We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront Penthouse 1512” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Vista Grande

Save Saved
You added Mar Vista Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mar Vista Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   603 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Summer Savings of 33%
South Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Penthouse 1512”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a 3 bedroom/3 bath condo. Overall the condo was beautiful. It was clean and well decorated. Our room was ready on time but due to a housekeeping shortage a lot of people had to wait until 6 to get into their rooms. Our condo was oceanfront and had a wonderful view and a big balcony although I was wishing the balcony furniture was nicer. We had a plexiglass table and plastic chairs- it would have been nice to have some sort of lounge chair to relax on. The carpet was white but very clean. The master bath was beautiful with granite countertops and lots of storage space it also had a Jacuzzi tub, double sinks and a huge shower. I wish the lighting was a little better over the sinks. The master bedroom was big with 2 closets and a king size bed but the tv was really small (13 inches) although it did have a dvd player. The mattress was not very comfortable, the pillows were flat and the comforter was very dated. The 2nd bedroom had 2 twin beds. The bed closest to the window was squeaky but the other bed seemed fine. The pillows again were flat and the comforter needs updating. There is a 13 inch tv in this bedroom as well but you could only see it from the squeaky bed and there was no dvd player. The 2nd bathroom is across the hall and it had a deep soaking tub which was very nice. The 3rd bedroom had a queen size bed and was very comfortable but again the pillows were flat and the comforter needs updating. This room also had 13 inch tv with a dvd player and an attached bath with a soaking tub. The kitchen was well stocked with stainless steel appliances and any kitchen item you may need including a blender and a toaster. There was also a wine cooler/bar area although a panel door was missing from the bar area. There was also bar stools and a nice dining room table. This unit also had a fold out couch which we did not use and the tv was larger in this room but no dvd player. There is also a stacked washer and dryer in the unit. The owner of the unit had a scrabble game and various books and magazines as well. On the 1st day I accidentally locked myself out of the unit while unloading groceries and the rest of my family was on the beach. Housekeeping stayed with my things while I went to the 5th floor and Alex the security guard verified my info and was able to give me another key to get into the unit. Alex was very understanding and efficient!
We brought and/or bought everything we needed- paper towels, dish soap, laundry detergent, etc. which made our stay more enjoyable.
We did request extra towels from housekeeping for the pool and they would not give us any extra. They counted all of our dirty towels and washcloths and would only exchange clean for dirty.
There is no restaurant on site but you are close to everything here. The Kroger is a 5 minute drive away as well as various restaurants that will deliver to your hotel so no problem there.
We have an SUV and parking was never an issue. The elevators are fast and security is everywhere so we felt very safe. We didn't eat or have drinks at the pool bar.
The pools were clean and well maintained and the hot tubs were nice too. I really enjoyed the lazy river.
Overall I would stay at this property again just wishing some items (as mentioned above) were more updated.
(I will post pics and a video soon as well)

Room Tip: Penthouse 1512 oceanfront was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to discuss your stay in a three bedroom oceanfront penthouse condo at the Mar Vista Grande Resort. It is awesome that you found your room clean and nicely decorated with a well-stocked kitchen. We are also pleased that you felt safe with our security system and that you were able to enjoy our well- maintained pools, hot tubs, and lazy river. We invite you and your family back for another stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    60
    17
    13
    3
See reviews for
137
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in unit 803 ( June 25-July 2, 2013), 4 adults + 5 children under the age of 11.
Clean, convenient with 3 bathrooms and showers, very polite staff.
You have to be prepared for the following things:
- there is no housekeeping , just daily towel change and garbage disposal;
- you have to ask for toilet paper and tissues or just buy what you need to avoid hassles;
- there is nothing within walking distance: groceries, etc...
- umbrella, chair rental on the beach is controled by the city and costs a lot ( 10 dollars for a chair);
Overall, a very good experience, no bugs or anything gross. Nice decor and furniture. The mattress in the master bedroom was cheap and uncomfortable. Extra pillows and blankets in the closets helped for comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your summer vacation at the Mar Vista Grande Resort. It is wonderful to hear that you were happy with the clean unit, nice furniture/decor, and polite staff. As you saw, we have no problem providing toilet paper on request, and we are just six blocks away from shopping venues, grocery stores, and amusement attractions. We welcome you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our unit was clean, spacious, and had well pointed amenities. 4th of July week we were expecting a large crowd but were pleasantly surprised to find the amount of room of the pool deck. We found that the resort had started a wristband program to help control the un-welcomed guests coming in off the beach. There was a property employee keeping a watchful eye on the wristbands. I also noticed when we came back one evening a little late and the kids were being loud the security requested us to please keep the noise down in the halls, which we didn't mind at all. We would expect the same thing if we were in our rooms trying to sleep. We will continue to choose Mar Vista as our annual vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to your Fourth of July stay at the Mar Vista Grande. We are so happy you found the unit spacious and clean and took advantage well-appointed amenities. We take pride providing good building security, so we require resort staff to enforce policies to ensure guest safety. Thank you so much for visiting us and continuing to choose us for your annual preferred vacation accomodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were/still are in room 705. We paid almost $1300 for a two day stay July 5th & 6th. I expected more for our money. This is a AAA 4 Diamond property. While the décor, furnishings and oceanfront room looked good, the building itself is more of a 1 star. You can hear the toilet flushing from the room above, housekeepers vacuuming two doors down and when my husband took a 6am shower, we were all woken up from the plumbing. The sound was so loud our 5 year old woke up crying. We have a 3 bedroom oceanfront and at night even if you are in the back bedroom you can hear ppl at the beach. The windows and walls are just now sound enough. The back bedrooms have a window each and the light from the hallway pours through the blinds.

