We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Litchfield Inn to your Saves list
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was concerned when we drove up because the hotel looks old and somewhat "tired". However, the staff was very efficient and friendly and we were very suprised when we saw our room. It was completely up to date, spotless clean and very comfortable. While we did not eat at the restaurant (the continential breakfast was as expected), the bar was very nice and the bartender, Ty was great.

If we are back in this area, we will definatley stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay at our Inn! And thank you for taking the time to post a positive review for us. We pride ourselves in the product we provide to our guests and your positive experience is a great reminder to us that what we do does make a difference. Please think of us if you are ever in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    190
    73
    46
    66
See reviews for
196
326
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My fiance and I planned a short vacation last weekend. We weren't really expecting much from the hotel being as it was so affordable and right on the beach (who cares about the room when you're at the beach!!!).When we arrived, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, even though we were a few hours early. We were assigned room 226, the 2nd floor of the dunes. Upon entering our room, (after picking our jaws up off of the floor from the view) we noticed a couple of stove eyes, microwave, mini-fridge, a kitchen sink, and cupboards filled with dishes and silverware by the door. All of the counter tops were marble, the bathroom had tons of storage space, and there was even a sizable closet by the entrance. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and our screened in porch had two rocking chairs, a small table, and views to die for. Every night we were there we slept with our sliding glass door open to listen to the ocean. The beach is not crowded, private, well kept. The cafe that is in this hotel is a little pricey but it is worth it. I had the most tender and juicy oysters in my life! All in all, we were extremely impressed from check-in to check-out and will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the dunes have screened in porches, but stay on the 2nd floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for the positive comments concerning our property. It is so nice to know that our hard work does not go unnoticed. We strive very hard to make your visit to our Inn a positive and memorable one. We do hope that when you are visiting the Pawleys Island & Litchfield area again that you will allow us to make your reservations and Welcome you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Planned trip for eight years. Litchfield has beaches perfect for a family or a romantic getaway! Pick a corner room for family. Balcony's have plenty of room. Stay on the six floor for a great view, you will love the sunrise! Plenty of beach for sunbathing, kite flying or sand castles.

Room Tip: Stay on six floors for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for posting such a nice review and allowing us to be a part of your anniversary. We always enjoy the opportunity to be apart of our guest's special occasions. We hope that it doesn't take you another 8 years to plan to come back. We hope to see you again soon, whether it's for your 26th or 50th anniversary, or just because you wanted to escape to our beautiful beaches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've been going to Litchfield Inn off and on for over 20 years (we wouldn’t be back if we didn’t like it, and we’ve gotten to know a lot about it). We find it relaxing, convenient to wonderful venues, and it's very easy to feel at home. For me, the nice thing about this facility is that you walk a few steps from your room to the pool area which has the cabana restaurant and bar, walk a few steps on the walkway over the short dunes, and you're on a beach with a pleasantly small number of beachgoers. Need to get a drink, or get your sunglasses? You're back, relaxing in the sun in 5 minutes. Some rooms ring the pools, restaurants and lobby, some line the sandy dunes next to the beach, some are in a 7 story tower next to the beach, and some are 100 - 200 feet from the pool and lobby area. Units are individually owned and decorated, most of them are nice, some very nice, some are substandard. There are some 130 - 140 rooms consisting of: 30 lodge rooms (smaller motel type units across a small parking area from the lobby), about 16 poolside rooms (some walking out on the pool deck, some overlooking the pool with the beach a few feet beyond), 49 tower rooms with individual balconies, about 26 dunes room - a little larger with screened porches a few feet from the sand dunes, 4 two bedroom dunes rooms (with full kitchen and living room) with large screened porches, 12 two bedroom villas (apartments with full kitchens, living rooms, 2 BR, 2 BA) which are a few feet further from the lobby than the lodge rooms. Cabana restaurant downstairs serves drinks, burgers, crab cakes, grouper bites, etc. (I think value is very good, but don't expect McDonald's prices). Upstairs is Ocean One - fine dining. You don't get hotel food or greasy fried items. The restaurants are separately owned, and value is very good. The menus are online. Pictures attached are room 202.

Room Tip: There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from - lodge, poolside, tower, dunes, 2 BR dunes, 2 BR v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are so glad that you have continued to stay with us here at the Litchfield Inn over the years. As long as you having been visiting here, I am sure that you have seen plenty of changes. One thing that will never change is our commitment to providing outstanding customer service, the value our Inn provides, and of course, those spectacular beach views. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Road, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When our family needs a beach break, this is our very favorite place to come. My first visit was in the 1960's when I was 8 years old - I loved it then, and still do. You cannot beat it for a beachfront location. We always stay in one of the second-floor 2-bedroom units in the main building - room numbers 200 and 227. Of these two, room 227 seems to have been renovated more recently. Both have two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, living room. And the best part - a huge screened-in porch right smack on the ocean - not fifty yards from the sand. You can "sit on the beach" without having to leave the room. Our rooms are always clean, the staff is very friendly. We have never eaten at the hotel, as we love the local restaurants close by. We love the hotel for its proximity to Huntington Beach State Park, which is wonderful for birdwatching and alligator viewing, Pawley's Island for the Hammock Shops, and Murrell's Inlet for the local seafood. Try it out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review of the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn! It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable both here at the Inn and with everything our surrounding areas have to offer. There is so much to do in the Pawleys/Litchfield area, and with Myrtle Beach just minutes away, you really can't go wrong. We hope to see you down here again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Litchfield Inn for two nights. The location of the hotel is great; other good things: access to the beach, pool area, cabana bar and restaurant, free breakfast, front desk respone.

Bad: the room. It was dated, carpet was dirty and the bathroom needed updating. Luckily, we had a room with a two sided view, but I would prefer better accommodations.

Unless I know I will get a renovated room, I will not stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We will use your comments for training of the staff and this will also give us an opportunity to work more closely with the homeowners to get all of these issues resolved. I do apologize that your stay was not exceptional. We do hope that when you return to the area you will allow us the opportunity to prove that what you experienced is not typical of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you want a nice, quiet place to relax this is the place. It is not the Ritz but has a great staff with comfortable rooms with a partial kitchen. the restaurants are great with friendly staff and good food. We have stayed here several times and never had a bad room. You can't beat the ocean and pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for being such a loyal guest to the Litchfield Inn! We love to hear comments from our repeat guests. Even with the Inn constant changing, upgrading, and evolving, its great to know that we are consistently pleasing our guests, especially our loyal guest such as yourself. We can't wait for your next trip and look forward to making your stay enjoyable as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.