We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Were Looking For” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Litchfield Inn to your Saves list
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Robbinsville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just What We Were Looking For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We wanted to take a spontaneous trip to the coast with our kids. We had never been to this area before and found this place through the local chamber of commerce/visitors info. We got a first floor room, with the private, screened-in porch. It was still off-season, so I don't know the traffic on the beach in height of summer, but it was wonderful. We were first ones on the beach and took walks at night as well; we were right there!! Two pools on the property, a nice shallow one for younger kids and one for the adults. Although the free breakfast was slim and staff was constantly having to refill, the employee was incredibly friendly and helpful and kept a smile on his face and stayed polite throughout the rush. That means a lot to me.
The room had two queen-sized beds, allowed mom & dad one and the kids shared the other. Room was clean, when we arrived. They provided a full set of dishes, silverware, etc, a microwave and a mini-fridge, great for the leftovers. Lots of choices to dine in area, but even in off season they were busy and pricey. Did not try the restaurant or bar on-site.
It may not be a 5-star elegant hotel, but for a family of four just wanting to get away and enjoy the beach for a couple days, it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Sometime the Spontaneous trips are the best! Thank you so much for the kind words. We strive each day to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable stay at the Litchfield Inn.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    226
    83
    53
    67
See reviews for
213
382
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations were great! The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed having a drink outside of the Cabana Bar, until it rained, but we then got to enjoy a nice rainbow over the ocean! We also ate there as well and found the food to be very tasty and affordable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we are planning a return visit soon!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words, glad you got to enjoy the Cabana Café as well. We strive each day to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable stay at the Litchfield Inn.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It appears that this is a hotel that has been expanded over the years. I stayed in a section that had a '50s style to it. It brought back a lot of great memories of going to the beach as a child. I want to bring my kids back here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and we are more than happy to bring back memories for you. We strive each day to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable stay at the Litchfield Inn.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Let's get the negatives out of the way in the beginning. This 50-year old motel has seen better days. The wallpaper is peeling, the tiles need repair, the plumbing needs updating, and the towels are super thin. It's sort of like a Motel 6. Having said that, the staff was super helpful and friendly, our king size bed was very comfortable, and great water pressure made it possible to have a decent shower. We were oceanfront with a small balcony and able to enjoy the sound of the surf. Our room was equipped with microwave, small fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. A continental breakfast is included with the room rate, but it's that ubiquitous motel breakfast of precooked muffins, waffles, bagels, yogurts, boiled eggs, etc. If that suits you, fine, but better breakfasts are available at local restaurants. However, one of the best restaurants in the area, Austin's Ocean One, is on site. The restaurant is not owned by the Inn, but is on the premises. You can't beat the views from the oceanfront rooms, so if you're looking for an inexpensive getaway at the beach, this is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front in the tower, 3rd floor and above if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, all feedback both positive and negative we take very serious.
We strive each day to provide the best customer service at Litchfield Inn. I can say that we do yearly updates to the Inn to try and stay ahead of the curve.
I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and with the restaurant staff.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent our wedding night at Litchfield Inn and have been going there periodically ever since. We returned last week for our 50th anniversary and found it as delightful as ever. The inn has certainly had its ups and downs over the years, and since the rooms are now privately owned I'm sure some owners are better at keeping up repairs than others, but we've never had a bad room in the tower. If you're looking for an exciting night life, this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for peace and quiet enjoying the beach and want easy access to excellent food and drink and helpful staff, you can't beat Litchfield Inn. BTW, the crabcakes at Austins are the best I've ever had and I've had them all over the world.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the tower are the best, but they are all good with the possible exception of one or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback,
We strive each day to provide the best customer service at Litchfield Inn.
I will be sure to share your comments with the staff, and you’re right, those are the best crab cakes!
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have always stayed in the North Myrtle/Cherry Grove area when taking beach trips. We decided to try somewhere different. The Litchfield Inn is great. Very quiet. Very quaint. It is an older hotel. We had requested a room on a higher floor. When we arrived the only thing that was available was a ground floor room. And I am glad that we decided to take it. The only thing outside our screened in porch was the dunes and the ocean. We spent several hours sitting in our rocking chairs and enjoying the sounds of the waves rolling in. If you are looking for a place to stay with all the bells and whistles of a large cookie cutter hotel, I suggest you go elsewhere. But, if you want to relax and enjoy all the peace and tranquility the Atlantic has to offer, I highly recommend the Litchfield Inn. Chris the front desk manager was very gracious and accommodating. There are many local eateries and bars to enjoy. We stumbled up a small diner called the Litchfield Restaurant. Best breakfast we have ever had! Also, the Pawley's Island Tavern aka "The Pit" was great.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are decorated differently. Our room was #106. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we take all feedback very serious.
We strive each day to provide the best customer service at Litchfield Inn.
I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and also Chris!
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Loved the idea of the 60's hotel with all the character. Requested two queens on upper floor of tower. This was confirmed and was told I would have just that - even confirming a special corner room. What we got was first floor, two doubles, behind the dunes with no water view at all. After a shower, my daughter's feet were BLACK from walking across the filthy tile floor; TV reception was abysmal, no toiletries in bathroom and the beds were like cardboard. AND they don't tell you when making reservations that it's a DEAD ZONE if you are an AT&T customer. Couldn't get out of this place fast enough. Front desk personnel were very nice and accommodating and refunded my money upon request. Hotel is old, tired and needs serious updating. Facade of hotel is in terrible condition. BEWARE! And for what they charge??

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback.
I would love the chance to speak with you further about this so we can remedy this situation.
Thanks,
Jeff Wood (843) 237-4211
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.