We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Pancake House

Applewood Pancake House
14361 Ocean Hwy, Pawleys Island, SC 29585
843-979-1022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Father's Day and it was beyond packed, but we were able to get seated within 15 mins of arriving. So that was a plus. The place was clean and the service was ok. I ordered the shrimp and grits and a side order of home fries. The shrimp and grits were not that bad although I would have wish the shrimp were bigger than a "dime." It was more sausage and bacon than shrimp. My home fries were fried too hard and they were too crunchy. My partner had the smothered pork chops, grits and eggs. She said it was "pretty good." We both loved the $3 fresh squeezed orange juice. (I included the price because I've never known orange juice to be so expensive)...I will definitely return, I just will not be getting the shrimp and grits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not just breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pleasantly surprised when having lunch with a friend here. The place is clean and nice décor. Service was excellent. Food was way better than I expected. Prices were reasonable for good sized portions of good food. I had the gyro platter and it had fresh ingredients well prepared and presented. My friend had one of the specialty burgers. It was huge and very good, fresh and well prepared. We were so pleased we sent compliments to the chef and he came out to thank us. The name implies breakfast but the lunch menu is diverse. Great value, you will leave full and not spend a lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is great! The people working are always friendly and the food is to die for. Whenever I visit from Florida we eat here ever chance we get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma,ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Clean and roomy. But the service was poor to average. Our server was friendly but not on the ball. Sausage was dried out, home fries greasy. I think there are better breakfast places in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Super Service - Nice Sunday Brunch Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a group of 10 go there for breakfast. Food was good even off a buffet line. Could get an omlet if you wish (not an egg person).
wait staff was very friendly and keep our coffee filled and hot.

i would go there again and recommend that you do too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applewood Pancake House also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Applewood Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.