We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avista Resort is fabulous!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avista Resort is fabulous!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed at the Avista Resort for the very first time with some friends to play some golf and just enjoy the beach. This place is fabulous. I have stayed all over the world and can compare. The staff was extremely friendly no matter where I went. The front desk check in was quick. Breakfast/lunch/dinner was fantastic and the service staff were very friendly. The rooms were very nice, clean and spacy. Views were incredible. I'm planning on going back this fall for another golf trip with the boys. The pools were great. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    447
    149
    88
    72
See reviews for
726
345
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

The room was fine for our purposes of a short visit, though not a great kitchen if you expect to actually cook anything. It was fine for grabbing breakfast: cereal, fruit, etc. Linens on the bed were in rough shape, and the bed itself was horribly lumpy. The worst part was all the smoking. Though signs were posted stating no smoking allowed in public areas, no one enforced the rule, and no one heeded it. There was smoking all around the pool, and people were even smoking while *in* the hot tub and lazy river with little kids around. Cigarette butts littered the pool area, and it was almost impossible to find a seat with no smoking around us. The upside is that the location is great. Regardless, we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a nice properety, everything was clean and in good operating condition. The furnishings were "hotelish" looking. Probably would try to stay somewhere else on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

After reading the other reviews, I was somewhat hesistant about staying here. However, as soon as we walked in the door, my fears were allayed. The hotel lobby was clean and spacious, the staff courteous and friendly. Our room was clean, and had all the amenities we were promised. The view from the balcony was beautiful!(We were in an oceanfront room).
We had to change our room because we wanted a separate entrance into thebathroom. The manager, Angela, and the rep, Theresa attended to our request in a friendly, courteous, and timely manner.
The hallways were clean, and there wasn't any noise on the floor we stayed on.
The boys loved it.! They were able to hook up their video games and had the pool and beach right under their noses. The boys were in the living room and had their own beds, which they loved.
I cooked breakfast and dinner twice, and I had all the pots and utensils I needed.
We were about 15 minutes away from Barefoot Landing, and the Walmart, which is even closer, provided any extras we needed.
I love the washer/dryer in the room, even though the dryer was a litte slow.:)
My only issue was the parking lot which I believe is too small for the hotel, but hey, it was free.
Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Location:
Avista is located in a great spot very near shopping, dining, grocery, entertainment and other needs. We found it to be in the perfect location for everything we needed. Beach access is just over the dune break.

Guest services:
Generally, the guest services were very friendly if a little disorganized. We were promised an early check-in, including a phone call to our cell when the room was ready. Lo and behold, the room was not ready as promised but we were given access to the pools and changing rooms, etc., so we could enjoy our time as much as possible. We never got the call to inform us of our room being ready and were almost accidentally placed into someone else's room by mistake!

On the bright side, we requested an upper floor and were delighted to confirm we were placed on the top floor. While you can still hear plenty of the pool-area noise in the evening, it was far superior than being placed on a floor in which the noise would have been very distracting.

The maids did a great job. They were quick, efficient and would even load and run the dishwasher if you had items sitting in the sink.

Facility:
Overall, the building was in good to great condition except for a few issues. Primarily, the doors on the ground level as well as the general decor of the indoor pool area appeared to be heavily battered by the salt air and disrepair. What appeared to be track lighting or some other type of device (to hold decorative curtains?) were broken and dangling. Ceiling tiles were missing and there was poor drainage throughout the indoor pool area.

The wear and tear on the elevators was evident by worn buttons and labeling and some uncomfortable sounds during travel.

Room:
Our room was quite the opposite of the ground floor. The bedding was comfortable and spacious. We actually preferred to sleep on the Murphy bed in the front room facing the ocean and allowed our kids to use the queen-sized beds in the bedroom. This allowed for us to enjoy the balcony and front room after the kids went to bed.

