We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the front desk help?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$106 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver,NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where is the front desk help?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Place is relaxing, and enjoyable to be at, but, should you need anything, no one will answer at front desk or concierge number when you call. First day safe was locked when we got there and was not attended to until the second night of our stay. Anytime we needed anything we called the outside number to get to the front desk. Have stayed here last year and had no problems. Just don't expect any extra attention after you pay. Your on your own. Jasmine at the front desk is the one to see for good, friendly service.

Room Tip: Higher up the better. Ocean view rooms are wonderful without the ocean front price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Denver_NCJulia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to acknowledge Jasmine at the desk and let us know how your stay had gone. I do want to apologize for any inconveniences in regards to reaching the front desk but it does sound like it was possibly due to something being wrong with the phone as the same staff members would answer the outside numbers as well as the internal calls. If you had a moment could you please let us know what unit you were staying in so that we can ensure that everything is working as it should.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    467
    156
    90
    74
See reviews for
749
360
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We enjoyed being on first floor having 2 children. We could take stairs a lot. But we had a balcony that's extends out & not across so we caught a lot of debris from floors above. Which is to be expected. But still was fun cleaning it up everyday. Other than that, the location was great! The environment was awesome! Loved it had a full kitchen & w/d! Helped out tremendously! We will definitely be back but on floors 2-17.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear hseale2,

We are very happy to see that you and your family had a great trip and enjoyed the great location that the Avista can offer and as you said the environment. We try our best to cater to the many families that join us during the year and are thankful that you chose the Avista Resort and that you do plan on returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here for a family vacation and we were satified! Rooms were spacious and clean. We had to change out fridge because it was not working but overall it was amazing!! Really recommend their restaurant! I strongly recommend this hotel for every one whether you like the beach or the pool!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and the many great things that you had to say about the resort. We apologize that you had fridge problems and are thrilled that we were able to get that rectified for you immediately and not letting it affect your vacation. We will be sure to pass along your strong recommendations for the restaurant and make sure they know that they are doing a great job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family vacations in Myrtle beach often and has stayed at several hotels in the North Myrtle Beach area but this one was by far the best we have stayed at! It was clean. The location was great. The beach wasn't too crowded even though we were there in July. My kids LOVED the pools! The front desk staff was very friendly and even went above and beyond to help me when I needed to use a computer and the one in the lobby wasn't working. The housekeeping staff was great and very friendly as well. I saw a negative review about standing water around the pool and I wanted to say that while we were staying here it seemed there were always people working around the pools to brush the water into drains to avoid this problem of standing water. It was truly a great experience and we will be returning in the future! :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear SweeneyinKY,

Thank you very much for the kind words, as well as taking notice of the hard work that the pool staff does to make sure that the pools are constantly clean and safe. I know they will be thrilled to be recognized as will the front desk for their hospitality. We do have a great staff that works very hard and we are very proud of that. We look forward to you returning in the future and hopefully becoming your new home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We met up with family from North Carolina who recommended The Avista and Myrtle Beach. We had a 3 bedroom ocean view room for my family of 4 and my parents. The room was spacious except for the master which was not sized for a king bed, had a full kitchen, separate bathrooms in each guest room and included HE washer and dryer. The room was clean and only had a few spots needing repair. The décor tries to be beach themed but comes off a bit loud. Having a higher floor room is a plus for the view and distancing yourself from the pool area, I would want a room no lower than the 8th floor. A major con is that each tower is serviced by 3 elevators that have trouble moving the guests efficiently and the elevators and hallways could be very uncomfortable at times due to lack of proper air conditioning. There was not a day where we did not hear someone comment on the stifling conditions with the elevators. I had read about pool seating filling up early due to reserving seating, this is true, people go out early and place items on chairs and lounges hours before using the seating. The real problem with the pool seating is that it is unable to accommodate the capacity of the hotel. Parents and young children enjoyed the pool and lazy river but if my son and daughter were younger I would have had a bigger problem with the pool area. I go to beach destinations to enjoy the beach, pools are for temporary relief. To be honest many travelers seem very happy here and see it as an upper tier option, I have come to expect much more for my money. The only rooms better than ours were the corner ocean view units which would have the best views. I know that some units are privately owned and some are resort owned so there are some discrepancies on condition of units. Parking is in a 7 story private complex across the street, spaces are VERY tight, driving lanes are VERY tight and most days I had to park on the 6th or 7th levels so be prepared to spend a little extra time parking. I found from research that the city has banned pop ups or anything but umbrellas on the beach, city run beach chairs and umbrellas can be rented, which are lined up on the beach and can obstruct your view. My parents drove to the resort and brought our chairs and umbrellas. The reservations staff was extremely helpful and professional. The resort staff was courteous and helpful as well. A resort the size of the Avista and with the rates charged should invest more into improvements. Would I stay here again? Yes but I think I would rather rent a house on another visit to Myrtle Beach. I am giving criticism for the benefit of fellow travelers and the property itself. I visited few properties during our stay but the Avista seems to fit into the above average of what is available.

Room Tip: You can request a higher room but no guarantees are given on room location. We were on the 12th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear #1LakerDad,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and letting us know how we can improve our guest experience. I want to assure you that we are constantly working on room and property improvements year round as we do agree that there are always things that can be done to improve our guests visits. We hope that in the future you will visit us again give us the chance to wow you and your family and show you some of the constant changes being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our unit was oceanfront, with a furnished balcony. The unit was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The bedding was perfect for our purposes - 4 queen beds in two bedrooms. The Avista offers activities daily for children as well as families. While we didn't participate in any of the activities, we did participate in one of the dinner specials and the breakfast buffet, which were both very affordable and enjoyable.

The one suggestion I have is that the Avista should utilize signage for travelers to know which is the North tower and which is the South tower. We had some elderly family with us this year, and would get confused easily when getting on an elevator, just to find out that they were in the wrong tower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear rhondaf318,

Thank you very much for your review and your suggestion on how we can improve. I think added signage in the elevator landings is a great idea and something that I will be sure that we discuss in the future. We will also be sure to send the kind words to the chef and the food and beverage staff and make sure they are aware that the dinner special and breakfast buffet were great. We hope you choose the Avista again in the future and look forward to serving you and yours again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

When we checked in we were told we had a 1st floor room. The staff tried their best to give us a higher floor, but had nothing available the entire stay. We were offered a higher floor if we wanted to move after our first night, but we declined. There was some issue that made water stand in the hallway outside our room. It was never fixed, but they had blowers and vacuumed the water regularly. It did leave a musky odor in the hallway. That being said, the staff was wonderful and tried their best to fix the issue. We were given buffet breakfast tickets for the trouble which was very nice. we have stayed at the Avista a few times and even though they had a water problem this time, I would recommend it to others traveling to North Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear RogandTam,

Once again please accept our apology that the leak int he hallway was not resolved while you were with us. We certainly understand that coming and going around that could have very easily caused an inconvenience and truly thank you for your patience. As you know from staying with us, these issues are few and far between and we can assure you that next time the time for repair should be much quicker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.