We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wow experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Club

Heritage Club
378 Heritage Drive, Pawleys Island, SC 29585
843-237-3424
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern plantation golf at its finest: fairways are bordered by ancient cypress and live oak trees; fresh water lakes and marshes dictate much of the play; and historic manors of a by-gone era now cater to returning golfers.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A wow experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Heritage Club was our favourite, among many great courses, in MB. Our tee time was spot on. We fortunately were ahead of a larger tournament group. The bag drop area was therefore a bit crowded, but the shuttles to the parking lot worked efficiently. Our package included breakfast (which we unfortunately did not know about- not the fault of the club, but of our tour packager) lunch and two drinks. The eating area was beautiful but crowded and the servers were rushed and not as polite and caring as they could have been. The course itself was beautiful, with a variety of scenery, from very nice houses and mansions, to the slave cemetery. The back nine featured great water holes, and lots of wildlife, including herons, egrets and alligators. We found the greens to be in great shape in mid April 2013. The fairways were nicely maintained and the rough was not too brutal. Our rounds were typically around 5 hours. Not bad for how popular the course was. The marshalls did a good job of moving everyone along. We took advantage of the Replay option during our first day and came back a second day, for a total of 3 rounds in 3 days. We definitely will return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love playing this course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My favourite club in the myrtle beach area. From the front nine that goes to the marina and thru a slave graveyard and marsh. And the back nine over lots of water... Breakfast, lunch and a beer all included now with your green fees. How can you beat that. Hope they keep that special

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Golf at Heritage Club, SC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Played at Heritage last Sat. It took us 6:45 hr from our scheduled tee time to complete our round. Waited 45 min. for carts, started on the back 9 and it took us 3:45hr to complete it. The tee boxes are ok, the common landing zones are like mine fields, the greens are pockmarked, bumpy, and slow. The leaves are a problem on many greens. Fairways are cut short so it's hard to get under the ball.
There are just too many people being put through the course to make it enjoyable. This also puts a lot of stress on the course and it does not have time to heal. I think I'll go elsewhere during highseason.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nearly a six hour round”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had friends up from Callawassie Island and we chose to play Heritage as it was highly rated. Wow what an embarrassment this was. We should have known we were in trouble when all the large SUV's ahead of us were disgorging so many players. Had a nice lunch included in our Seniors deal. Logistics are not that great as you have to be shuttled back and forth to the parking lot and driving range, but a very pleasant driver helped.
We got off a little after our time and then proceeded to wait on every shot on the whole round except 17, where we think the 3some ahead either all hit the green and sank their putts or they all put their drives in the water and drove to the next hole! It took us 3 hours to play the back 9, our front. The course was absolutely jammed. It does not help that if you start on the back nine you are facing a very tough test with lots of water and deep bunkers. Not a place for high handicappers.
The greens were in very poor shape hairy bumpy and lots of pitch marks that had been repaired and left hazards for putting. They had not been rolled or cut recently. Maybe the greens keeper had a bad night as some of the pin placements were diabolical. On a crest with the green sloping away and down after the hole. The course designer was fixated with slopey curved greens, which is fine for some but all 18 greens? None of our group felt they had one flat putt.
The course layout is interesting and we would love to play it with good greens and not close to a six hour round.
Regarding the comments about the staff, they were courteous and not overly friendly compared to other courses we have played around here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice golf course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Golf course is a real interesting layout. Pretty scenery. Nice breakfast and lunch with package deal. All staff were great except gate security, who was rudest person we have encountered in our travels. Not a good way to welcome your customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Club also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Heritage Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.