We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, but more bad...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy Street Seafood Shack

Duffy Street Seafood Shack
9924 North King's Highway, Restaurant Row, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
843-449-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: The newest addition to the Duffy Street restaurants in MB. This one is #3 owned by the same family.
Restaurant details
Description: The newest addition to the Duffy Street restaurants in MB. This one is #3 owned by the same family.
Danville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Some good, but more bad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had read some reviews here and decided to give it a try. Good and bad from our visit. The food was pretty good. However, it took forever to come out (like 45 minutes). Server was nice and very apologetic (out of his hands), but to wait this long with a 1 year old and a 4 year old is NOT good. They were very tired and worn out by the time the food was out. No discount offered for the wait. Oh, and they didnt clean off the chairs and my wife's chair was wet and she sat in it - seemed to be a puddle of milk...so that obviously wasnt good either. Prices weren't very cheap; atmosphere was pretty tired too. Overall, I probably wouldnt recommend it or go back. Lots of other good seafood options and the food wasnt good enough to outweigh the negatives we experienced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    22
    21
    16
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WORST!! Seriously save yourself the trouble.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the worst dining experience we have ever had. Almost comical like Gordon Ramsay was hiding in the back waiting to pop out and surprise us with an episode of Food from hell or whatever it is called. We walked in and were promptly greeted by a hostess who was clearly overworked as she also turned out to be the bartender, waitress, and possibly manager?!? She couldn't have been less enthusiastic to see our party of 6 walk in despite the place being less than busy. We saw her argue with another server about who was going to have to take our table. We should have left then but as it was our last night and we had chosen the place based on positive reviews and wanting seafood so we sat and laughed it off. We were quickly served our drinks and our orders were taken promptly. Then we waited, and waited, and .....waited. We saw two other tables get up and leave disgusted with how long they had been seated. So we went to the bar and asked for refills and waited some more. Finally, we asked the manager to just let us pay for what had actually been brought to the table (drinks) and we would be on our way. We explained that we had been seated for over an hour with no food. As we were trying to leave, our food appeared so we sat. All of the fried food was soggy (think oysters, shrimp) and the hush puppies were completely raw in the middle. Several members of the party ordered the fresh fish ($20) which was supposed to be mahi but instead was some dried up piece of rubber with no flavor. The shrimp were rubbery. It was simply inedible. Bad service, bad food. I see so many positive reviews that it makes me wonder if we just went on an off week or something but it was such a bad experience I wouldn't give it another shot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Huge Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place was dead...we should have turned around as soon as we walked in the front door when there was no one in sight! The place was cold and depressing. We were hungry and ordered $100 worth of seafood...it all was the worst ever! Food came out super fast since the place was dead. On the plate it all looked great...took the first bite and all the wind was let out of our sails. Take your money to the Chesapeake House.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Food tasted fresh and home made. Great service and prices. One of our favorite places to eat. Better than most upscale seafood placed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It is what it is!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you want good beer and fried seafood and are just in the mood for some fun then this is a place for you. It is around the corner from our Ashworth condo so it is an easy walk which is a plus for us. It has outside seating which is great for people watching. and free Peanuts with your beer...yummmm. the food is ok and you get lots of it.....not for dieters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy Street Seafood Shack also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina

Been to Duffy Street Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffy Street Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.