We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Beach Inn to your Saves list
Castaway Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Eagle Rock, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Another hotel sent us here for one night because of confusion with our reservation. Bikers partying all night, BBQing in the parking lot, and letting off fireworks. Could not have slept even if we had been comfortable and felt safe. We had a kitchenette. Sparing amount of dishes and one spoon. Loud window A/C. Fleas in one of the beds. NEVER AGAIN! Please do not stay here especially if you have children!!!! We tried to check out at 7 a.m. but no one was in the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    12
    7
    30
See reviews for
36
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield,Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It isn't the Ritz Carleton but served the purpose.Clean rooms,housekeeping I felt was very good,always got clean towels,nice view with private balcony.Friendly staff.Depends what you're looking for,but I found rates affordable.Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed this family run hotel it took me back to my childhood days when most hotels along the strip were small family run business. The pool wasn't open until our last day there which was a let down for the kids alas they could play in the ocean. It was my first time back to myrtle beach as an adult with children and my husband's first time ever . The rooms could use an update but hey the price can't be knocked. We also enjoyed the nearby mini-put and the quietness of that area of the beach (away from the crowds) lots of shells

Room Tip: three floor so you have the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for a small, family friendly hotel with a pool, lazy river (80 degree water), and oceanfront view and access to the ocean than you have the perfect place in By The Sea. It's not upscale, but affordable, quiet, and has just what you need to enjoy the beach that you came to see. The stay is not all about where you stay, but enjoying the location and atmosphere. We are a family of 4 and haven't been to the beach in 3 years. When we came down this past week we wanted to spend most of our money on the activites and food around the beach. By The Sea wasn't too expensive and the management there was on the ball. Anything we needed help with or fixed they were right on it. It's little things like missing drain stopper, needed towel rod, loose handle to the patio oceanfront lookout, but nothing that couldn't be fixed if brought attention to. It was built in 1960 so it's got some wear and tear to the building but you'll have that with time. Noone can help the salt corrosion that happens down at the beach. The pools are always cleaned in the morning before 10 so you have all day to play. The beaches aren't filled with shells so it's soft to step on. The water is like any other part of the beach and it has a few jellyfish, but plenty of shells to pick up. I can't say anything negative about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This oceanfront motel is family owned and accepts pets in a limited number of rooms. It reminds me of old school hospitality. They even still use real keys! The bedcovers are delightfully tacky and carpet is worn, but the room was clean. Our blessing was we got the last room, 2 queens ocean view with an efficiency kitchen to boot, for 100 bucks! Amazing at high season on the north beach, which is quieter than the strip 20 minutes away and tends to cater more to families. Ask about discounts. So if you're looking for friendly service and a refreshing, clean swim, this could be the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

very nice places to stay. took my little girl and she had fun. the room was very clean and I always had what I needed. I was on ocean side very nice housekeeper ,I think her name was sean she cleaned room very good and very friendly lady.i will be back I felt right at home, and that means a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

i had such an amazing time here very friendly very clean great location i def will be back this place made my weekend i could not think of any other place that i would rather stay when i come to the beach staff was great always someone to help me clean pool mrs jackie was amazing cant wait to come back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Address: 1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.