We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in SouthShore Villas unit 904 it is in horrible condition and be wary of booking with Grand Strand Resorts” 1 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Shore Villas
Save
You added South Shore Villas to your Saves list
1401 S Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay in SouthShore Villas unit 904 it is in horrible condition and be wary of booking with Grand Strand Resorts”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We have stayed at SouthShore Villas 3 times (but not in the last 2 years). The first 2 times we stayed there SouthShore Villas was new and therefore very clean but this year the unit we stayed in 904 was in horrible condition! When we arrived we noticed throw-up or something else very gross all on the side of 1 of the mattresses and box spring and on the carpet and on the undersurface of the comforter which had then been placed back on the newly made up bed and therefore was on the top sheet. I immediately called Grandstrand Resorts to tell them about it and ask that a new mattress and box spring be brought over as well as the carpet cleaned, comforter cleaned and sheets changed. They came and cleaned the carpet but the stain had been on there too long and did not come out. They changed the sheets and took the comforter away and did absolutely nothing about the mattress! Luckily we did not need that bed but there was a second bed in that room that we did need so someone had to sleep in there with a disgusting mattress. Also, we had to look for the tv remote and therefore ended up looking under the couch and under the cushions...big mistake. There was tons of old food under the cushions and couch. Keep in mind the cleaning people are supposeed to be changing the sheets on the sleeper sofas but there is no way they could have done that otherwise there would not have been food on top of the sleeper sofa because it would have fallen off when they opened the bed. The dining room chairs were all stained and the outdoor furniture was moldy. The toilet in 1 bathroom had been leaking from the tank for so long that the molding around the floor in the bathroom was rotten. One of the other toilets ran all the time. The dishwasher wheels fell off every time you pulled out the bottom rack. This unit was so poorly maintained that I feel sorry for the people who own it because Grand Strand Resorts is supposed to be taking care of it for them. I contacted Grand Strand Resorts by email 2 times to tell them how upset I was at the condition of the unit and they did not respond!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Since it has fewer units but a pool the same size as Cresent Shores and Ashworth, it's far less crowded. The complex was kept very clean and the condo we stayed in was really nicely decorated and clean.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We have taken family vacation to Myrtle beach for the past 15 years. We have stayed at South Shore Villas the past 4 years since the opened in 2005. Each year we rent a 3 bedroom and we may have other family member rent addiotnal units. The best thing about this place is that the beach in not too crowded, There is a new complex built next store that could change that some, but with only 56 units, you can enjoy the beach and keep track of your kids. The pool and lazy river are nice and I could sit in one spot and keep an eye on the kids. Parking is better than many other facilies in that the first floor will allow vehicles with cargo carriers. For the most part the units have been clean and well maintained,

  • Liked — Not crowded
  • Disliked — Longer drive to MB attractions
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed at southshore villa PH1 on fall break. We rented from a member of VRBO and this was my first mistake. We were only given one contact phone number. I made arrangements and paid 7 months prior to arrival. 1 month before arrival, we received the entry code. When we got there, the entry code didnt work. We attempted to reach the owner (long distance) on our cell phones 3 times before she finally answered. She had given us the wrong entry code with no apologies. It worked, but the keys inside were very tricky to work but we finally got in-- to find a very broken up and uncleaned room. We attempted to call the owner again due to the sheets and dirty towels laying in the kitchen floor and feces remaining in the commode. After 2 more long distance calls, she answered. Said she would send the cleaning crew. After another hour or two of waiting, the crew showed up- intoxicated. To make a long story short, we got into the room 5 hours after check in time and had to sign a service agreement because of the cleaning. It stated that the broken TV would be replaced the next day (but never happened). Also, we were told we would get a free midweek cleaning due to all the problems (but never happened). The owner will not answer calls from me and now it seems that her email has been suspended too. I have always used VRBO before with no problems, but now I recommend a management company. It would have been nice to have had someone I could of gone to when we were standing in the hall attempting to get into the room. The overall condo complex was nice enough, pools were clean and guests were courteous.

  • Liked — The quaint location with a great view
  • Disliked — The lack of available assistance (never found anyone to assist with checkin)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

The unit we had 1104 worked well for our family of 10. We had 4 bedrooms and 4 baths; plenty of room. The main issue of the whole vacation was the way the unit was upon arrival. NOT TOO CLEAN. My bathroom had fingernails all over the rug--so I know that room was not vacuumed. The carpet under the table in the dining room was full of junk too we had to vacuum that ourselves. So, the cleaning of the unit has alot to be desired. We rented from Grand Strand Resorts. My suggestion to them is to work on the maid staff they are not cleaning the whole unit!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

We decided to try a different condo for this years beach vacation. We stayed the week of July 14th, Check in was not too bad compared to other places we have stayed in the area. The condo was very nice ( could have been cleaner at check in though). Both pools, lazy river, and jacuzzi were very clean. The beach was not crowded, but another condo was under construction next door. All together, this was one of our best beach trips to North Myrtle.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of Pools
  • Disliked — Room needed to be vaccumed at check in
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

This is my 4th year at Southshore Villas in N. Myrtle beach. We love this oceanfront property. Ample parking, large pool, nice lazy river and hot tub. The units are large, clean and well equipped. This year however, was less than expected. We had reserved 3 condos at this property. Together my family paid $7,000. to enjoy the small private complex. There is a beach house directly next door without a pool or hot tub. The beach house had a party of 18-20 who decided to invade our facilities and take over the hot tub, pool and lazy river. We had 2 children in our party who tried for 30 minutes to obtain a raft for the lazy river, only to be informed by our neighbors that they also had to wait. This continued for 2 days. We approached the lifeguard on duty and she informed us that the beach house guest were not entitled to use our facilities. We contacted The Noble Co., who manages the Southshore property and they sent a manager over. The police were called and the beach house guests were asked to leave. One of the beach house guest, (the leader, who I believe is associated with the rental company for the beach house) approached me and my daughter and made a scene at the pool using profanity and made threats to my daughter and I. The leader claims she owns the beach house and is entitled to use the facilities at Southshore. The management company and the police advised her not to come back or she would be cited for trespassing. The next day their was a different lifeguard on duty, and again the lady from the beach house came back to Southshore and created another scene. The rental rate for the beach house is less than half of what the guest pay for a unit at Southshore. The police and management from the Noble Co. arrived and the lady was given a trespassing citation and escorted from Southshore. There is open access to Southshore from the beach and also from the street. When planning a vacation and Southshore Villas is an option, please be aware that even though the complex is small and you think you will have ample pool, lazy river and hot tub access, think again. The lady from the beach house is somehow associated with the rental company that rents the beach house and has pulled this trick numerous times. Until security measures have improved be prepared for unwanted visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Shore Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Villas

Address: 1401 S Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
South Shore Villas Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.