Upon check in the front desk made such a big deal out of wearing the wrist bands at the pool, but everyone from their mother to brother came off the beach to swim. There was no security. The no pet policy went out the door too. I saw a lady carrying 2 small dogs under her arm all weekend, not that I am opposed to pets. It just showed that they didn't withhold their own rules at all. The lost and found area was full of the white hotel towels. I put those in a big pile and they are still sitting there today. No one came to collect them, yet the hotel has "green" signs everywhere. They don't clean every day and now I see that they are taking your overpaid money and not paying for housekeeping.

I complained to management that we didn't feel we were getting our moneys worth but she said that the beach was booked up from end to end and this is what to expect. I told her I expected more from a 4 diamond property. We have been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 20 years and I know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather N, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are pleased to hear the décor, furnishings, and oceanfront unit were all what you expected! Guest safety is a priority, so we definitely have 24 hour security on the premises. We also provide trash removal and towel exchange on a daily basis. We currently have a pool monitor on duty to make sure that area is properly maintained. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent a week in the middle of June celebrating our twin daughters 16th Birthday along with three of their friends. The condo couldn't have been nicer! Ocean front balcony with lovely furniture, three bedrooms, three bathrooms - beautiful, well equipped kitchen - three flat screen tv's (one huge!) - spacious master bedroom with AMAZING bath! The rooms were well planned, two bedrooms (including the master) with bathrooms within, one with bathroom across hallway which would be great for visiting guests (no sneaking through someone's bedroom)! Washer and dryer, broom/dustpans for sand, vacuum, ironing board and iron, everything you could ever need to cook or eat with (including a blender)...we were SO happy!

Went looking for a hair dryer in the unit and called the desk when none was found - they loaned us a brand new one for the week! The towel service worked fine too - the girls slept a bit late (teenagers!) and the staff was kind enough to bring plenty of fresh towels, etc. within minutes of a call!

We got in VERY early on our arrival day (a Wednesday for the best airfare from Boston) and went straight to the property (about 8:30 AM) - I knew the room wouldn't be ready though they said they'd see what they could do and recommended a terrific pancake house around the corner which was just what we needed after many hours of driving and flying! After we ate, we sat on the beach, hoping we might just get a call - and sure enough!

We were in our happy place by 11:00 AM!!! That's A++++++++ Service!

Thank you for making our vacation so special!

(Just a note - we booked our airfare first - Wednesday to Wednesday - which turned out to be rather restrictive in terms of condo rentals - being "high season" most folks in the area wanted to rent Saturday to Saturday - booking directly with this "condo hotel" was a great alternative!)

Room Tip: Ocean Front was well worth it to us! 8th floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather N, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We can't thank you enough for your rave review of your recent stay at the Mar Vista Grande Resort! We are honored you chose us for your twin daughters' 16th birthday celebration and to hear from you that the condo couldn't have been any nicer. It is awesome that our helpful staff made your stay all the more better by responding quickly and efficiently to your requests. We strive to provide top notch service to each and every guest that walks in to our resort and we are pleased we were able to make your stay so special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We just got home from our weekend stay at Mar Vista Grande. The place was beautiful. Plenty of room with large bathrooms and living spaces. Only complaints we had were the DVD players didn't have the cords to watch movies. And since it rained a lot that would have been nice. And there was only one hair dryer in the 3bed 3bath place. But overall the pools were very nice with lovely chairs with umbrellas around the pool. There was plenty of pools for children inside and out and 2 hot tubs. The lazy river and main pool were nice too. I like the location since it was far enough away from MB busyness. The beaches weren't as crowded as the strand either. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to return for a longer stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather N, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so happy you were pleased with the beautiful accommodations at the Mar Vista Grande Resort. It is great the amenities, general location of the resort, and beaches were to your liking. Thank you so much for recommending us and we invite you back to stay as long as you want with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay based on reviews people gave this rental. We were ready to check in at 3 pm but had to wait until 4:30 due to our unit not being cleaned. Once we got into condo the accommodations were not what I expected. The carpet was frayed and the bathrooms did not have hairdryers. Not the 4 star rating I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather N, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Vista Grande, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We did want to make sure everything in the unit was above your expectations. In doing so, I apologize for the delay in releasing it to you. Hair dryers are available upon request. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mar Vista Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Vista Grande

Address: 603 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Vista Grande 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a one-of-a-kind AAA Four Diamond accommodation in North Myrtle Beach, the luxurious Mar Vista Grande is everything you could want for your next beach vacation. This is the perfect beach resort for relaxing and soaking up the sun in a quiet beach atmosphere. Our comfortably spacious 3 and 4 bedroom condos are decorated with all the comforts of home perfect the for full family experience. With a host of thoughtful amenities, this makes Mar Vista Grande the ideal choice among beach vacation rentals. Such amenities include free wireless internet, free covered parking garage, indoor and outdoor pool, oceanfront tiki bar, fully equipped fitness center and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mar Vista Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Vista Grande Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Vista Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.