We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Beach Inn to your Saves list
Castaway Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Atrocious!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Picture is old. No heated pool. My "efficiency" had no working microwave, no utensils, 1 cup, no mugs, dirty cracked/chipped plates. Noisy air conditioner/heater. Lazy river not clean. Live-ins on premises noisy & ?able. Poorly lit. No breakfast, no coffee maker. Front desk staff incompetent & "not my job" types. Saw 2 vacationers having major issues on check-in...both left for other accommodations. New "swim up" will be for alcoholic beverages. Do they really want a bunch of drunks hanging out at a "family motel"? STAY AWAY! This is not "By The Sea" 2013 visits do not describe "Castaway Beach".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    14
    8
    30
See reviews for
46
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beach front location nice. Carpet filty, water running down walls, noisy a/c. The web site is very deceiving. Rooms look nothing like what the web site post. Very noisy, lots of construction. We were not told all the construction was going on when we made the reservations. Pool not open and the lazy river was very dirty. Management not very friendly!!! We had to go round and round with lady on duty about our room. Requested 2nd floor and she wanted to put us on 1st floor. When you looked out sliding glass doors all you saw was broken concrete and pile of dirt. Would not recommend this place to any one!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beach front location is nice. However, save your money and DO NOT STAY HERE unless you see it first. Just received a new color brochure advertising Castaway Beach Inn. A new name does not a decent hotel make. New brochure last year lured us in and we spent 3 miserable days there and extra charges on our bill. Unless a new pool was installed, it is NOT A HEATED POOL. Dirty stained carpets. Bed up on phone books. Mold in bathroom. Stove & coffee pot did not work.Very limited utensils and dishes.The only way to improve it is to tear it down to the ground and start over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not family, friendly!!! Please don't be bring kids!! It is a dump!! People live on site and the pictures online are not how it looks in person!! The rooms are all in one so if you take kids you will need a second room. No bath tub, only stand up showers, unhappy!! I would not recommend to any one!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

originally found this place while looking for a place to stay with a small dog. It is not a fancy place, but was clean and the staff friendly. It reminded me of coming to North Myrtle Beach as a kid. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes the price was decent but this place was a dump. Needs to be condemned. Carpet stunk and stained, bed linens were damaged. Terrible odor. One of the maids wanted to fight over a kite that got stuck on our balcony. Said it was hers and she was going to get it. Overall the motel looked like we were in the getto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Rock, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Another hotel sent us here for one night because of confusion with our reservation. Bikers partying all night, BBQing in the parking lot, and letting off fireworks. Could not have slept even if we had been comfortable and felt safe. We had a kitchenette. Sparing amount of dishes and one spoon. Loud window A/C. Fleas in one of the beds. NEVER AGAIN! Please do not stay here especially if you have children!!!! We tried to check out at 7 a.m. but no one was in the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#5 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn North Myrtle Beach
La Quinta Inn North Myrtle Beach
#27 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach - Harbourgate
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach -...
#20 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#9 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North Myrtle Beach
Comfort Inn North Myrtle Beach
#23 of 55 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Address: 1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.