We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Hidden Cost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added North Beach Plantation to your Saves list
North Beach Plantation
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 North Beach Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Lowest rates ever- $79
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beware of Hidden Cost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

For the 4th of July weekend, we stayed at a 3 bedroom condo townhome at this property (6 adults and 3 kids). The townhome itself was nicely furnished and very pretty (except for carpet upstairs that was quite dirty), however the cost was outrageous. In the past, I had stayed at Kingston Plantation and had recommended it to many friends and we always enjoyed our stay and the cost was quite reasonable and there were no hidden fees. This property was extremely expensive (for what it offered) and on top of what we had already pre-paid for the 2 nights we were charged a hefty cleaning fee! The fee did NOT even cover daily service as Kingston Plantation offered without the extra cost. To get fresh towels every day there was another fefty charge. The pools were so crowded ( a body at every inch of the pool) and dirty (lumps of hair) that we did not want to even put our foot in it. The pools are NOT large enough for the size of this property. The poolside restaurant was also a rip off. Not only it was very expensive but also the quality of the food was very poor. I do NOT mind spending money but I do not like hidden fees and not getting the value for my money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    186
    56
    41
    31
See reviews for
740
281
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed 5 Years Ago When Brand New And It Was AmaZing!!! Furnishimgs And Cleanliness Were Above And Beyond. We Had 4 Good Years But Our Most Recent Stay, Last Week Was A HUge Disappointment. Always Check Your Unit BEFORE moving in. We Were The 3Rd Family In Our Unit And It Was Covered In Dog Hair From The Kitchen To The Living Areas, Dining Area, Comforters, Etc. Its Not Pet Friendly But Owners Can Have Pets In Their Units And I Feel That There Needs To Be A Note Umder Each Unit Where The Owner Has Pets So You Can Choose That Option OR Not. In Our Case We Do Not Stay Pet Friendly Bc Of Severe Pet Allergies. WeOved In And Ou Of 3 UniTs. They Tried To Get The Pet Hairs Out But It Was Nearly Impossible W Fans And Just Moving One Thing Moved The Hairs Somewhere Else. One Night Was Comped But I Had To Plead Case For Additional Concessions. While There Met Other Families Dissatisfied With Their Units For The High Prices Paid. If Charging Top Dollar UnitsMust Be Clean, Decorated In An Upscale Fashion, And Maintained. 5 Years Later Almost It Is Obvious Some Units Need Refurbished. Various Guests Commented Some Staff Could Use A Real Lesson In Being Helpful And Curteous Rather Than Rude And Arrogant. What Was Once Customer Driven And Immaculate Now Seems Dollar Driven And Aging In Some Units/Areas. I Wish Them The Best, It Is The Best, But For The $$$$ And To Be 5 Star, It Has To Be Even Better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartrace, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I just had a wonderful stay at Myrtle Beach thanks to N.B.P.-With four children we always try to find an area that they would enjoy and of course that we would as well. North Beach Plantation was a success! The children enjoyed the daily activities at the pool. We also LOVED the pools and easy beach access. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean! I would give this place 10 stars if I could. Everything was perfect! WE LOVED IT and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This resort is very nice with high end furnishings and appliances. Our unit had tile throughout, which we loved. The staff was very friendly. The breezeway is CRAZY! Don't bother fixing your hair because you can't walk out of the building without being blown across the street. The location is great and the views are beautiful from every unit. The actual beach that this property is in front of is very small and crowded. Our biggest disappointment was the lack of regular cleaning of the public spaces (ie. lots of cups and garbage in the pool areas and on the beach). Its just unacceptable and sad to see such a beautiful property so poorly maintained throughout the week. If someone left their glass, band aid or hair clip on the side of the pool, it would remain there for the rest of the day. The pool bathrooms were even worse. Fresh towels, trash pickup and lots of parking was great. Our particular until was extremely well maintained. The kitchen had everything we needed and the cabinets and drawers were spotless. The building is very sound proof. We could only hear noise when on our balconies and never from our neighbors. Occasional live music was wonderful. Pool towels were provided, but hard to come by in the late afternoons. The pool deck needs to be pressure washed and the pools need to be cleaned more frequently. On July 4th anyone is allowed on the beach to set off fireworks. We loved it because the show lasted for two hours. If you wanted any sleep that night, you would surely have found it difficult. Smoking at the pool and on the balconies was annoying. The fitness center closes at 8pm, but it pretty nice. It looks much larger in the photos than it actually was and is almost 1 mile from the towers (next to check in), which is a great warm up and cool down. Lifeguards are present in the pool areas and on the beach which is really great. Overall, my family of five was very impressed with the facility, the pools and the condo unit, however our disappointment in the regular upkeep of the pool area and the hallways, may keep us from ever returning.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with tile or hardwood throughout. Stay above the 5th floor to avoid nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatsworth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My mother found a great rate on bookit.com. It was an overall enjoyable stay.
