We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs torn down or renovated!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Tree Inn Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Red Tree Inn Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Tree Inn Oceanfront
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Wardell, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs torn down or renovated!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The only good thing this motel has that is positive is all of the rooms are ocean front. The entire bldg was rusted, out dated, and falling apart. If you can tolerate the environment, the price is good. Since there were no blankets on the beds, we were fortunate that we had one in our auto, which kept us warm at night.

Room Tip: I didn't see any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    15
    9
    28
See reviews for
24
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ludlow, vt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were very disapointed in this hotel. Everything was dirty and outdated, obviously no one takes care of this place. Room had a perfect view which was the only thing nice about this inn. Bedspread had big hole on top, carpet was so worn I wouldn't put it in a garage. Microwave was so rusted I'm sure it wasn't safe. It looks like nothing has been done in 30 years or more to this place. Outside the door the airconditioners were leaking on the roof with mold and trash piled up. I think with a little tlc they might turn it into a decent lower end place to stay. I definately would not stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You get what you pay for. Nice to be on oceanfront but room is in of repair. Management needs to spend a little to upgrade and clean the rooms. I agree with other Mixed reviews. Loved being on oceanfront but next time will probably pay a little more somewhere else to get a place that is more updated and cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

An older property that could use some repair. Paid $112 a night for oceanfront, so not bad. All rooms oceanfront. So no bad views. Just a few steps from being on beach. Maid service poor, Rooms not very clean, Dirty showers, dirty doors, simpy need some elbow grease used during cleaning. Matresses so soft I almost rolled out onto the floor. But for economy travel, this might be your place. If someone put a little money into this place it could be a gem! It is an older property and could use some upgrade. Staff very friendly! BTW the drain pipe on the beach is for storm water drainoff and are located thoughout Myrtle Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.c.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and I must say for the money I was very satisfied.True it is not the newest or largest but the room was clean, all oceanfront, and got in as soon as we arrived which was a few hours before check in.Good location. Close to mostly anything you want to do. Staff friendly.Quiet at night except for the waves! Yes appliances a little rusty but you are at the beach! unless its a new building you will indeed have a bit of rust. No big deal. In a relatively calm area in Crescent Beach. Literally steps to the ocean!Had no problems at all with doors, cleanliness,or safety.Have been before and would return!

Room Tip: If you are there for the ocean by all means GO OCEANFRONT! You will not be happy if you are unable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Appliances in the room were rusty and didn't work well. The fan/light in the bathroom was loud. WIFI was intermitten at best and the speed was more like a dialup connection. The doors were difficult to lock and unlock and the wood on the outside was peeling at the bottom. The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. With upgrades, this motel has real possibilites. The ocean view was spectacular. Probably won't stay again unless improvements are made.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have stayed at Redtree Inn seveal times and its a great value, the rooms are all oceanfront and they are clean and quite with a very nice and helpful staff! I am planing on going back again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Tree Inn Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Inn Oceanfront

Also Known As:
Red Tree Inn Oceanfront Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Red Tree Inn Oceanfront Hotel
Red Tree Hotel Oceanfront
Address: 1415 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Tree Inn Oceanfront 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Tree Inn Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Tree Inn Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.