We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious authentic Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gios Italian Kitchen

Gios Italian Kitchen
10008 Ocean Hwy, Pawleys Island, SC 29585
+1 843-237-8245
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Description: Gios Italian Kitchen is a fun and sophisticated restaurant, featuring classic Italian dishes, Mediterranean/ Italian fusion dishes and thin crust NY style pizza.We also serve delicious salads, appetizers, calzones and Stromboli. Come dine with us in our new location! Or have a seat at the bar and enjoy a glass of wine or one of our signature cocktails such as the Godfather, Pluff Mud Martini, or Alice Flagg's Forbidden Love. Happy Hour Specials Monday thru Friday 4:30-6:30 pm
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I highly recommend Gio's. the food is very tasty and well presented. I ordered the pesca del mar and my husband ordered the veal chop special. We were very happy with the service despite the fact that they were understaffed and it was crowded. nice atmosphere as well. we are locals and we will return. thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Slow service, almost an hour for one pizza, running out of glasses, average food, our waitress Hannah kept us updated but the restaurant seemed ill equipped for the number of people they had there. Outside seating area buggy and small fans were of little to no use. Understand that it has been sold to new owners but probably wouldn't travel there again to see if food improved.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EH-Gios, Manager at Gios Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We truly value the opinions of our customers. Please be advised the new ownership took over on August 7th, first day in business, and we had a full house by 7:00 (including the patio). It seems like you visited Gios on the same day, based on the date of your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Now we feel confident that our service is much better and the food is excellent. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awful...management didn't care!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We made a reservation since we were a party of 13. Requested outside since there was entertainment outside. We requested a table back away from the band so that it would not be too loud. We were seated at the CLOSEST table to the band! We ordered soft drinks, beer, 2 mixed drinks and a bottle of Zinfandel. Waitress returned 20 minutes later with partial drinks....no beer...no wine. Then delivered 1 bread basket and 1 plate of oil for 13 people! We asked about beer and wine, then she returned with beer...no wine. Next trip, she brought white Zinfandel...totally confused...finally red zinfandel made it to the table.
Now our orders,,,no veal,,,no steak. We ordered a variety of entrees and a couple of pizzas. So now an hour later, our water glasses have sweat, the table is very wet...no napkins and we were handed a dish towel to wipe our own table.
At this point, I tried to talk with the owner who abruptly and with an attitude informed me that they were understaffed and quite busy. No kidding!! No apologies, no understanding...could have cared less! My gut said Leave but we stayed(big mistake!)!
Food came out at all different times. Last entree out was a plain cheese pizza that finally made it to the table after 2 1/2 hours. Everyone had finished their entrees and pizzas when the last pizza made it to the table!
My husband was unaware that I had spoken with the owner and he asked to speak with her. He was told that she refused to come talk with him.
By the way, the food was great.
Never again for these locals. Good luck if you eat there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh, happy tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Caesar salad lettuce was crisp, good flavor, excellent dressing. Spaghetti came with meatballs and sausage. The special, sea scallops with risotto was exceptional. Nice wine selection. Good food, nice atmosphere, we will be back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went yesterday for lunch with a friend. We shared a pizza at the advice of our server and each had a side salad. Everything was delicious. The salad was presented in an interesting bowl and was cold and crisp. The pizza was just right for two people and yummy. Our server was pleasant and attentive. We both thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gios Italian Kitchen also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gios Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gios Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.