While the bathroom lacked sufficient storage space, we found it otherwise to be updated, clean and quite roomy. The kitchen had a very poor design in terms of storage space but served our needs for simple breakfasts and lunches. And the much-talked about combo washer/dryer does take some significant time to do its job but if you plan for it, as we did, then it works out just fine. Just start a load when you head to the beach and it's done when you return.

The single biggest complaint we had was that the room had three very small wastebaskets (the size you would have bed-side or desk-side. That was simply not enough space for a family of four who consumed two meals a day in the room.

Pools:
The pools use a salt-based chlorination system (thankfully, not Bromine). Generally this was okay but they apparently treated the indoor pool overnight at some point and all of us who got in the pool suffered from severely burning in our eyes for a few hours afterwards. There are three pools (two outside, one inside), three hot tubs (two out, one in) and two lazy rivers (one out, one in) as well as a small kiddie pool with umbrella fountain (out).

The only major complaint we had about the pools had little to do with the resort but much to do with the lack of parenting by most guests. Apparently, they turn their kids loose and the kids, in turn, display absolutely no level of respect, manners or ability to read/follow rules. We stopped using the lazy rivers (aka "crazy rivers") due to the number of uncontrolled children jumping in and splashing you, pushing you aside as they run around the river and other similar obnoxious behavior. Some sort of control by the resort would have been appreciated.

Beach:
The beach in front of the resort is very nice. There were plenty of people there each day but there was never a feeling of being over-crowded. If you didn't bring your own cover, umbrellas were available for rent and were safely reserved for you for the full day (so you could leave and come back and not lose your place). Shell fragments were to be found in some places but that is to be expected and was not a problem. And, thankfully, there were shockingly few cigarette butts laying around in the sand.

Parking:
Yes, the resort's parking garage is across the street but I don't know why so many people complain about that. Do they prefer that their car has an oceanfront view instead of their room? While the parking spaces are a bit undersized for my taste, we don't drive an aircraft carrier-sized SUV and didn't have problems navigating the garage/spaces. The garage was never filled to capacity, so finding an available spot was never a problem.
Additionally, the road you have to cross is actually not that busy and was very easy to cross.

Conclusion:
The price for the room was reasonable and we felt we got a great overall value. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and would personally like to return for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

After reading reviews on far too many Myrtle beach resorts we finally decided on the Avista Resort. When we first arrived our first impression was good. We were a few hrs early so we did the “pre~registration”. The staff was friendly and it wasn’t crowded yet. After the 4ish pm check in were very pleased with the room. It was clean, bright and had a spectacular oceanfront view. We had a one bedroom which was adequate for the three of us. The only problem was there was no washer and dryer as indicated when we booked. At first this man wasn’t very helpful and after a few hrs this patient, friendly young girl moved us to another rm w/ a brand new washer & dryer. The elevators were fairly quick and the staff were friendly and helpful. The pools were inviting although the 2 outdoor pools were a bit small. The general layout of the pools were nice because you were not on top of other guests. The outdoor “bar/snack area was nice but closed around 4pm and the girl working there had a little attitude (the only employee that we encountered like this) Be careful of what you order at the outdoor”bar” because there are a few very overinflated frozen drinks, ask price before you order. The indoor lounge was real nice and the barmaid was awesome. The restaurant was nice and the breakfast buffet was good, best grits I ever had. (helpful hint, show your card for 10% off lunch and dinner in restaurant) When reading reviews of any resorts in MB remember that there are always those who are never happy and we recommend the Avista.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knapp_time
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I traveled to South Carolina for a yearbook conference with my yearbook staff. A group of teenagers. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The suite was big enough for all of us to have our space. Since we were on a budget, the kitchenette was perfect. We could fix meals together and continue to work on our yearbook ideas.

Everyone (the staff) was so friendly! They went out of their way to make everything in our room perfect, even extra towels!

The best part of the room was the view of the beach. I liked that the kids could go down to the beach and I could keep an eye on them right from the balcony. Then when we were tired of the ocean, the pool area was a great place to chill out. The lazy river was my groups favorite thing to do there.

I can't wait for next summer, I plan on returning... this time with my family!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.