We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Lodge to your Saves list
Southern Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3616 St. Matthews Road, Highway 601 at I26, Orangeburg, SC 29118-8214   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$56.00 Special rate offer
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Orangeburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The staff was so pleasant, the room was very clean, and the motel is well maintained. The breakfast was a lite meal and the best orange juice I ever had. The room was clean and well maintained. The mattress was firm , but sleep very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    60
    13
    7
    17
See reviews for
59
71
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davison
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When looking for a hotel, of course we turned to TripAdvisor. This hotel was rated number one, and for what we found to be obvious reasons. True southern hospitality, comfortable and roomy rooms, clean, very fairly priced, and a great breakfast. All for a very low price and especially compared to other hotels in the area. For breakfast you had a choice of a couple of different cold cereals, a couple of different hot cereals, bacon, bagels, hard boiled eggs, chicken biscuits, sausage biscuits, pastries, muffins, cookies, yogurt, apple juice, orange juice, coffee, milk, fruit, and other things I'm sure I'm forgetting. We would absolutely, positively stay here again if ever in the area. Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had reservations at another hotel but did not think the rate was justified, so we chose Southern Lodge instead. The rate lead $59 for a King bed. The room was very clean, the TV was good, and the smiles were everywhere. The morning breakfast was hot and fruit was fresh, and again with the smiles. There was no pool, but for $59, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Seemed a little to eager to get you out the door after check out though. The room was well stocked with necessities, except the towels could use to be replaced. Had to return a clean bath towel that was overly stained. Room could have been swept better. The breakfast was very nice. Could use a little updating, but over all was a nice motel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall a very nice stay. Continental breakfast was better than average. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. They also povided many nontypical toiletries (razor, toothbrush, comb, etc). Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Could use a luggage rack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I mistakenly assumed that I would easily be able to find overnight lodging on a trip down I-95 from NY to FL, during the Masters and NASCAR. My husband found a room for me at Southern Lodge, about 15 miles from I-95. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. A great stopping off point. The staff was courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband & I stayed here on our way back to NY from FL. Ieesha was on duty when we checked in and she was so very welcoming and personable. She even offered for us to look at the room before we checked in. Most places don't offer that. Very nice rooms and she gave us a coupon for money off on our next check in along with a cup & a few "goodies" inside. We usually stay in the area on our way to FL so we will definitely stay at this hotel on our next trip. Breakfast is served in a nice little area off the lobby. Nice selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lodge

Address: 3616 St. Matthews Road, Highway 601 at I26, Orangeburg, SC 29118-8214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate Small Town America with a pause for the quiet life an affordable Orangeburg SC hotel near a great restaurant. Savor the simple life, plus ground level rooms, at Southern Lodge amid country air, fertile soil, abundant wildlife & the world famous Edisto Gardens' 165-acre rose park. Leisure at the Orangeburg hotel-motel is as it should be: clean, simple, worry free... easily-a-bargain-packed-value, plus friendly service at the family-friendly Southern Lodge, a mellow, easy in/out I-26 hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel Orangeburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.