We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, decent accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$58 (USD)
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, decent accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Avista resort was in north Myrtle Beach and was right on the Ocean front. The condo we had was on the 9th floor and was an ocean view condo. It was a full front view of the ocean and had a small balcony with two chairs. it was great to sit out in the morning and watch the waves come in. We took our two children, ages 3 and 5 and they loved the pools and hot tubs. There are two lazy rivers (one under a roof, one outside), 3 pools, 3 hot tubs (one under a roof) and a baby pool. Just take a 100 to 200 ft stroll over the walkway and you are at the beach. Even though it was peak season in June, the condos and pools weren't overcrowded which was nice. There is a bar and some small craft activities for children (for an additional fee) offered by the hotel that are out by the pools. The ocean was busy, but not overly so that you couldn't rent an umbrella or chairs. it was nice to be so close and run inside for bathroom breaks and lunch. The room had a full size refrigerator, a stove, a cooktop and plates, cups and silverware to use. The room was clean, but the beds weren't very comfortable. The bedroom was at the front of the room and was noticeably hotter, at least 10 degrees. We had to leave the door open or it was uncomfortable sleeping at night unless we turned the air way down. There is also a murphy bed in the living room which my husband and I ended up sleeping on two of the nights for additional privacy from the kids and to cool down. Overall, good rating. Largest complaint was the elevators. We always had to wait several turns to get on and with being on the 9th floor, stairs weren't an option. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view, it is worth the extra money. The other non ocean view rooms face the opposite wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    447
    149
    88
    72
See reviews for
725
345
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tazewell, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great resort. Our room was the perfect size for our four people. we were on the 14th floor so the view was great. The pool area was perfect with the lazy river and two pools and 2 hot tubs. We ate at the resort several times and the food was good. The staff was great and very helpful. I will stay at the resort again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived very early on July 3. Very nice gentleman checked us in at 5:00 am. We were very grateful as we drove all night with our young child. The location is great, the pools are very nice and clean. The room is very quiet and was clean upon checkin. Our kitchen is a tad small and doesn't have lots of storage but works and equipped with range, dishwasher, microwave. Having a washer and dryer is nice. Looking forward to our next five days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Avista Resort this year and for the nice comments about our staff. I am grateful they made you feel welcome. I would also like to say you may want to look at a "LNS" unit on your next stay as the layout is nice and it has a larger bathroom, 200 more sf and a private balcony and living room floor to ceiling in glass. If you are above the 7th floor on the south or the 10th on the north you have an unobstructed view of the coastline and I ma sure this ocean view unit will be your favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We traveled down from Maine. After 18 hours in a car we were ready to relax. We pre checked in at 2 they said room may be ready by 3 and they would call. We went to lunch and walked around a bit. Came back at 4 we were told room still wasn't ready hung out in lobby. At about 5 I checked on room they said its ready. I said thanks for the phone call.
We got in our room and from that point for the whole week everything was awesome. Clean friendly and inviting. I'm already planning my trip for next spring. We can't wait

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our first visit to Avista Resort was on vacation the week of July 4th. From the time we walked in until the time we left, the experience was excellent! Employees were great, resort was very clean. The room was extremely clean and up to date. It was nice to not run out of towels and washclothes and have to call front desk. They kept us well stocked with every thing we needed. Thanks for a great experience! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my 5th stay with The Avista during the 4th of July vacation, it continues each year to top itself. While relaxing by the pool I was asked several times by staff if I needed anything or if there was anything they could get for me. The festivites during the 4th are top notch and the staff is 5 star! On the morning of my check out there were no luggage carts available because of so many either checking in or out, which is usually aggravating when you are trying to get loaded up. The front desk took my room # and said someone would bring one to me. It wasn't 10 minutes and they were there. The gentleman without missing a beat came right in loaded the luggage, took it down stairs, and insisted on waiting with it while my friend and I got the vehicle and brought it down, he then helped put the luggage in the vehicle. We told him several times he did not have to do all that but he insisted saying that was what he was there for and he hoped we enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff is every bit as friendly and helpful and so is the staff by the pool and room service. The 4th is only 1 of 2 weeks I get for vacation from work and I would't want to spend it anywhere else. The Avista continues to top itself each year and every year I can't wait to come back to see what's in store next! Five star stay and treatment!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and for the great comments about our staff. I am so grateful they made you feel welcome and appreciated. I know they do really appreciate our Customers and know what it is like to get that one vacation a year and how special it should be. I look forward to passing your comments along as it will make a lot of folks day, and it should, thank you again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very clean and nice resort. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Great view of the beach and just a quick walk to the beach. Great staff, pools, lazy river, restaurants, and fun. I would recomend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.