We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD... ..... GREAT FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA Playa Mexican Restaurant

LA Playa Mexican Restaurant
10185-A Ocean Highway, Pawleys Island, SC 29585
(843) 235-4013
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD... ..... GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I love Mexican food..!!!!!
this place it's great.. the food, is delicious. I was really surprise.. we loved. we enjoyed.... I CAN WAIT TO GO BACK...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great and authentic Mexican food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was there last week and even that they were really I mean really busy we got a good service and our food was on time good place good people and even better good food... I will be back in two weeks..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Safe choice for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Food and service are good. the restaurant gets a little hot, but you are at the beach - drink a margarita.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly worst Mexican food I have ever had?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went here with my wife and the restaurant it self looks charming on the inside but that's about where it stopped. The person that sat us, brought menus, took order, brought food etc. were all different people. I really had no clue who our waitress actually was. Not that it mattered because drinks were never refilled.

I ordered enchiladas a la crema and my wife ordered flautas. Her flautas tasted like frozen out of the box taquitos and I have no clue what the "crema" was on mine. Tasted like ranch and feta??? Probably the worst food I have had at a Mexican restaurant.

We were so unhappy with the food I actually voiced my opinion about it which I have never done at a restaurant before. Neither one of us ate more than 3 bites and they ended up taking one of the meals off of the bill.

Ended up going down the street to Sonic and then home =\


I have not yet found any really good mexican places since moving here no matter what the reviews.....but none I would rate "terrible" except this one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I'm from Oklahoma n come to south Carolina a few times a year.... My family knows their Latino food and when we come to Myrtle beach i look for a not too fancy but really authentic place where the menu has a variety. I would have to say that La Playa restaurant and cantina is more than your small town Mexican restaurant! It has food from various places for example Jamaica or from Argentina, not just Mexico. Now that's a restaurant!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Playa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to LA Playa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Playa Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.