We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Litchfield Inn to your Saves list
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
greenville, sc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glad to Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn for several times over a period of the past 2 decades. Improvements to the rooms have been welcomed and some of the rooms have been upgraded to a high standard while others remain in need of improvement. The staff for my most recent visit was attentive and helpful. The main pool area was closed and being partially renovated which was welcomed, but access to the beach and main lobby was completely closed during this process causing a long and circuitous route to the beach which was a little inconvenient - all without notification or forewarning from the Inn.
It is the beach, however and the location of the Inn is its biggest attraction. For best experiences I have found that knowledge from the booking staff on room condition and specifics keeps expectations in line with experiences. Request the highest grade or class of room available (latest upgrades) and whether you prefer the height of staying in the Tower with their open balconies, a first or second floor direct oceanfront room with a screened porch/balcony, or other room with varied views to the ocean, swimming pools, or off-ocean larger rooms with multiple bedrooms - all adequate and accommodating for your stay.
The ocean and beach is some of the best along the northeren coast of South Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and your recommendations. We strive each day to achieve excellent customer service and an overall great experience for all of our guests. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience of a portion of our pool deck being closed as we have some work that had to be done quickly. I assure you we take all comments very seriously and I thank you for letting us know your thoughts.
We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    190
    73
    46
    66
See reviews for
196
326
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is was my first time there. I wanted to take my husband away for a few days for our Anniversary, we had a poolside room really wanted to be in a room with a balcony it was fine but I requested in my guest profile if they had any thing with a porch or a balcony that would be great. Loved the staff, our dinner at Austin's was so yummy and amazing our waitress Cindy took great care of us. The next day I kept on asking if there was any cancelations and finally Dawn in guest services and also Chris found us a beautiful tower room with a wonderful view of the ocean, on the 7th floor I cant thank Dawn enough but she really made our stay that much better. We are so excited to come back many more times for our Anniversary we really loved this place!!!!! Thanks again to the wonderful Staff at the oceanfront at Litchfield inn for a wonderful 2 days!!!!!

Room Tip: The tower rooms any thing above the 2nd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the experience that you had on your stay with us. I am going to pass these comments along to Dawn, Chris, and Cindy. We strive each day to make this the best place to have a vacation getaway and hearing feedback such as yours makes it all worthwhile.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Litchfield Inn many times over many years, and have always enjoyed our stays. under the new management, it is much improved, with rooms updated but their timeshare owners. The staff is very customer oriented and helpful, and the dining is good too, casual at the Cabana, and more format at Austin's upstairs, and you'll love the beach, especially a walk South to the cut at Pawley's Island with the sand dunes and the sea oats waving in the breeze. You might even get lucky and see a sea turtle come ashore to lay her eggs above the high tide mark, or even a hatch. Look for sharks teeth, the rare Pawley's Island shell, sand dollars, and much more. This is South Carolina at its best.

Room Tip: This time we were in Room 159 in the Lodge, which has been remodeled. Have also stayed in nice rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Robert,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I will be sure to share your experience with our staff. It is our goal to ensure that each guest that stays with us has a pleasurable experience and we are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your vacation.
Again thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We've stayed at the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn for 3 or 4 years now. We always enjoy the staff and the "homey" feel of the Inn. I'd have to say our latest room, a corner Deluxe Tower room was by far the best room yet. We love the clean, uncrowded beaches and enjoy talking with the locals as they come in the evenings to enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: The deluxe corner units are absolutely the best room for your money. We were on the 5th floor and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Cathy,
Thank you so much for your kind words and your patronage to Litchfield Inn. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff.
Again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory,NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here just a few days ago and it really needs some work. We only stayed here because my son was playing nearby in a college golf tournament. The rooms are individually owned and the updates vary. We spent the first night in a pool side room and then checked into the towers. The pool side room was very, very outdated and honestly, Motel 6 rooms are nicer. The rooms in the ocean tower seem to be much nicer. My friend's room was updated and was clean. Our oceanfront room had great views and that is it. The beds were hard as a brick, paint was peeling and so was wallpaper. And, our a/c went out the last night and it was a cool 75 degrees in the room! The LItchfield area is nice and we have stayed here in the nicer units and homes before so I really did think this would be of similar quality. It is not. The rates are certainly reasonable but I have been to much nicer hotels for the same money. Beach is beautiful and staff is very courteous but I would not go back here again. I felt like I was in the 60's staying at this Inn. It has some charm but so much work is needed.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, definitely book an ocean front tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I can assure you that we take all comments seriously. It is comments like this that makes up learn and become a better Inn. I would love to speak further about this, please contact me directly at your convenience.
Jeff Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great place to vacation! In all the years that we have been visiting Litchfield Inn, Pawley's Island, SC, we have never had a problem with service or cleanliness. Wonderful staff, from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping. Nice and quiet, away from the normal traffic of Myrtle Beach, but still within short drive if you want to get into traffic! Safe for children, away from traffic. Two upgraded pools and decks. Two very good restaurants on site, but still within 10 minutes drive to some of the best seafood on the east coast. Also, within minutes of great shopping. This was for 25th anniversary, hopfully we will be around to celebrate 50th at Litchfield!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are slightly larger, and have kitchenette. Room we use has washer and dryer. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we strive each day to get better and better and comments such as yours is a great compliment to the staff here at Litchfield Inn. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for just one night - just a "get away from the kids" overnighter for our anniversary. Husband made the reservation online thru orbitz but he booked the wrong night. Called orbitz who then transferred me to the front desk. The gentleman I spoke was wonderful and very helpful.
We arrived about an hour before check in and they actually apologized that the room wasn't ready (Labor Day weekend). No worries on our end; we made ourselves comfortable at the pool bar where the staff was just as wonderful. When we got to our room, we were very impressed - very bright, nicely furnished, very clean.
We will definitely be going back but next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on your experience and on behalf of everyone here at Litchfield Inn Happy Anniversary!!! Each day we strive to be better and more accommodating then the last and I will be sure to pass on your great comment to the staff.
Again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.