We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 South Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 7 Nights, Pay for 4!
raleigh nc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I booked a stay with this property through Groupon for March 21st to the 24th, 2013. We decided to purchase the groupon deal based on the number of positive reviews that this Oceana resort has received. My friend had previously stayed at another Oceana property and had good things to say about it. Unfortunately it was not the case with this property. We checked in late Thursday night and was greeted with a beautiful lobby and welcoming front desk staff. She was friendly and helpful in our questions about where to find food and activities. She checked us in promptly and we were to find our room in the North Tower (or Tower 1) on the 10th floor. We proceeded to bring our bags up to the room and proceeded to enter the dreariest and grungiest room possible. We had booked a 1 bedroom unit that was equipped with 2 full beds in the bedroom, a kitchenette and living room. The rooms was in sad shape and was in need of a new paint job, drastically. The yellow walls were smeared with black marks, the floor in the kitchen was sticky and the carpet was frayed at the edges and in disrepair. This is a place where you would never take off your shoes and wore socks to bed. The room has a general funky odor, probably for being vacant for a while. I was awfully glad I brought my own Febreeze to spruce things up. The bathroom has rusty door hinges and light fixture along with anything else that was metal in there. The shower came with globs of soap/shampoo stuck to the bottom from a former occupant. The refrigerator had stains of a spill on the outside, but fortunately the inside was clean. The microwave in the kitchen made a very frightening sound when used and I was sure it was going to combust. Luckily- it didn't. The cabinets were stuck closed and the kitchen smelled like old grease. The phone's receiver in the bedroom didn't work and neither did the remote for the tv in the bedroom. I believe it probably just needed batteries. The TV were nice, flat screen versions, but HD programing was not available. The upholstered chair in the living room had a white stain on the armrest and everything in the unit was covered in a layer of dust. We received an email from management the next morning asking us how check in was. We told them truthfully but never heard back, although promised that would respond to us between the hours of 9-9. Our room was so disappointing that we checked out an entire day early. We asked the front desk for a possible refund, but was told we would have to speak to groupon. We left a message and are waiting for a return call. Its possible that the person who manages the groupon deals for this resort doesn't work on weekends. We also ordered a pizza from the hotels "North Shore Pizza Company" which tasted like stale bread with sauce and an over dose of cold cheese. What a waste of money. I have to say that the view was great... It was a direct view of the ocean and the security on this resort was in sight which made me feel good while in the parking garage. Due to all the positive reviews of this resort, I'm assuming we just got the tower or floor that has not been recently renovated. Over all, I was very disappointed in my weekend here at the Bay Watch

Room Tip: Stay clear of the North Tower! It's also furthest from the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    706
    151
    122
    84
See reviews for
741
305
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had seen the reviews of Bay Watch and decided to try it as a dog-friendly hotel. We were impressed! On check-in we were offered the opportunity to look at available suites. The first while great was a little bit high - 16th floor - so we chose the one bedroom on the 8th floor of the north tower, with bedroom, full kitchen and living room; all spotless. With discounts and dog fee, we were blown away with the affordability. The beach is right outside, and the pool deck has a number of pools and spas to choose from. We would have extended our stay if the weather forecast was better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I worked with Oceana Resorts to plan a group of 10 golfers to stay four days/nights at Baywatch Resort while on our annual golf excursion. Everything from the golfing arrangements (and multiple re-arrangements) to the resort suites to the breakfast buffet was great! This was our fourth year staying at the Baywatch Resort with a golfing group and it has typically been a real good experience. My only recommendation would be to open the breakfast buffet at 6AM, instead of 7AM, as it makes it hard for a group with an early tee time, especially if the golf course is not close by, to enjoy the breakfast before heading out. Baywatch did start the breakfast earlier (6:30AM) on Saturday and Sunday which was a big help for our group on our last day (Sunday). All in all, this is a great resort to work with when planning a golf trip. They get good rates on all the Myrtle Beach courses and they definitely take care of their guests. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have come across while traveling. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We were on honeymoon and had everything we needed I would tell anyone to stay here. The rooms were cleaned and in great order. The staff was friendly and wonderful. Any questions or concerns, which weren't any, we're answered directly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was very comfortable and very clean and there was not a musty smell in room.
The electrical outlet was not working to good. Yes i would stay at the Bay Watch Resort again,
Staff was very nice friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great stay!! The location was good. The weather was excellent this weekend so the pool was open to the public but the water was too cold for me but it was great. Only problem that I did have was the gym equipment was a little out of date but other than that it was a good stay. The staff was very helpful in every way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Extremely well maintained, every hotel employee we encountered was super friendly. We've stayed at many hotels in Myrtle Beach, and this one was the best by far, as far as convenience, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and amenities. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2701 South Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of North Myrtle Beach with more than 600 feet of pristine beach front, our resort features studio, one-, two-, three bedroom condominiums. This full service retreat offers onsite amenities such as oceanfront restaurant; beach & sports bar; oceanfront conference space; indoor/outdoor pools; lazy rivers; kiddie pools; fitness center; wireless internet and gift shop. We can accommodate groups of any size including: golf, wedding parties, sweet sixteen and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Watch Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Bay Watch Hotel Oceana
Bay Watch Myrtle Beach
Bay Watch Resort Myrtle Beach
Baywatch Myrtle Beach
Baywatch Beach Myrtle North Resort
Baywatch Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.