We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very satisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Castaway Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castaway Beach Inn
1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 53 hotels in North Myrtle Beach
granitefalls
1 review
“Not very satisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

one thing iwe have to say is that the lady at the front desk was very friendly.We were able to check in at 900am due to the rain.It was very pet friendly.But to me it was not worth what i paid for,when we got into the room both of the beds were made up the room was not vacumed the bathroom was clean but only had two towles and one washcloth in the bathroom.The tub was stained with some kind of brown stuff which i would not have taken a bath anyway.The shower was really low both me and my husband had to lean down to take a shower.A couple of times i found a few roaches in the bathroom.Before the maid came in to clean the room I pulled the sheets off both beds because thier was sand in one bed and i spilt water on the other sheets so i wanted clean sheets.So i threw the comforters on the other bed.So she made up one bed and forgot to finish the other or just did not have enough top sheets to go around.This room did not have an exhaust fan in the bathroom nor a phone in the room nor a alarm clock.The door had a 2 finger gap in the bottom that let the cold air in that friday night,we had to turn the heat on. The hotel need major repairs all around.I will not stay thier again.

Friends





Solo


























When did you travel? Select one April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    10
    4
    23
See reviews for
27
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

First the staff was excellent and very friendly. We felt like we were at a vacation with our family. Not only were the front office staff helpful but all the guest were just as friendly. The rooms were very clean. The manager was a sweet lady and willing to do anything we needed or wanted. The pool was very nice and the kids loved the lazy river.I might add that at a much larger hotel you wouldn't get such personal service. Noone seemed to feel out of place, it was like an old fashioned family reunion. The young man that took care of the grounds was very willing to be of service. Overall great managment, service, and comfort. It is also great to be able to bring along my puppy. ( house broken). I dont care for kennels. Lovely family motel. Alrady have reservations for 2012. Thanks Mrs. Jackie

Room Tip: Let the manager know exactly what you are lookig for and she will make sure you get it. they are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

this hotel is a hidden gem the rooms are very clean and the staff is awesome. if you want value for your money this is the place. right on the beach may i say also 2 pools 1 being a lazy river.they are also pet friendly few and far between to find especially on the beach!!!!!

Room Tip: any room you get here is good all have a veiw and are super clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rooms were dirty, beds were ancient, linens were new, shower didn't work and refrigerator rusty on the outside. Was without water for one day. The place looks like a motel out of the 1960s! Picture a motel that has never been maintained from the 1960s and you've got By the Sea!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

There is good and bad. The location on the beach is great and the pool was good and well maintained. But., the motel facility is pretty well run out and on its last legs. The exterior cleanliness is marginal and there are many items that are well past due for maintenance and upgrading. The concrete door sills are deteriorating and crumbling with the debris remaining. This could easily be repaired at little cost including an afternoon with a power washer. The rooms are stale and in need of some ceiling and wall repair and paint would do wonders. The window style A/C works well, but they are extremely noisy. Thread bare towels should have been converted to cleaning rags long ago and a trip to Costco for towels is way past due. There is a bit of a 50's feel, but the odor matches. The room is useable, but retained a musty, previously smoked-in odor. There was an array of add-on charges, not the least of which was a phone charge for an old phone that did not work in our room.
It appears that the facility is being run out prior to selling expensive land for new development. Too bad.
In any other location, this would compare to a $29-$39 room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The management here was awesome, so very nice and helpful and several times when we had family members looking for us and they were calling, the management would see us pull in and come let us know someone had been calling for us. Even had one family member that was worried because she couldn't get ahold of my mom and management went to check on her and make sure she was okay. We had two rooms, one ocean front and one ocean view (the only rooms where pets are accepted). The oceanfront room was nice, the ocean view could have used some updating. The a/c in both rooms was excellent which is a top priority for us and the rooms were clean, with housekeeping doing an excellent job each day. Any problems that we had were addressed right away. The only complaint I have is that they are a few parking spaces short of having enough for all the rooms. They stated that they are working on that, and make sure to find you space to park even if it's not an "official" space. We didn't have any problems with our pet which was also very important. This motel is a great value and very reasonable. It's not a resort, but allowed us to do a lot of other fun things with the money we saved. The family loved the pool and the lazy river. Was nice to be in North Myrtle Beach and not in the chaos that is Myrtle Beach. We went there a couple times, then came back to our nice peaceful area.

Room Tip: If you're not traveling with pets, be sure to get an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

This was our first time stayin at this hotel. The rooms need to be updated asap. Our room was in an excellent location as we overlooked the lazy river. Beautiful view of the ocean as well. We were able to check in early which was a plus for us! The air conditioner was great. The bathtub appeared as if it were coming away from the wall and the floor in the bathroom was coming up. There was mold on the shower curtain and the shower head was made for midgets!! All of that is not a big deal though. The beds were very comfortable. Like I stated, the rooms needs to be updated and some repairs need to be done. I will probably stay here again due to the location. All staff were friendly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Address: 1717 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.