We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was close and OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Orangeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Orangeburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Orangeburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3583 Saint Matthews Road, I-26 Exit 145-A, Orangeburg, SC 29118   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Orangeburg
Bowie, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was close and OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was close to where I was going and the staff was friendly. The bathroom really just needed a revamp as I do not believe it could look clean any longer. The room itself was small but well organized to fell roomy. All rooms have an outside entrance which would bother many.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Robert M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that we could offer you comfortable accommodations near your destination and we truly appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff members. However, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your guest bathroom. When you call to make your next reservation, please let the front desk team that you would like to stay in a different room that better suits your travel needs. In the mean time, we will share your feedback with our housekeeping team so that we can make improvements for future guests. We hope that you personally enjoyed our exterior entrances which allow travelers to park near their guest rooms. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We are always searching for ways to improve!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    88
    45
    29
    16
See reviews for
106
68
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hampton in Orangeburg. We asked the manager for a suggestion for dinner and he suggested Fatz's and we were thrilled. Hampton Inns have always been pleasant for us.Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ann B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Orangeburg hotel! We are so glad to hear that you and your significant other enjoyed your stay with us! In addition, we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy one of the popular local restaurants located nearby! Thanks for reaching out to our team for a dinner suggestion! We appreciate all of your time and feedback and hope that you will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed over as we were passing through from Florida to North Carolina. Although it was very clean (rooms, lobby, etc.), the hotel could definitely use some updating. Our biggest complaint is that the door to the room did not really close properly. It did lock (and we used the extra-lock), but honestly, we did not feel 100% safe. However, all (obviously) went well during our stay.

The free breakfast was very good; the staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: No tips - just suggest you go somewhere else unless you can get a great price (which we did not).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear SuzieQ044,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our clean hotel, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and friendly staff members. However, we are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Guest safety is our top priority, so we encourage travelers to contact our front desk team immediately if they have any concerns about safety during their stay. Whether it means fixing a door or finding a new room that better suits the needs of our travelers, we will do everything that we can to ensure that our guests have a safe, enjoyable stay at our hotel. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Asked for a nonsmoking room and you guessed it ended up in a smoking room that smelled like there was just a large weed smoke session going on. Asked for a room on the first floor that didn't happen. Never staying here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here on the 15th night of a road trip, during which every night but 2 were spent at Hampton Inns. Unfortunately this is the least impressive one of all of them yet it was the most expensive one of our trip. The hotel is just 2 levels and looks more like a motel. It's clean. Pretty small bathroom, with the sink and mirror outside of it, therefore connected to the sleeping area... a pain if someone in your room needs to use the sink during the night or early in the morning, because of the noise and light.
Location is convenient, just a minute of the highway, but train track runs behind the building, and I heard the train both as I was falling asleep at night and then again shortly after 7 am. Breakfast was okay... usual Hampton fare, but less hot options. The dining area was super crowded the morning we were there. Not sure if that's normal or it was a particularly busy morning. But the one staff member I saw was struggling to keep up with the demand and guests were literally bumping into each other. Overall, a so-so Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear debs58,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are truly sorry that you experienced a few inconveniences on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention so that we can improve the overall experience for future guests. We have shared your concerns with our entire management team so that we can make any necessary changes. We strive to offer something for every appetite on our hot breakfast buffet including eggs, meat, pastries, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and more. Plus, we do our absolute best to keep up with the crowds and keep each and every buffet item freshly stocked. We will share this review with our breakfast team to see if there are any changes that we can make going forward. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenney, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hampton Inns are generally a premiere location to stay, but this unit was disappointing only from the standpoint that the room and Bathroom were somewhat undersized compared to the newer unit. It's obvious this was an older property so the physical limitations of the building made it be what it is. It was fine in all other aspects other than being somewhat cramped and not having an elevator and inside hallways to facilitate moving on/out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We are very glad that you chose to stay with us for your recent business trip to Orangeburg, South Carolina. We are sorry to hear that you feel our guest rooms and bathrooms were a bit small. We appreciate this input as we are always searching for ways to improve the overall experience at our hotel. Perhaps you would enjoy one of our guest rooms with a King size bed. They are the most spacious and loved by many of our guests! We strive to offer comfortable accommodations and excellent customer service to each and every one of our guests, so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will join us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. Very clean and the staff was above and beyond helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing! Was an excellent stop over on the way down to Florida from the Toronto area. Would stay again for sure

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Orangeburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Hampton Inn Orangeburg hotel for a quick stopover on your way down to Florida. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our friendly staff members, clean hotel, and amazing hot breakfast buffet. We hope that you and your family will join us again in the future as you travel back and forth between Toronto and Florida.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Orangeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Orangeburg

Address: 3583 Saint Matthews Road, I-26 Exit 145-A, Orangeburg, SC 29118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Orangeburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Orangeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Orangeburg Hotel Orangeburg
Orangeburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Orangeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.