We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3608 St. Matthews Road, I-26 and Hwy 601, Orangeburg, SC 29115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Orangeburg
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at most of the motels on this exit.. If you dont have a tight budget.. Stay at the Holiday Inn. If you are watching the pennies... Stay here. The clerk was one of the nicest I have dealt with. Gave us a good rate.. Below advertised rate because it was so late. Its not the ritz but was surprisingly clean and roomy. Nice amenities micro/fridge looks new. Furniture in good condition. AC works well. Bathroom clean. Socks didnt get dirty walking in room. It didnt have the musty smell of many hotels. Will def. stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    37
    23
    16
See reviews for
51
30
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Springs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well, I found a German cockroach crawling up the door moulding of the bathroom, but that can happen anywhere, especially in a first floor room. I was able to park right in front of my door, which made unloading easy. The TV was rather old, not a flat screen, but the remote worked. Channels were rather limited. The continental breakfast went from 6 to 9 a.m. I woke up too late to make it. On the way back, I stopped at the same Orangeburg exit and stayed at another motel, which stayed open for breakfast until 9:30. I made it this time. An extra half hour would be nice. The room had two queen sized beds, so I could lay out my car contents on the top of one bed and use the other. I think, overall, that the room was overpriced at $60, even with the senor rate. $50 would have been more like it. I fixed a cup of coffee in the morning, which was nice since I missed breakfast. Also, I did use the microwave oven on arrival, bringing in food with me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYNE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel the night before our cruise out of Charleston, South Carolina. The room was good, the shower was good, the location was good (1-1/2 hrs from the port), the breakfast was adequate, and the price was okay ($60). Have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTON
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Room was okay, but the linen on the beds didn't look clean enough to sleep on. I am glad Ibrought my own linen. The tub/shower and bathroom floor needed cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked this hotel for the weekend because the hotel I normally stay in when I am in Orangeburg was booked. Big Mistake! The room initially looked clean, but there was a gap between the door and the floor about 2 inches high. I could see outside clearly. There was also an issue with a giant roach crawling out of the bathroom. After switching rooms, there was a gap of about an inch between the door and the door frame on the side! Having been burned already, I conducted a more thorough search of the room. I put my bags back in my car and made a beeline to the hotel down the street after discovering a large bug taking a nap on my pillow! Never again!

Room Tip: It is only a bargin if you can sleep there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orangeburg hotels

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg

Address: 3608 St. Matthews Road, I-26 and Hwy 601, Orangeburg, SC 29115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orangeburg, the Garden City of South Carolina and home of Edisto Memorial Gardens. Centrally located, Orangeburg is an area of great natural beauty, ideal climate & friendly people, famous for our Southern Charm and Heritage. A golfer's delight, a hunter paradise, a nature lover's dream, just a few reasons to visit Orangeburg County when visiting South Carolina. Our city is perfect for a mini or extended vacation, located just thirty minutes from the Capitol City of Columbia, one hour from Historic Charleston, ninety minutes from Historic Savannah & Hilton Head Island.. To accommodate all our guests, you may also select a smoking, non-smoking or wheel chair accessible guestroom or suite. If you're here for an extended stay, our suites will accommodate you with an in-room coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and much more. Relax in your room; enjoy HBO1, HBO2, HBO3 CNN, ESPN & 56 additional cable channels and eat a hot breakfast in morning with hot coffee or a glass of juice. Work at your desk, connect computer or enjoy our on-site fitness or business center. If you prefer swimming, our indoor pool is open year-round or enjoy the quaint surroundings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg Hotel Orangeburg
Howard Johnson Orangeburg
Orangeburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Orangeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.