We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scared by some reviews, but delighted by the stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Litchfield Inn to your Saves list
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scared by some reviews, but delighted by the stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My 2 grown children plus my husband and I stayed at the hotel. After reading reviews prior to our arrival, I was a bit intimidated and worried about what we would find. After arriving, I thought the outside was typical beach property and it seemed out in nowhere. However, after checking in and going into our room, I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations! The view of the ocean was amazing (we stayed in the towers) and the room exceeded my expectations. The room had hardwood laminate flooring, the bathroom was nice, and the furnishings were well taken care of. I know each unit is individually owned, and I suppose some owners are not as caring, but this unit was well kept.

The beach access was nice and not too crowded. The onsite restaurant/bar was a little pricey, but was good.

Room Tip: I would suggest if you are on a limited budget, or want to limit your food budget, to select a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you very much for the positive comments concerning our property. We work very hard each day to make sure that each guest stay is met with a clean, organized property and top notch customer service. Your comments will be used as a motivational tool with our staff to make sure that we supply this kind of product to each person utilizing the Inn as a get-a-way or vacation. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on the next visit to our beautiful and relaxing property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    227
    83
    53
    67
See reviews for
214
385
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

the address is Pawleys Island , but its on Litchfield Beach Not Pawleys.....
the screened in porches have no access to the Beach.
For October it was pretty busy here. The rates were high to be there in October, so i cant imagine staying here in the summer the rates are prob. rediculous, because they are the only Inn nearby on the beach.

It was a much needed weekend w/ my husband , and we couldnt sleep late because of the gates in the hallways to the pools squeaking everytime someone walked down the hallway.

The dinner at Oceans One was really good , expensive though, we got a romance package and it included a gift certificate to the restaurant otherwise we probably couldnt afford it ..it was good though and good service.

probably will return in the fall but not a summer option because of the price.

Room Tip: ask for the 2nd floor if on a Dunes room you cant see over the dunes on the 1st floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
The staff and management of the Inn would like to thank you for the comments. The rates that are charged thru out the year are comparable to other hotel properties in our area. We are the only property from Garden City Beach to Georgetown on the Ocean. Because of the ocean dunes it is impossible to have every unit with an exit to the beach. We do have walkovers that allow our patrons to visit the beautiful beaches in this area. We do hope that when you are planning another visit to the Litchfield/Pawley’s area that you will allow us to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you're looking for an affordable place right on the beach, this could definitely be it. It's simple with no frills and the rooms are clean but dated. For me, the biggest frustration was the cell and wireless connections. Cell reception in the room was terrible and I even had trouble when I walked outside. Additionally, I actually was never able to connect to the wireless. If those things aren't important to you, then it may not matter. For me, I was going crazy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you very much for the positive comments concerning our property. We work very hard each day to make sure that each guest stay is met with a clean, organized property and top notch customer service. The issue with the Wi-Fi has been corrected. Your comments will be used as a motivational tool with our staff to make sure that we supply this kind of product to each person utilizing the Inn as a get-a-way or vacation. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on the next visit to our beautiful and relaxing property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

For about four years a group we are associated with has met at this resort for a reunion in late September or early October. While the Inn is not new, and has been turned into an owner's condominuim facility, the location is great.
Renovations, which the new management group has required the individual owners to make, have renewed this resort into a nice place to vacation. The facilities are clean and well-kept. Front desk personnel are much more friendly and competent than on previous visits. Registration and check-in processes were both much smoother than in the past.
The restaurant (second floor) and ocean front bar(pool level) were open on Friday of our visit, but were both closed on Saturday for almost total renovation. We had dinner in the restaurant Friday night and the food and ambience were outstanding. (The only problem we encountered was a lack of an elevator to the second floor restaurant!)
While the rates for the rooms are a bit pricey, especially for the time of year we visited, they are not totally out of line for the Myrtle Beach area.
So don't expect the Ritz or a Sandals Resort and you won't be disappointed.
We will probably make a sixth visit next October!

Room Tip: Rooms #100 & 200 are in the old building, but are beachfront and are double bedroom suites. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
The management and staff would like to thank you for the positive comments you expressed concerning our beautiful Inn. Because of positive comments like yours it creates excitement within our Team that all the hard work does not go unnoticed. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We feel that the Pawley’s Island/ Litchfield area has a more laid back atmosphere that allows you to not be part of the hustle and bustle of most Resorts. I do hope that you will allow us to serve you again when in the Pawley’s/Litchfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I used to love the Litchfield Inn. Now, not so much! It has changed management several times in the last few years. Now, when you call to make a reservation... they can never "guarantee" what room you will be staying in. If I am going to pay $2300 to stay here for a week, I want to know what room I will be staying in!!! The staff is very non-chalant- basicly the attitude being, "we dont care if you stay here or not". They have spent a lot of money on renovations, but the rooms are not as clean as they used to be. Maybe they should spend the money on new management and staff, especially for the money they are charging! They have lost a VERY LONG TIME CUSTOMER!!!

Room Tip: You cant... they won't guarantee ANY ROOM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
The staff and management of our Inn are very sorry that we did not put our best foot forward on your recent visit to our area. We apologize if we appeared to give a nonchalant attitude this was not our intention. We cannot assign units as once was done at this property, because of new software that was added in March of this year and different variables that may not allow this to take place in this condo hotel. You may request a certain unit and we do our best to make this happen. The housekeeping department has undergone a number of changes that we believe will allow us to have a better quality of product. We do hope that you when in the area again you will allow us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Couldn't better location, lovely clean beach. Good value, very welcoming and great restaurant. Get a balcony room if you can.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
The management and staff at the Inn are so proud that we could be part of your recent get away to our area. It is rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. Your positive comments will serve as a great motivation tool for our staff. The beach in Pawley’s/ Litchfield area is one of the most beautiful and also allows families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We do hope that you will return to the Litchfield Inn on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Loved it! I had concerns about our room from the other reviews but I shouldn't have. We stayed in room 258. It was very clean they do not call this an ocean view room but when you look out the window you can see just a bit of the ocean my 4 year old daughter noticed that. The pools were great the kiddy pool was perfect it went from 1-2 feet. Great for kids that don't know how to swim or that are too short for the other pool. The front desk was very nice all of them, they were there 24/7 to help you. There is hardly anybody on the beach which was really nice. I would recommend this place to anybody. When I reserved our room I took the advise of some of the other reviews to ask for a newly redone room and it worked. This place is only 25 minutes from the busy Myrtle Beach which is another great thing you can leave the business behind. They also have plenty of really nice shops within a 5-10 mile range.My family and I loved it.

Room Tip: asked for a newly renovated room also room number 258 with a king size bed is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Drive, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.