We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 day stay in OD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Resort to your Saves list
Avista Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$106 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great 3 day stay in OD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice resort. Lot's of amenities. My wife and I stayed in a great 1 bedroom condo.
Plenty of room for two. Great balcony with oceanview. Resort was within walking distance
of many clubs and restaurants'. Great staff. Was given a room on the 11th floor at
check-in. I told them I did not like high places. I then was given a great room on the 2nd floor.
Can't wait to go back again!

JB - St Augustine, Fl.

Room Tip: Second floor is quiet, convenient, especially the end units(with oceanview) (no need to pay extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    467
    156
    90
    74
See reviews for
749
360
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family has stayed at The Avista several times. We have always enjoyed our stay. The staff has always been friendly. The kids enjoyed the lazy rivers and pools. If someone has had a bad time at this resort then maybe they need to look at themselves. We have always had a positive stay. We will stay at The Avista again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and appreciation for our staff. I too think the Avista is a wonderful place because of the staff who work here. We are grateful that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a one bedroom ocean view suite. It was a very nice and clean. We had a kitchenette that included stove, microwave, full size fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and can opener. All dishes, pans, utensils were stocked in the cupboards and in nice condition. There was a small combination washer/dryer. There was a nice-sized flat screen tv in the livingroom and in the bedroom. There was a table w/four chairs, couch, coffee table and end tables. The bathroom was good sized and had a nice sized garden tub. The counters were decorated with towels shaped as swans and palm trees -- very nice. There were two balconies - one off the livingroom and the other off the bedroom. The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pools, lazy rivers, Jacuzzis, and exercise room. There is a pleasant bar (I think) on the fifth floor and a restaurant on the 1st floor. The bartender was helpful when deciding on trying some of there house special mixed drinks. The restaurant staff (especially CJ and Tony) are great and will make your visit especially nice! The food is very good as well. The parking building (located across the street) has several floors and we found it tedious trying to find a space to park. We drove a Kia Optima and found it difficult to squeeze into some parking spaces. We were thankful to have not taken a truck. The only discrepancy we had during our 8 nights stay was the scheduling of the room cleaning service. Avista had given us a discount on our stay if we didn't have daily cleaning service and only had service twice during our stay. We arrived on a Friday and they scheduled cleaning for Monday, which was fine. But they also scheduled us for the following Friday, which we were expecting a Thursday cleaning service as verbally told. So this was not fine for me as we were leaving Saturday morning. The lady at the front desk was not helpful when we approached her late afternoon on Thursday to ask about cleaning service not realizing they scheduled us for Friday. We found her slightly abrupt and did nothing to remedy this situation. The cleaning service we did receive, we were very pleased with.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will have to listen to garbage removal around 5-6 AM and it can be rather lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I don't even know where to begin with this resort other than FIND ANOTHER RESORT BECAUSE THIS ONE is the most noisiest, uncomfortable ROLL AWAY bed, rude staffed resort I've ever stayed. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want quiet and relaxation this is not the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
While every hotel wants to make all our guests happy sometimes we cannot. We had SOS happening this week and had music outside, which this guest was not happy about, and a band inside. Certainly being on that floor is you are not into Shag music would be an issue and we offered to move the guest but she did not want to. She then told us where she worked and we would "get the worst rating ever" our Front Desk clerk apologized and asked what else we could do to make her happy and she wanted the band and everyone else to stop. While we want everyone to be happy this was not possible for this guest, as seen by the comment, but we are grateful for the many wonderful guests who enjoyed the entertainment that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The ideal resort for a stay at Myrtle Beach. Nice clean rooms, good restaurants and pools / lazy rivers, and the friendliest staff we've encountered at Myrtle Beach since the days of the "Mom & Pop" hotels of 30 years ago. We tried out the Avista about 6 years ago, and have been yearly visitors every year since!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Steve thank you for the kind words and loyalty for the last 6 years. We truly appreciate the comments about our staff and I will proudly pass them on. Our staff truly cares about our guests and I am grateful to hear that in your letter. We hope this becomes your families "second home".

Best Regards,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Only stayed for one night, but was impressed with the size and layout of our one-bedroom condo. This would have been comfortable for an extended stay. We had a nice ocean view in our ocean view room. However, there was a landing outisde the bedroom with HVAC equipment bright lights that leaked in a bit around the edges of the drapery. I did not realize it at the time, but these condos are privately owned. (The owner of the one I stayed at contacted me about my Tripadivisor review) I thought the HVAC equipment outside the bedroom window was noisy, but the unit owner said the windows were sound insulated, so maybe the mechanical sounds I heard were from equipment inside the condo (that would be a problem in every unit).

The room was clean and inviting, but the pillows were uncomfortable and had a slightly musty smell. (So, bring your own pillows!) Everything else about the unit was great. New carpeting. The owner tells me the mattresses are new, too. I was in unit 614.

I had not stayed in North Myrtle Beach before, but found the location to be nice and quiet (which I loved and my teenager hated). To one side (the side of the unit) there is nothing but private residences for at least a half mile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Avista. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean as well. We made full use of the kitchen space. The resort is located in a great family friendly area. Any activities we did were in reasonable driving distance. The weather was cold while we visited, so we really appreciated the indoor lazy river and pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again & recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.