We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kids loved this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$106 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Our kids loved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

Our stay was bery pleasant. We checked in on June 4 and left of June 10. Our 3 yr old and 1yr old loved being able to look at the ocean from the balcony and also being able to walk right onto the beach from the hotel. Our room was comfy and not at all cramped. We loved the hot tub as well as the full kitchen. I was very pleased. So much so, that we ended up staying an extra night at the Avista. Housekeeping came every day around 3:00 pm and did a good job picking up after all of us. The staff was also very friendly. The pools outside were nice but we stayed in the ocean more because the pool water was freezing. Kinds cold for the kids. The hot tub was so hot that I couldn't bear it. We found the outdoor lazy river to be pretty good though. The washer/dryer in our room was broken so we called the front desk. A repair man ordered a part to fix, but in the mean time the resort offered plenty of quarters to do our laundry in the public laundry area. On our last night there were some people partying a bit to hard so we called security and within 10 minutes the noise had stopped. Overall, our family was happy with this resort and would stay there again. It had a few kinks, but the important thing is that the staff was more than willing to help fix all problems. By the way, within walking distance from the hotel you will find a pizza place, hot dog stand, seafood restaurant, ice cream parlor, shops, and bicycle rentals. We had lots of fun just walking around.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    467
    156
    90
    74
See reviews for
749
360
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Stayed at the Avista from May 20th to May 26th. Between the toilet over flowing, the large parties on the other ocean front balcanies, houskeeping services not showing up, and a much too small pool it was really a waste of money. If we could have left the 2nd night we were there we would have. When you spend this much money to stay in an ocean front room you would like to be able to enjoy the sounds of the ocean and be able to sit outside and talk to your husband/or wife. We were not able to do that due to the Music and parties from the other rooms. Now my husband and I are 30 years old and we like to have a good time but this was ridiculous. The front desk was not much help when we called them either. I would not recommend the Avista. There are much better places to stay in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

My fiance and I were in town for a local wedding and stayed at the Avista based on a recommendation from the bride/groom. It was a great place with clean and courteous staff. We stayed in a one bedroom condo, extremely spacious for2 people, with oceanfront view. Great accommodations for the price! Check-in was easy, parking was very accessible with a large deck across the street. The hotel is within 15 mintues of outlet shopping, barefoot landing, restaurants, and attractions. The beach was clean, beautiful and wide--so you never felt crowded. The pool area was my only complaint...there are 2 small adult pools with a large central area that has a lazy river. For a hotel of this size I felt they should have built one massive pool area...lots of wasted space and potential with the lazy river. Besides that, there is another lazy river in an INDOOR area. Anyway, the indoor area was nice as well, with a large jacuzzi and small indoor pool. The "snack shack" at the pool had surprisingly good food, and the pool bar had great specials so pricing wasn't outrageous at all. Beer--buy2 get one free! :) We also heard from another couple that the hotel bar was good and inexpensive, as far as hotel restaurants go. The fitness room was ample--better than most hotel fitness areaa and didn't feel stuffy or confined. We spent a night at the hotel lounge as well...cool bar for a night in! Checkout was speedy and the staff were quick to notice some charges that were not ours and take them off our bill without us even asking. Overall, it was a great place and we had a fantastic weekend.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed in an ocean front 1 bedroom unit the week of May 21st, 2006. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We found the Avista to be exceptionally clean and comfortable--plenty of towels and amenities throughout the week. We never needed to ask for anything. We noted that the Avista was very family oriented. The restaurant was average, but good for a quick bite to eat. The pools were clean, plenty of lounge chairs and pool towels were provided. Anytime there was sand carried in on the carpets, housekeeping was right on it and had it swept away. Everyone who worked for Avista had a friendly smile and were very courteous in speaking with guests.

Our stay was at the end of Harley week and the start of the sport bike week. Avista was accomodating to all, and was quick to curtail some rowdiness that took place one evening on the balconies so as to not have an unfavorable situation exist. I've recommended the Avista to several coworkers and family members. We wouldn't think twice about staying again at the Avista Resort.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We just returned from 5 nights at the Avista and it was wonderful..The staff was very friendly and really seem like they wanted to help us get the most out of our stay...They Had made the lower level of the parking garage for motorcycles only so that is was easier for security to watch, which is very nice when you consider the amount of money that we all have invested in our bikes. They also provided towles to wipe the bikes with and even a place to wash them includind the soap...The room was huige and very nice we had all we needed there.. I say this is one of the few truly biker friendly hotels in Myrtle Beach..At first I was not thrilled that is was so far out but in the end it was nice not to hear all the noise you get when you stay closer to the downtown area truly felt like we were on vacation and at bike week at the same time.. AGAIN 5 stars to the staff your great...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

A wonderful place to stay. We were there over Bike week and they went out of their way to accomodate us. The guests were friendly and the staff was more than helpful. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. There was easy access to the hotel from the main roads and the beach was right there. Provided safe clean dust free parking for the bikes. Will definately stay again.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Just returned from a five night stay at the Avista Resort. We have used Trip Advisor before and really trust the reviews. It stated the Avista was the number one choice and it was!! My husband and I, our Daughter along with a 3 year old Grandaughter and our 3 month old Grandson stayed in a beautiful one bedroom condo on the 16th floor. We stayed in the kingsize bedroom, our Daughter had the couch (which opened to a queensize bed) and our Grandaughter had the murphy bed that came out of the wall in the living room (very comfortable) They brought us up a small crib for the baby. The condo worked out perfectly for all of us. The kitchen has everything you need. Maid service came every day. The view of the ocean from the balcony was absolutely beautiful (I did a lot of sitting out there!) The railing is also safe for children.
The weather was pretty chilly and rainy, so we never saw anyone in the outdoor pools.
We did use the indoor lazy river (which was fun), and the indoor pool. Only got to go to the ocean one day when it was in the low 70's ~ the beach is very, very clean.
Only ate the breakfast buffet in the restaurant which was o.k. We stocked up our kitchen when we got there and pretty much ate in the condo. Went to Broadway at the Beach ~ lots of shopping, restaurants and Ripleys Acquarium, which our Grandaughter loved.
The second day we were there the smoke alarms went off in the building and everyone was told to evacuate and not use the elevators but to take the stairways out. Well, we were on the 16th. floor with a 3 year old and a 3 month old baby and had to climb down 16 flights of stairs and wait across the street while fire trucks and ambulances came. It was really scarry for us. Seems a lightbulb was smoking on the 15th floor. We will never stay on a higher floor with children again. Our last night after coming back from dinner, we pulled up to the Avista and ther were fire trucks and ambulances again! This time there were too many people smoking in the lounge. We wondered if this happens there a lot?
We would definitly recommend The Avista for anyone ~ it is a beautiful resort that is clean, with a friendly staff. We would stay again!! Wish we were there now!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.