We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Dreaming

California Dreaming
10429 North Kings Highway, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
843.663.2050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Voted “Best Traditional American Restaurant” by WMBF News and “Best of the Beach” by The Sun News. California Dreaming serves up huge portions of fresh, made from scratch fare such as award winning salads, slow-cooked prime rib and “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs. Offering private dining options with no room fees and no minimum purchase; spacious patio; large party carry-out and catering/delivery; and late night bar bites. Located 1/4 mile south of Barefoot Landing.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get the ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Short wait at 8 pm, waitress was hard to find and service was spotty, the food on the other hand was great . Three of the party got the all you can eat ribs and they were very good . Menu has a wide variety and their house dressing is a must have , we will eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    69
    46
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

1st time eating in this restaurant. Loved the food and server very friendly. It's was very busy but our food did not take long to be served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice start to the holiday weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited family in North Myrtle Beach for three days including the 4th of July and four of us went to California Dreaming for a quick dinner. Despite the number of people waiting outside for tables, we were immediately seated when we agreed to sit at a high table in the bar area. Our family members and we were greeted immediately by our server and our orders came in a reasonable amount of time. This was a very nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had eaten at the one in Columbia and loved it years ago! It was a busy nite, but it seemed with the time of year there would have been extra servers. It looked like our server had another large party at the same time, it was unfair to her. It took a long time to even get our drinks. The food was ok, the potato soup was good like I remembered, but not hot enough to melt the cheese. Don't think we will go back during this time of year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at California Dreaming, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations and did not live up to our own high standards. We know that you have many dining choices and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was very good but our service was a little slow. I think our server was new. I would still go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to California Dreaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Dreaming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.