We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Beach Inn to your Saves list
Castaway Beach Inn
1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Cleveland, Georgia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beach front location is nice. However, save your money and DO NOT STAY HERE unless you see it first. Just received a new color brochure advertising Castaway Beach Inn. A new name does not a decent hotel make. New brochure last year lured us in and we spent 3 miserable days there and extra charges on our bill. Unless a new pool was installed, it is NOT A HEATED POOL. Dirty stained carpets. Bed up on phone books. Mold in bathroom. Stove & coffee pot did not work.Very limited utensils and dishes.The only way to improve it is to tear it down to the ground and start over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    11
    7
    25
See reviews for
31
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not family, friendly!!! Please don't be bring kids!! It is a dump!! People live on site and the pictures online are not how it looks in person!! The rooms are all in one so if you take kids you will need a second room. No bath tub, only stand up showers, unhappy!! I would not recommend to any one!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

originally found this place while looking for a place to stay with a small dog. It is not a fancy place, but was clean and the staff friendly. It reminded me of coming to North Myrtle Beach as a kid. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton NC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes the price was decent but this place was a dump. Needs to be condemned. Carpet stunk and stained, bed linens were damaged. Terrible odor. One of the maids wanted to fight over a kite that got stuck on our balcony. Said it was hers and she was going to get it. Overall the motel looked like we were in the getto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Rock, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Another hotel sent us here for one night because of confusion with our reservation. Bikers partying all night, BBQing in the parking lot, and letting off fireworks. Could not have slept even if we had been comfortable and felt safe. We had a kitchenette. Sparing amount of dishes and one spoon. Loud window A/C. Fleas in one of the beds. NEVER AGAIN! Please do not stay here especially if you have children!!!! We tried to check out at 7 a.m. but no one was in the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It isn't the Ritz Carleton but served the purpose.Clean rooms,housekeeping I felt was very good,always got clean towels,nice view with private balcony.Friendly staff.Depends what you're looking for,but I found rates affordable.Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed this family run hotel it took me back to my childhood days when most hotels along the strip were small family run business. The pool wasn't open until our last day there which was a let down for the kids alas they could play in the ocean. It was my first time back to myrtle beach as an adult with children and my husband's first time ever . The rooms could use an update but hey the price can't be knocked. We also enjoyed the nearby mini-put and the quietness of that area of the beach (away from the crowds) lots of shells

Room Tip: three floor so you have the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Address: 1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.