We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN IN THE SEA.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Fishing Fleet

Little River Fishing Fleet
1903 Hwy 17 South, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
+1 843-249-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located directly on Hwy 17 in North Myrtle Beach, ocean side. Look for the big Red and White Building. We share the building with Coastal Scuba.
Hawley, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“FUN IN THE SEA.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a great time. It was such a great value for the price. The half day trip was semi private which meant that there were only 8 other passengers besides the four of us. The captain was and his mate were so hands on with us. They were informatve and professional. We caught some wonderful black sea bass which we had to throw back immediately due to state regulations. Any other fish however you would be able to keep. My teenage sons loved the trip!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    7
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First Ocean Fishing Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Went out on the big boat with lots of others for the 5 hour trip because it was the only thing available when I got to town.. Pretty rough water.. About 2/3 of those fishing were puking after 2 hours. Ok if it was all you could do, but really wish another trip had been available. Caught about 20 small fish. Mainly sea bass.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed with SCUBA services”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I've been diving in quiet a few places so the beat up rental gear didn't bother me, it was the over crowded boat (>14 divers), the lack of help with gear change outs, and the rushing us into the water out for the shortest surface interval possible and back into the water so they could get back to the dock to pick up their afternoon divers that made me feel that this just wasn't worth the money. The crew was as nice as could be for unguided dives. BTW when they show the 2 dive sites on their website for the day its 2 dives on the same wreck in the morning and 2 dives on another wreck in the afternoon. I'm sure they are trying to save on gas but the second dive on the same wreck you've already circumnavigated 3 times is a bit boring. Perhaps I should have asked a few more questions before booking this dive.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“"Did I forget to mention…"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I made reservations for a 3/4 day trip about three weeks in advance. I selected this because it had less people on the boat and a better chance to catch different fish. "Did I forget to mention…" The day before our trip, they called me at 4:00 PM and said they didn't have enough to take a 3/4 day trip out, but there was a couple that wanted to share a private charter and it would cost twice the 3/4 day charge (do I have "stupid" stamped on my forehead?). They then told me that the half day trip only had 8 people reserved, so I decided to take the half day trip. "Did I forget to mention…" When we checked in, they told me there were 18 people on the boat. When I told the lady that at 4:00 PM I was told there were only 8 reservations, she told me they take reservations all night long (I had my wife check the forehead again…). After paying, we moved to the boat. The boat was really a SCUBA boat they were using for fishing, so the seating was limited and uncomfortable. The boat looked bad. "Did I forget to mention…" During the pre-brief, the crew told us the species we would probably catch could not be kept, but if we were lucky, we would catch other types (forehead check time). We departed the dock and it got better. The day was great, the ocean was smooth and the crew was great. After an hour run, we started fishing and everyone caught something (all Black Bass….all sizes…all thrown back….only type caught). The captain did a good job moving place to place to make sure we caught fish and the mate was helpful and entertaining...beers were $2. I ended up catching about 24 fish….the best part was watching the 2 little kids catch fish. Only positives are a great crew….bad management, troubles giving the whole truth, and an old broken boat. Find someone else to fish with.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little River Fishing Fleet also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Little River Fishing Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Fishing Fleet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.