We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$58 (USD)
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family trip to the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was our first trip to Myrtle Beach. The location in North Myrtle is great...right at a Main intersection to get anywhere you need to go. We loved how quiet and family oriented the beach was at the Avista. The view from the room was great and we thought the room was really well laid out. We had our 18 month old son with us and the set up was perfect. They were clean, the beds were comfortable, and we loved having a washer/drier in the room with us. There are two reasons I did not give 5/5 rating. One is that some of the staff was not the most pleasant and helpful. The other is the pool. The pool was clean and convenient but not the best set up for younger children. There was only one small shallow pool with one of those water trees spilling water out of it. My son hated it. He really didn't get to enjoy the pool very much and since he was so small he couldn't really swim in the ocean. Some of the other hotels we passed had nice splash areas/shallow pools in them. If the pool is not a huge factor in where you stay and/or have children a little older then my son I would highly suggest staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Dirtyd301,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We are very happy to see that you had a great time but want to apologize if any staff members were less than welcoming. That is certainly not something that we tolerate and understand how much great guest services means to our guest experience. I also hate to hear that your son didn't have a fun time at the pools, had we known he hated the mushroom waterfall we would have been happy to turn it off so that he enjoyed himself more. We hope that you do return and please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything at all we can do to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    447
    149
    88
    72
See reviews for
725
345
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our family of 4 just got home from our second stay here. Before booking the first time I searched for a long time and read tons of reviews and finally settled on Avista. We were pleasantly surprised when we got there with how nice the place was. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job. The location is great, right on the beach and close to a lot of places to eat and shop. The bottom line is that we will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear boarder710,

Thank you for choosing the Avista and giving us the opportunity to show you why you should continue to choose us when traveling to the area. We have a fantastic housekeeping staff that does a great job ensuring that the rooms and public areas do stay looking modern and clean. We will be sure that they have an opportunity to read your review so that they can feel appreciated as they should.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This resort is very clean and not outdated like other places in Myrtle Beach! The room was so clean and well thought out. The pool area was safe, clean and not torn up at all. the elevators were clean and the hotel staff was so nice and helpful. The parking garage is well maintained and I felt safe walking to my car alone. The overall stay was great! I hate staying in Myrtle Beach because all the hotels are so nasty and outdated...not this place it was awesome!!!

Room Tip: Don't book your hotel online call first as they appear to have better rates when you speak with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear PackAttack04,

We are very grateful for you taking the time to post a review on your great stay with us and that you found everything to be perfect for you and yours. We certainly take great pride in having a fantastic staff that takes great care of our guests and the property and it shows. We look forward to your return and I'm positive another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights (arrived 04/27) and had an Oceanfront room on the 12th floor. We arrived early and Angela at the front desk was very helpful. We had requested an early check in due to our flight arrived at 10:30am. Angela tried hard to get us checked in early but due to the fact that i was asking for a room on a higher floor we did not get into our room until 4pm. She did offer us other rooms in the meantime. While waiting Angela recommended a great seafood place Duffys that was in walking distance and the food lived up to the recommendation. Once inside the room, the reviews and the website were spot on. Our view was spectacular, the room was big with two tv's/ washer dryer/comfortable bed. Bathroom was very large with a jetted tub however there was no counter space. The sink was a pedestal sink and for women it is important to have a counter. Room service was spot on every day. We had no problems with the elevators and pool area both inside and out were clean. I do think they should have a bathroom on the ground level near the pools. Dined at the restaurant for breakfast and for the prime rib dinner special. Both meals and service was good. Had drinks at the hotel bar and David the bartender was fun and gave us some good travel info. Also there was another bartender (female) that recommended a wonderful punch drink. One thing was confusing was that when we checked in we were given only 1 drink ticket but while at the bar two other couples came in and they had 2 drink tickets. I asked them and they stated they received two tickets at the front desk The next day I went to the front desk with my concern. I was told that each room is only suppose to get 1 drink ticket upon arrival but the girl gave me another one for my trouble. Again this is very minor but it shows that Avista will try to resolve issues..Great location, walking distance to Main St. We are already planning our next stay at this resort. The views, the room, location, service and price this is a good choice. Good place for adults not traveling with kids but keep in mind we were there late April early May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear bajhome,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Avista Resort. What great detail and information on your experience with us as well as the area. We will be sure that each staff member mentioned is made aware that their hard work was noticed. We are very happy to see that you had a great time in all facets of the resort and that the staff went out of their way to get another drink ticket for you to ensure that you were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The prices are very reasonable! Two night stay for my sons travel ball game made us feel like we don't have enough time to enjoy all that there is to offer. Clean rooms, enough beds for 8 if needed. Of course my 10 year old insisted on sleeping on the bed that pulls from the wall. Although we did not watch much TV, there are two TV's and a DVD player. I suggest ocean front. You won't regret it. Bathroom is plenty big and we love the large tub! They provide everything you need but laundry detergent and groceries. There is a dishwasher but no worried, they provide the the dishwasher soap and dish washing soap. The pools....let's just say if you have children, they will love this place. Two lazy rivers one inside, one out, jacuzzi and two pools. Towels provided. Three of our team families stayed here and cannot say enough about how wonderful it is and how clean!!! Pack your bags, stop at Krogers (you will need condiments obviously) and relax!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Kayakgirl1021,

Thank you so much for your wonderfully detailed review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope that your son had a great travel ball tournament and that when you are returning to the area you will choose the Avista each time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Have stayed here 3 times and each time has been overall a good experience.
Views on beach side rooms are spectacular.
The layout of some of the room have the bedrooms close to the hallways which depending on where floor you are sleeping can be noisy.
Elevators are painfully slow , late check in times are my only complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Wattsun,

Thank you so much for your continued support and patronage of the Avista Resort and we hope to continue to have the opportunity to serve you yours. I do want to apologize for the times that we haven't been able to get you checked into the room early, but I can assure you that any guest that arrives early the staff tries very hard to get them checked in before the 4pm start time. Unfortunately certain days are a bit tougher than others due to a large number of check outs and ins on the same day.I would recommend calling the front desk the day of if you will be early and that way they can notify housekeeping that you will be an early arrival, this may not cause you to get in before 4pm but it will help on the busier days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My girlfriends & I participated in the Diva 5K Race in N Myrtle Beach. Staying at The Avista was very convenient for us the day of the race. Within walking distance, you have entertainment, shops, & restaurants. Wonderful accommodations & amenities! Very well-kept & clean resort.

Room Tip: Great oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Coastalpj,

Thank you so much for choosing the Avista for your lodging needs during the Divas Run. We hope that you had a great weekend and a fantastic race. We are happy that we were able to accommodate any needs over the weekend and hope that we have the chance to host you and yours for the race again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.