We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orangeburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites
Save
You added Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
1415 John C Calhoun Dr, Orangeburg, SC 29115 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Orangeburg
South Point, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ugh.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Sent to the area by my company to aid in storm damage clean-up, I was not given the choice of where to stay. The decision was made for us before my arrival, and once we had established residence, we found too many other contractors in the area to switch. The rooms we were given ( at the construction rate) were filthy. The coffee maker had an island of mold in the still-present quarter-inch of fluid in the bottom of it. When told of this, the management had the coffee maker removed, not replaced mind you, just removed. There was no wi-fi connection available, none. If I wanted a room in the other building, where such connection was available, I was told that the rate would nearly double. THIS is how they invite construction contractors to their establishment? Not only would I not recommend this place, I HIGHLY recommend you keep going. Given my own choice, I would not have even stopped in the parking lot. I suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Seriously, just keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
3
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here on a one nighter for a business trip.
The room was fairly clean and the beds and linens were okay.
The desk clerk was freindly and helpful. No problems.
The place is not the best in the area , but its much better than some of the others we looked at.
I didn't see it to be as bad as some of the reveiws I've seen here, but maybe we just got lucky and got one of the better rooms. Was in the front of the upper building.
They do have a bar / lounge with pool tables where you can unwind if you're into that.
Would probaly stay here again judging by our past visit.
Did'nt really have any complaints.

Room Tip: We had a decent room on the 1st floor , front side of the upper building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is not acceptable on any level and should be condemed. The pictures are outdated and the rooms are dirty. We recently was booked by an local organization for this place. The bathroom had soap from the last tenant and the shower area was undesirable. The towels was brown and not from color, RUN!RUN!RUN!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orangeburg hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was lied to on the phone by the Hotel Manager claiming that they've done a lot of renovation on the hotel and that it was up to date . Well when I arrived back to this filthy hotel after a church service . I was greeted by a huge cock roach who got crushed by yours truly . I was immediately out of there the next morning . Then when I called the Choice Hotel Chain to complain they informed me that they terminated this so called Econo Lodge . But yet they still uses their name this piece of junk needs to be closed down . And the South Carolina Bulldogs stayed there the night before their big game ? No wonder why they lost most likely they were tired from fighting those cock roaches all night . Stay away from this trash !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When on the road there are limited places to stay that are Pet Friendly and mean it. Econo Lodge is a positive on the Pet Friendly side of things. The Non - Smoking room in which we stayed was on the ground floor near a set of stairs to 2nd floor yet we heard nothing from our room 7 feet away from staircase.

Room Tip: Non Smoking rooms are far better for your pet when traveling. Less chance of any odors present from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

room was clean , staff acted like they were doing u a favor when u checked in not upsetting but not real nice. to far from interstate, but if u r doing business intown stay here. only place in town that we found but over all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheldon sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When you first drive in the parking lot at this EconoLodge you will see that the outside is decent, it has a floral appeal. The front desk is very nice at greeting people, and the dining room is very beauitful, it offers coffee of three different flavors. When you get into the room/s, the rooms are clean, spacey, and have tv's, fridges, ice coolers, and coffee pots. The beds are comfortable and the showers are warm. In the morning you can go to the resturant they have available to guests and get yourself a delicous breakfast. We had a great stay at this fine hotel.

Room Tip: on th hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites

Address: 1415 John C Calhoun Dr, Orangeburg, SC 29115 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
Orangeburg Quality Inn
Quality Inn Orangeburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orangeburg Hospitality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.