We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful People!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Save Saved
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$74 (USD)
Barberton, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Wonderful People!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed on the 10th floor of the south tower and had a wonderful view of the ocean. The room was a good size, there were plenty of sleeping areas and the kitchen had everything we needed (including an ice maker!). Our daughter ended up getting a cold/fever so we ended up spending more time in the room than we planned. It was comfortable and fit our needs well. The staff WAS AWESOME! They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay more enjoyable. We used their room service a few times and found their prices very reasonable, service excellent and the food was good too (the chicken with the vodka cream sauce was awesome!!).The parking being across the street was a little inconvenient with our daughter and her things in tow, but not enough to make me not want to stay there again. Thank you Avista for the wonderful service and facility!

Room Tip: One bedroom condo was great for a family of 3! View was great on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    380
    121
    84
    63
See reviews for
608
290
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived in town late that night checked in around 10:30pm. We were exhausted took showers and went straight to bed. In the middle of the night got up to lower the air and my husband noticed blood in the bed. Of course it wasn't me we got up pulled the covers back and there were 2 blood spots in the bed. Nasty Nasty. We immediately call the front desk to have them come to the room they sent someone to bring new sheets & left. When my husband went to the front desk he was told there was not a mgr he could s/w and there wuld not be one all weekend. They offered to give us a 87.00 credit to sleep on someone elses blood. We were told they would inform the mgr and he would call us. We never got a call or anything. Needless to say we checked out the very next morning after sleeping on the sofa. I will never stay here again or never advise anyone else to. BE AWARE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The parking garage was tight but so are all the parking garages at the beach. We were able to park and have easy access to elevators to get back to the ground floor. Parking is across the street but it allowed you more room to unload and load at the garage under the resort. Our room had plenty of sleeping areas. We found the room to be spacious in some ares and tight in other places. The kitchen was fully operational so making breakfast in the room was nice so we could have more beach time. The only complaint we had was the heat of the shower setting off the fire alarm. We learned to turn the air down and made the room chilly before showering. Even with the door shut and the bathroom fan running, the alarm would go off. Once the air was turned down we had no problems. We enjoyed the indoor and out door pools. The indoor pool was heated. It felt like stepping into a bath. The beach access was easy to get to. There were two showers but only one would turn on. The other just dripped. On a plus there was an additional shower in the pool area but who wants to shower sand off near the pools? All in all, We had a good time. We will come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed on the 10th floor North tower with side view of the ocean which gave us a great view. Our room was clean & updated. King size bed was comfortable & the Murphy bed was also comfortable. Great access to the beach. Kitchen had just what we needed-would have liked to have a non-stick pan for cooking. First group of bath towels a little thin however the next group was better. Was not impressed with the food in the restaurant-Off Main. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your continued support and for the grate comments about our staff and our resort. North Myrtle Beach is a wonderful community and the Avista is the place to spend time enjoying the wonderful beach, at least in my opinion, so thank you for choosing to come back year after year. See you next year…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Avista for four years and the staff have not disappointed us yet! They are friendly, the rooms are clean, and the view is phenomenal. We were on the 17th floor and could see well down the coastline. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family stayed in a 12th floor ocean front room for three days. The view was great. The front desk and concierge were nice. The sound and light blockage was outstanding. But overall, the room was not. The list of problems:

Door: Twice the magnetic entry cards had to be reset for no apparent reason.

Beds: Beds were horrible (thin, worn mattresses). Linens had HOLES in them! Tube t.v. with fuzzy cable reception. All furniture was visibly worn.

Kitchenette: Broken glass (shard of a bowl) on the floor. Significant chip on a glass, should be thrown away. Dust and food debris on some dishes and silverware. Microwave was dirty upon arrival.

Bathroom: Water pressure in shower was horrible. Particle board cabinet was very worn. A rickety wire shelf was next to the tub and could hold nothing without falling over.

Living/Dining area: Very worn couch and chair that, despite a dark pattern, looked quite dirty. TV was good. Coffee table had a bent leg, and all furniture (again) was very worn.

Washer/Dryer: Combination unit does not actually dry clothes. We tried all settings; we even looked up the owners manual on the internet and found there was no way to actually dry the clothes completely b/c the combo unit is unvented.

We booked this ocean front room primarily because of the W/D and the kitchenette at the beach. The room was not cheap. If the Wyndham wants us to consider buying into their resorts, then the best advertising is an outstanding room and outstanding service. My rating of "average" is a gift. It would take perhaps one month of rent to update the furnishings in this room to make the room outstanding. The parking garage and the walls on the ground floor at the pool also need updating/painting. The key card access to the pool area must be repaired. This is a significant security risk.

There's so much potential here, but the property and the rooms need significant updates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

At Avista we stayed on the 15th floor in an smoking ocean front room in the North tower, the view was very beautiful don't get me wrong, but the room was very outdated and the beds were very uncomfortable. They had huge dips in the middles of the beds as if someone weighed 500 lbs. and slept in the middle for weeks on end. Every morning almost everyone woke up with their back hurting. We can look across to the other tower and see how beautiful the other rooms are! The other rooms across the tower have flat screens and look immaculate! When we first arrived at Avista the front desk clerk was very rude. I understand that it was a busy time for the resort but even smiling can just make someone feel more welcome, but smiles are scarce here at Avista. The bar area is very nice looking with only ONE pool table which is almost always taken. The prices are kind of ridiculous but the lady working in the bar area was one of the nicest Avista workers I have ever met during my stay. They say they have "high speed internet" but its more like dialup.... it was very slow and loses connection constantly. There is really nothing to do for kids here. I was surprised to find out that this hotel doesn't even have a gift shop like most hotels do. I will warn every person that stays at Avista the parking is HORRIBLE! The spaces are EXTREAMLY small and hard to even get in to even with a little car. The beach access is great, so is the location of the hotel, but for the amount of money you pay to stay here I recommend to BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have huge balcony's South side is the new side, it looks a lot better then the nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.