We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avista Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$106 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avista Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great relaxing time ....We already have and will continue to recommend The Avista Resort.
All of the staff were pleasant and efficient and took care of any of our needs. My wife had to be taken to the hospital and the night manger handled it way beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Bruce_19411961,

Thank you so much for your continued support and patronage of the Avista Resort and taking the time to post a review in regards to your recent trip. We are very proud of the service that Cheryl gives with our guests, she is certainly very caring and does a great job. We all hope that everything is okay with your wife and that we have the opportunity to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    467
    156
    90
    74
See reviews for
749
360
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay , wished we could have stayed a few more days! The rooms were very clean, well decorated and had more space than I thought it would. We look forward to going again. Very Nice resort, they have upgraded and updated things.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear JDM1983,

Thank you so much for posting a review and leaving your comments of the Avista Resort, we are happy you had a great time and hope that next time we get the pleasure of having you with us a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff was great. Condos are very nice. The restaurant is the "Best kept Secret" on the beach. Highly recommend the Avista. I do like a very firm bed but that is what you get everywhere. The indoor pool, lazy river, and hot tub were very nice since it happened to be cold that weekend.
I came with a group of golfers to the Avista a couple of months ago and had a great time. Avista golf booked all of or golf courses and everyone was impressed. The staff here really goes out of there way to make sure everything is great for you!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Keith C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us in regards to your golf trip. We cant thank you enough for the kind words, we do truly believe we have the best staff along the beach and we are happy to see that you were taken care of from the making of your reservations to check out. We hope that you shot well while here and that we have the chance to host you for your next golf trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome. This place is a very family oriented place to go with kids or no kids. The staff are phenomenal especially Tim at the Front desk. Have been there twice and will continue coming back to Avista Resort they provide superb customer satisfaction. Consider coming to Avista you won't be disappointed at all. Thanks Avista for the MEMORIES. They are Priceless

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Jacqueline H,

Thank you so much for your review of the Avista Resort, we are all thrilled to see you had a great time and that Tim was able to make a positive impact on you and your stay with us. We will be sure to it that Tim does see your comments, he is a great person and I know he will be happy to see the impression he left. We look forward to seeing you again soon and having the chance to serve you and yours again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Rates come way down during the winter months in the MB area. At the same time rooms and room choices are always available. In this part of the county weather from time to time can be very mild indeed making sitting out on a balcony or walking along the beach a real pleasure. If you are mindful of what the local weather is going to be and your schedule allows you to make plans in a short period of time this place can be a great get away for a few days. Rooms a comfortable and many include a Jacuzzi tub. Only problem we have experienced over many stays are the bed mattresses are extremely hard. However this was not the case during our last stay and hopefully Avista is changing this in more rooms. Winter months again give you a huge bang for the buck at a really nice place.

Room Tip: Take a room with a Jacuzzi tub in it. It will be only a very few dollars more and well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Charlie C,

Thank you very much for your review of the Avista Resort, we are happy to see that you had a great time and made the short trip from Southport to share your winter break with us. I cant agree with you more that coming at the right time of the winter can truly be a joy with the mild winter days and abundant sunshine and I am happy that you were able to experience that great weather.
We are always working to improve the guest experience as best we can and have been working with our homeowners on upgrading our mattresses at the resort and hope that on your next visit you will be just as comfortable. We look forward to having the chance to serve you and yours again and please do not hesitate to let the front desk staff know if there is anything we can do to improve your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

After extensive discussion w/ the reservation person we selected a room while viewing it online. Upon arrival the room was not as represented and front desk would not comply. In general the front desk people were rude and condescending. However, the wait staff and other workers we encountered were very pleasant. The evening meal was very nice and breakfast in their restaurant was quite good. The condition of the rooms and the hotel proper were one step up from fair. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear STEBUN,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us, while I am certainly very disappointed to see that it was not as you or we expected, we do appreciate the feedback so that we can continue to improve our guest experience. I am very sorry that you had perceived the staff to be rude and condescending, I can assure you that is not tolerated at the Avista by any means and I am positive that if the staff member knew you felt that way, they would be very apologetic. If you had a moment to speak with me i regards to the details of your experience I would be very appreciative, as I am concerned with the reason the room wasn't represented as you felt it should have been, as well as the condition of the room and property. Please do not hesitate to call or email, and I very much look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warmest regards,
Zach Frazier
Front Office Manager
843-417-5511
zach.frazier@avistaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is my 2nd trip to Avista. First time, I got married on the beach in front of Avista in Sept 2012 and we stayed in Rm# 1414, room type LNS. Check in was quick & easy but crowded at 4pm. We had help with our bags from the bellhop which was great. The room was phenonmenal.

First, you enter the room in a long hallway with bedroom to the left. Bedroom has 2 double beds, dresser, 2 nightstands, flatscreen tv, closet, & floor to ceilings windows with a balcony facing the street.The bathroom had pleny of counterspace for 2 people, jacuzzi tub, & nice decorations. Then, a walk-thru kitchen, fully equipped, with minimal counterspace. Minimal counterspace was perfect for us because who's cooking on vacation! The living room had a wall bed, floor to ceiling windows, sleeper sofa, and a flatscreen tv with a phenomenal view.

The 2nd year, in Sept 2013, we reserved Room Type L1NS. This room was identical to the LNS except the bedroom had a king bed. Location is in N MB, so you aren't close to the strip & S MB is about 20min away with traffic. Parking was across the street in a huge parking garage but definitely safe & secure. Walking across the street was no issue at all unless you have children. I can't complain about the service because we had minimal contact with them because there was no need. Hotel was quiet & elevators weren't an issue either even at check-out time.

In September, after Labor Day, there are no rowdy children and you really only see couples with toddlers. There are no lines for ANY attractions or restaurants after Labor Day. Overall, I love Avista & will see them 9/07/2014, but this time in a F2NS. Another review and pics after September!! I'm praying nothing changes! LOL!

Room Tip: Rooms LNS & L1NS are oceanview with 2 balconies...one in bedroom & one in living room WITH f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Kimberly F,

Thank you very much for your fantastic and very detailed review, we are thrilled to hear that you had a great time with us during both visits to the North Myrtle Beach Area. I do agree that mid to late Sept is an awesome time to come as the weather is still warm and the area as a whole is much slower than the beginning of the month. We hope that we have the chance to host you and yours again and become a home away from home for you, especially due to the special circumstances of where you were wed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.