We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stay at the Avista."” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Candler, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Stay at the Avista."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The first time my husband and I stayed at the Avista was last year and it was absolutely perfect! Very nice vacation trip. We did not like the restaurant breakfast. This past week I took my daughter and her fiance as we had to make plans for their wedding at the beach next year. Overall, there were no problems. The main thing was I finally had to call the front desk to get the towels for the bathroom and to have the trash taken out. The front desk staff was very pleasant about it. The maids were also pleasant but I was informed that in order to have the room cleaned I needed to put the "maid service" sign on the door handle. I really thought this was a routine service that did not need to be requested. I would still stay at the Avista. Just don't go toward the end of the semester of colleges unless you want loud music and drinking everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Evelyn W,

Thank you for choosing the Avista Resort and congratulations to your daughter and fiance on their upcoming nuptials. We will be sure to let the director of housekeeping know about the troubles you had faced and will be sure that with added training you wont face the same issue again. We are happy to see that this wont deter you from staying with us again and we certainly look forward to the opportunity to make up for this previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    447
    149
    88
    72
See reviews for
726
345
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived prior to check-in time, and asked if they would call us when our room was ready. They never called so we returned at check-in time to check-in and our room still was not ready. When we finally could check-in, we had planned on cooking our own dinner. To our dismay, our stove was dysfunctional, and we had to call maintenance. They came to fix it and still only one of the eyes worked, and by worked it kind kind've warm. It took 30 minutes to boil water. They came back the next day and then left pieces of the stove sitting on top of it after they left. The housekeeper the first two days were great--they made the beds, provided clean linens, and vacuumed. The 3rd day, the beds were not made, and basically just came in to take the trash out and dumped some towels in the bedroom. Upon checkout, we were made to return to our room and take our own trash out to their dumpster and strip all of the beds ourselves. After that, we had to wait for 1.5 hours in the lobby to check-out while they inspected our room, to deal with a rude manager and pay for damages that we did not do. This place sucks. Don't go there unless you want to lose your security deposit for any and everything.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

True Professionals, take pride in their hotel and take very good care of you. The rooms are great clean. Not a bad one in the entire hotel. I just love this place. In over 5 yrs I have NEVER stayed in another resort. It's my home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Donnak939,

We cant thank you enough for your continued support and patronage of the Avista Resort and the kind words about the property and the staff. We certainly feel we have the best staff along the grand strand and welcome everyone to experience it as you and others have. Thank you again for choosing the Avista and we look forward to having another chance to serve you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location for the Mayfest on Main activities. Overall, the hotel was good, but the check in service and attitude of the front desk folks were not customer focused. Significant delay. Had to ask for manager assistance and had mediocre response. Rooms well appointed. Pool area nice. Great view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Rick F,

Thank you very much for the kind remarks in regards to the amazing views that our spacious condos can provide and the decor of the units and the pool area. I was hoping that if you had a moment you could give me a call or email on the issues that you had faced at check in. I was able to find the reservation you were with but do not see nay notes in regards to inconveniences faced. I can assure you that our staff is extremely guest oriented and that any lack of expressing or showing that during your trip will be fixed with training and not indicative of a normal stay with us.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Zach Frazier
843-417-5511
zach.frazier@avistaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Avista a number of times. We have never been disappointed. Each time we stay we are always comfortable and made to feel welcomed. I would recommend the Avista to anyone traveling to North Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mindy R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and thank you so much for continuing to choose the Avista when traveling to the area. We are happy to see that we have been able to consistently provide you and yours a great and welcoming environment and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a scam designed to rip you off. They collect an enormous security deposit in order to charge your room for minor and highly disputable damages. Check out takes over an hour and the front desk is entirely unresponsive and unprofessional. Cleaning services were minimal at best and in order to check out the hotel requires that the room conduct basic services that should be completed by the staff even in a cheap hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We normally do not rent to individuals under the age of 23 but we understand graduating College is a big deal and work with many Colleges. We have special rules when doing do and provide then when a reservation is made and the rules are re-confirmed at check in. The vast majority of our students are well behaved and get all their deposit back but we have to be good stewards for the Condo Owners who allow us to rent their property and we must inspect each room, as some groups are less well behaved, and we cannot afford surprises after you have left. While check out for our students can take longer than typical, this is done to ensure that our guests do receive their deposits back and that the units are left in the same state that they were found. I would be happy to discuss this further if you or anyone has any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel has many things going for it: great views of the ocean, a large pool area, good sized suites with kitchen included. However, there are some disadvantages, too: there are a lot of rules concerning pool wristbands, quiet hours, only one car is given a permit, and a hefty deposit required for 21-23 year olds. There's an overwhelming amount of drunk college students in the hotel during May, which doesn't create a great atmosphere for children. Still, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Sam44586,

Thank you very much for the kind words in regards to the property and I want to apologize about any inconveniences you faced while staying with us. We are very strict on pool bracelets, this is so that we can ensure the guests paying to use the facilities have the ability to do so rather than someone coming in off the beach or street. We are of course strict with quiet hours as you stated because we want to ensure that after 10pm our guests are able to rest comfortably without being bothered by loud or unruly guests. As you stated the majority of our students do drink throughout the day, and I think everyone agrees that accidents and other issues do arise with adults due to being intoxicated. This is the reason that we require security deposits to be used which is used in case of any found damage found in the units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.