We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding Choice in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Oustanding Choice in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a great hotel and a perfect choice for a family vacation.

We arrived at 5:00 p.m. and were quickly checked in by the hotel manager who happened to be working the front desk when we got there. We were checked in very quickly. As an added bonus as a Best Western Rewards member, we were given a bag containing guides and coupons for the area. That was a nice touch.

There are three buildings here. We were assigned to the third floor of the main building where reception is located. Another taller building is right next door and the third is a few buildings down and is known as the annex.

Our room was outstanding. We had two beds including a king for myself and my wife and a twin for my son who had his own room. We had a balcony facing the ocean which we spent several hours on just enjoying the view. The bathroom was a good size and we also had a kitchenette. That came with ample pots and pans, plates and utensils. We didn’t use it much (who wants to cook on vacation?) but it was there if we wanted to use it. The refrigerator was a good size.

There were two pools and a lazy river. They aren’t that deep (five feet max) but that’s good since so many children stay here. Beach access is a few steps away and it’s a really nice beach. Not too crowded even on a holiday weekend.

What really impressed me with this place was the cleanliness. I mean spotless! That includes our room, common areas and the pools. The place is well maintained even though the common areas are starting to show a bit of age and could use a facelift. Our room was fine.
Breakfast was good. It gets quite crowded. The staff kept everything well stocked even after 10:00 when service officially ended. There is seating both inside and outside but we always managed to find a seat. It helped that guests were pretty civil to each other and the constant restocking certainly helped that.

The staff we encountered was always polite and caring. The front desk always said hello to us and asked if we needed anything. Parking was ample and there a few lots to choose from which are a short walk away. We never had a problem parking even when returning to the hotel late at night. Kudos to the hotel for that as parking is always in short supply at a beach resort area.

Not much in terms of stores or restaurants near the hotel. There is a convenience store across the street and an Irish pub a few blocks away. Otherwise, you’ll need to drive but there are plenty of restaurant choices not that far away.

This is a great choice in the Myrtle Beach area. This area is quieter than the main areas of Myrtle Beach. The beach is about the same as you would find a much more expensive hotels south of this one. I’m not one for crowds so this hotel was just right for us.

Overall, an outstanding stay and my family and I look forward to returning here next summer…

Room Tip: Stay in either the main building or the one next door to it. They have ocean views. The annex buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    276
    98
    47
    38
See reviews for
297
294
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As with all Best Western Hotel, the OceanSands Beach Resort is clean and well kept. The staff was friendly during check in but somewhat cold at check out. The housekeepers and maintenance staff always had a friendly smile and berating when they meet you in the halls.
The complimentary breakfast was similar to ones served in other Best Westerns. However the room for breakfast is small for the size of the hotel resulting in long lines.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the ocean view rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover,MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love this place. our family have been coming to this hotel for past 6 years. checking staff are friendly and helpful. I love their new hot meals that they serving ham , sasuages, eggs, home fries and other what best western served. House keeping are very nice. make your stay warm .I will return to this hotel again next year. Thank you to all of staff at ocean sands beach resorts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We needed a room in Myrtle Beach for one night until we could get in the timeshare unit we rented. The hotel was rated 3 stars on last minute travel and had good reviews. To say the least we were disappointed and couldn't wait to check out. First let me say this...the room was very spacious and clean, everything else was downhill from there. The stairwell and outside grounds needed work. The lazy river was about the size that toddlers would enjoy. Pool was also small. Closest restaurant, which was an Irish sports bar was a block away. Other than that you would need to drive. Free breakfast buffet was poorly laid out and in a small area insufficient to handle the number of guests having breakfast. I guess if you are accustomed to this, you might think the place was great, but in our eyes did not live up to other three star hotels we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 days and had a ocean view room. We did a personal inspection of the room on arrival and haven't come across a cleaner room in the last 3 Best Western's we were in. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpfull. It may be a older hotel but very well kept. We wouldn't have a problem returning. The view was great and beach clean. The breakfast area was a bit small but the service was very good and there was additional seating outside on the patio. Seating was crowded depending on the time you ate breakfast. As far as another review stated about the beach beeing dirty, they must have been to another beach because the beach behind this Best Western was very clean.

Room Tip: If available ask for a ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a great experience at the Best Western. The staff was great! I was able to use the pool and beach area while waiting for my room to be ready for check-in. Everything was clean and nicely maintained. My young children had a great time in the pool area and the lazy river. I originally was going to have to move to a different room/building for my last night. The hotel staff was able to switch some things around, which allowed my to stay in the same room without additional charge. The staff was so helpful and went our of their way to make our stay comfortable. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

both the hotel's age and the clientele's. First, let me state that the staff was great, the sleep quality very good,rooms very spacious, and the cleanliness up to BWI standards. We can't say enough good thongs about the staff and their desire to stay on top of customer service. Second, hotels in the older section of North Myrtle Beach, so all have very limited parking and many are older structures. The Ocean Sands has two strikes against it based on the above referenced age issue--poor parking, even for check-in, and poorer elevator access w/ stifling heat issues, My husband is eligible for handicap parking, yet we mostly had to park in remote parking where, after dropping him off, I had to walk back alone on poorly lit, rough sidewalks in the late night. Even the registration office spaces stay full and we had to back into the highway to get out after checking in. The other couple that joined us could not get into the parking for registration at all and had to park remotely, leaving the car running with a handicapped spouse inside and out of view. The elevator in South Tower has such a narrow, short enclosure on ground level that it's extremely hard to use the luggage dolly and even the upper floors have tight access. So, older folks without super strength will either have a hard time turning the dolly in tight corners or will have to make repeated trips to hand carry luggage. Another issue with the elevator spaces is the pocketed, un-vented air which is stifling in summer...especially when you're waiting on an elevator that goes all the way up and all the way down regardless of floor demand. in my opinion, this hotel would be fine for younger folks. But I think the issues I've addressed are far more impactful on seniors and the handicapped.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.