4:30 PM daily and we arrived at 4:40 PM. The food was brought out promptly and presentation was great. The corn-bread was the best I ever had. I will be going again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 11th Street Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 11th Street Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 11th Street Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.