We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jamaica Motel
Save
You added Jamaica Motel to your Saves list
4611 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly Ocean Edge Resort Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were 15 people in our family reunion. Very convenient location. Excellent ocean front. Easy excess to beach, Employees were very friendly. Large double queen rooms with kitchen. Free Wifi. Thanks to Bonnie & Bobbie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mulberry, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came to N. Myrtle Beach for a couple of days after visiting family in the Charlotte area. Last time we were here we stayed at the best wester oceansands and planned on staying there again. When we got there they had just sold out and had to find another place. We looked at a couple of places down the beach and chose the Jamaica Motel. The room was a little out dated but it was clean and had a kitchenette. This hotel has no frills whatsoever and was glad we always bring our own supply of soap, shampoo and conditioner. I would stay here again, but only if I find myself in the same situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We drove down for a concert at House of Blues last minute to see Girl Talk. This was the first vacancy sign we saw and we thought "Jamaica me crazy" it would be fun. We checked in but were dissapointed when we got to the room. It was seriously old like grandma's house with that old smell. But we were late to get to HOB and we just headed out. IT was so late and we just crashed when we got back but it was not the best night. We were a little grossed out by the bathroom - they cleaned it but it was like old and there was a big black bug in the tub! So we dug it out with TP and flushed it.

In the morning we got another room just down the beach at another older place but it was much more habitable. If you only have $60 you can't be picky but for $20 more you could get something nicer.

Room Tip: It was a nice little place but that was a while ago. Just old and musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Jamaica Motel this past weekend and absolutely loved it. We usually wait until after Labor Day to avoid the crowds and the kids and it paid off again, The room was a good size and perfectly clean, the view from the balcony was picture perfect and the staff friendly and attentive. We were close to everything we wanted and the after holiday prices were great. We will stay there again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were looking on the internet for somewhere to stay, prior to moving into our hotel in South Myrtle Beach. We stayed 2 nights and wished we did not have to move!! The room was clean. The staff friendly and attentive to our needs. The pool was sooooo clean. Ocean view balcony. One of the best beach locations in the area. We were happy with the rate that included a full kitchen. We referenced this hotel many times, wishing we could have stayed all 8 days here. This is a family owned business. They were the best. Every room faces the ocean. Parking was convenient. We enjoyed our stay at the Jamaica Motel and we know you will, too. We will DEFINITELY book this motel, again. Thanks to tripadvisor, and the reviews..we found a new home.

Room Tip: We stayed in #303. Great access to everything. Beautiful view of the ocean. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.c.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This property is a rare find along the Grand Strand....a small, family-run hotel among the ever-increasing corporate behemoths. It is a pleasure indeed! Clean,reasonably-priced, convenient, all ocean-front balconied rooms....and.....SMOKE FREE...yeah!! The management was most responsive to our personal needs. I would recommend the Jamaica to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a 3 day weekend at the Jamaica Motel. Our goal for the trip was rest and relaxation. We simply wanted to lay out on the beach and read to unwind from the daily grind. The Jamaica is very reasonably priced for being right on the beach and all of the rooms look out to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are average, older, and no-frills but they are clean and comfortable. We stayed on the top floor in room 410. There is an elevator which was a nice surprise. Every day they made our bed and took out our trash and provided fresh towels. Our room (and I believe most of the rooms) had a kitchenette with a refrigerator, small stove, microwave, and sink. They also provide bowls, utensils, plates, etc but we opted to pick up some paper/plastic bowls and utensils. I really wasn't sure when the last time their bowls had been properly cleaned so I didn't take a chance. Besides that, the beds were comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the balcony to sit and listen to the surf. And you can't beat just walking right out to the beach in the mornings. We did not use the pool but I saw someone cleaning it each morning. It looked very clean and if the ocean wasn't right there, we would have been out at the pool instead. We plan to book with Jamaica again next year. We really enjoyed how quiet and uncrowded the area and the hotel was.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#5 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince Resort Condos
Prince Resort Condos
#7 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mar Vista Grande
Mar Vista Grande
#2 of 56 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Motel

Address: 4611 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly Ocean Edge Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.