We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 39th Ave. Bar & Grille

39th Ave. Bar & Grille
3809 highway 17 south, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
+1 843-427-7080
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 39th Ave. Bar & Grille is a restaurant and bar located in the beautiful North Myrtle Beach Area. Serving up some of the best Sushi, Steaks, Seafood, and Drinks on the Grand Strand.  With its wonderful warm atmosphere and friendly staff,  you are sure to have a wonderful dining experience.
south carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Vey bad service . as a local there are alot of other places that are MUCH better! The food does not come out at the same time and NEW owners offer dessert for a meal that was never served ! if you visit North Myrtle beach this is like going to Myrtle Manor -- Clueless !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori I, Owner at 39th Ave. Bar & Grille, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to 39th ave bar and Grill
Please try us again as we are the new owners as of April 1 2014 and have been in the
business all our lives and have made big improvements to the food quality, service, and cleanliness of this location. Thank you
Lori and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband found this restaurant online when we were making plans for our business trip to the area. We were on a limited budget, but love sushi. This place doesn't stand out in appearance, but the happy hour had $3-$5 sushi and great beer prices, $3 glasses of wine, so we had to give it a try. You would think it would be a very limited menu to choose from, but not at all. Lots of selection and the sushi is made quickly, beautifully presented and fresh. We enjoyed each one we tried. The portions were also generous. The bartender was a cutie and very friendly and attentive. Plus, she got my husband to try sushi with asparagus, genius! We also had a basket of the grouper bites with fries for $5. Grouper was fresh and lightly breaded and fried. (Wish there was more of it.) French fries were awesome. Didn't want to eat them, but couldn't help it, they were great. If we get a chance to get back there sometime, we would make it a point to eat at 39th Avenue Bar & Grille. Everyone was friendly and nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
39thave, Owner at 39th Ave. Bar & Grille, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are proud to be the new owners of 39th Avenue Bar and Grill. We want to thank you for your patience for giving us this opportunity to represent what we believe is truly great food made from scratch daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best homemade food in town
Awesome happy hour prices for food and drinks
U can get a whole pound of crablegs for 7 bucks u can't beat that!
The staff is like family. They all know u by name and u can't tell they all work together to make sure ur happy. The whole restaurant was packed out out. And I still had a blast and left full.
Ill b back 4 sure. Recommend it to anyone.
Ask for the chefs there awesome!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad sushi and even worst decor.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon enter the doors you smell the wonderful fragrance of dirty worn carpet followed by the smell of people smoking on the patio as the doors open and close. As you wait to be seated you realize that this joint is a seat yourself place as you have members of the staff yelling across the restaurant "sit anywhere". As we sit at a table we see dust and finger prints all over a mirror and the server delivers menus. Stained and sticky. We get some happy hour sushi since well it was only $3. The soy bottles brought over were charming being I could see all the finger prints of the customers that used it before I did. The sushi was hardly worth $3 the rice was hard and had a charred flavor. Should have sticked to the place we were recommended.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori I, Owner at 39th Ave. Bar & Grille, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to 39th ave bar and Grill
Please try us again as we are the new owners as of April 1 2014 and have been in the
business all our lives and have made big improvements to the food quality, service, and cleanliness of this location. Thank you
Lori and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb Sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best sushi in the Myrtle Beach area and the rest of the menu is just as good. Great Happy Hour. Friendly service. Mostly locals, but everyone is made welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39th Ave. Bar & Grille also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 39th Ave. Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39th Ave. Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.