We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Still a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've been coming to this hotel for the last 10+ years, mostly during the Christmas season. My parents live nearby so it's nice to have our own space.

This year the price seems to have jumped higher than usual- it was typically about $55/night all in and our total bill was about $66/night this time.

We still enjoy the balcony on the ocean and the kitchen facilities. We've always been put in the tower, across the parking lot- it can be a bit of a pain when you're moving in and out. They provide baggage carts but there's so little room to maneuver them we ended up wheeling them out into the street to get to the tower elevator.

Everything was clean, and family members who own the hotel were usually at the front desk. Breakfast is fine- a few hot items every day. Parking could be a problem in peak season- even when we were there we had to use the overflow lot across the street a couple of times. They'd blocked off a couple of very convenient spaces right in front of the hotel for "loading and unloading" only, whcih didn't help.

One improvement is that they've finally replaced the exercise machines in the Fitness Center. Even in December, I was able to run on the beach a couple of days so I can see why the Fitness Center might be a low priority- little need for it. The machines they had, though, were in dismal shape and had been for years. There's now a new treadmill, elliptical trainer and stationary bike. I was grateful to have them on one particularly stormy day.

We may do some checking before our next trip to see what other hotels fall into this price range, but would still stay at this one if their prices are competitive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    219
    75
    39
    36
See reviews for
239
203
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski Va.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Sorry for the late review but we stayed at this hotel the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. We did not plan on staying here as we had reservations in Myrtle but having decided to go a day early we decided on this hotel for a one night stay. We normally stay in BW hotels if possible as we generally can find what we want at a great rate. For the night we reserved a suite as we travel as a family of five and this suite was perfect for our needs. Plenty of room with a great view.

Our only knocks on the hotel was the indoor pool was not usable on a cold windy day as the door would not stay closed and the wind would freeze you in a second. The hotel was spotless, the staff was great, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast especially due to the great service provided by the women working the breakfast bar.

The only other knock is that the hotel is dated and could use a refreshing. We were not great fans of the plastic covered sofa. All in all the hotel met our needs well for the short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We usually LOVE BW properties however.....
Stayed in the smaller tower. This is a very old property and it shows. The carpets were dirty, bathroom had mold and crcking seal around showers. Parking was so so. A short walk across the street to be exact. The ocean view winder was very very small. The staff were pretty nice, however, this property is an embarrassment to the BW name. It should be renovotaed or sold to a Motel Grade brand. Exterior Corridors.We did not feel very safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wheb I come to North Mrytle I always stay at this hotel. Never have any problems with the service or quality of what I'm receiving. I would stay here again. It's in a fairly quiet area of North Myrtle and it's located right on the beach! Heated pools and hot tubs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a great stay at his hotel. View is outstanding. I reserved the suite , and it was very nice. Much more room than just a basic room. Nice balcony overlooking the ocean. Open the patio doors and just listen to the ocean. That's worth everything. Rooms for very clean, very nice. Staff was very nice it was good breakfast. Breakfast was included in the room price. Location is great for North Myrtle Beach. Of course, this time of year in Myrtle Beach, it is pretty dead.

I would totally recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

WAS the third time we stayed there. Love the view of the ocean from the rooms balconey Its clean, and well maintained. Has an elavator, indoor pool, full hot breakfeast. Rooms offer a small kitchen, with fridge, sink, stove, and microwave, coffee maker, iron. The forth day we decided to check out a day early due to rain. The woman at the desk informed us that we would still have to pay even though Iinformed her at 800 AM. It took a phone call to my credit card Bank and it was resolved

Room Tip: Check out the room before you un pack. And inquire about early check out policies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family recently had to be in North Myrtle Beach under less than pleasant circumstances. We cannot say enough about the treatment we received from the staff here and are very appreciative.

As for the hotel, the property is large with two ocean front buildings. The facilities were clean and the rooms were nice and clean down to the sanitized remote control. We had a comfortable ocean view room with a balcony. The only recommendation would be to unload your passengers and bags while parked in temporary parking adjacent to or under the building as the parking lot is located across the street.

I would definitely recommend this hotel when visiting North Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.