If you want to go to North Beach Plantation and stay in the main hotel, be careful of the wording on travel sites. The way the resort is set up....there is a main hotel as you see in the photos and there is a North Beach 'Neighborhood' behind the hotel that consists of lots of houses and townhomes. When we looked at the townhouse on bookit, it wasn't perfectly clear that we would not be getting a room in the main hotel, and that was with both of us reviewing the room separately. It was simply listed as a two bedroom room. At first we thought we would be getting a condo in the main building and it wasn't really clear that we were actually getting a townhome until after the reservation was made. In the end, though, not a big deal at all, it was an incredible value for what we received.
We were in the 'spa' area in unit 4917. As you might expect from an incredible deal on bookit, we were in the very back of the resort area approximately 1/2 mile from the beach. However our unit put us in very close proximity to Barefoot Landing, enough so that we could sit on our top deck and observe the fireworks without having to leave the unit. There was also a Cracker Barrel, McDonalds and a convenience store mere steps from our door.
The unit was spacious for our party of five. There was a bedroom downstairs with a queen size bed on one wall and a twin on the other. There was a bedroom upstairs with a king size bed. Both bedrooms had a bathroom. The downstairs bathroom had a full tub and shower while the upstairs had a sizeable shower with attractive glass doors. There was a washer/dryer combo downstairs as well as a garage that could be utilized if you had a small to mid sized car. It's possible it could fit a slightly larger car or suv, but the opening is rather narrow and whether or not you would want to use it would depend on your comfort level with the size.
The unit boasted 3 nice sized flatscreen televisions. There was a living room, dining room and kitchen area. Just about anything you could think of that you might need was there, such as hair dryers, iron, all kitchen appliances including coffee maker, toaster, pots, pans, dishes, oven mits..even salt sugar, pepper...etc. If you don't find what you need....keep looking. My mom ended up purchasing a pan because we thought there weren't any....there ended up being some in a cabinet we didn't look in. There is no daily maid service in the townhouse units but this was not a problem for us. We washed our own towels, etc. They do supply a very small bottle of dish liquid and powder for one load of laundry, but nothing to run the dishwasher. Make sure to bring laundry soap, dish soap, etc. According to notes in the room it stated that we could request extra trash bags, etc. but there could be an 'extra' charge. We simply raided the bottoms of all of the trash cans in the unit for extra bags throughout the week and got away from not having to make extra requests. The only real complaint I had with this particular unit was that the lock seemed to need replaced. It was a real pain to get the lock to accept either of our keys to turn the lock and an equal pain to pull them back out when we had locked/unlocked.
The unit was beautifully decorated and everything seemed new and clean. There were approximately 18 units like ours in our area and there appeared to be a number more under construction.
The property was nice. Because we were in the back, we had approximately a 1/2 mile walk if we wished to visit the beach. There was shuttle service available but for the most part they were rather busy and it was usually a wait of approximately 15-20 minutes to get one to come to the door.
The pool area was nice. There's a 'lazy river', a hottub, and a pool inside, and several pools of different water depth outside as well as two other hottubs. The lazy river sometimes had the currents on, sometimes did not. There was a poolside food trailer on premesis, but we did not realize this until our trip was almost over, as we usually did not visit the pool until 4 o'clock in the evening or later. Apparently they are opened for lunch and close sometime in the late afternoon. There is also a swim up bar but unless you are there before 4, don't expect it to be open. I was a bit surprised that there was no effort to be open later in the day by either poolside food service...and this was during the week of July 4th! According to other reviewers, there seems to be a restaurant on the 2nd or third floor, but there are no signs near the pool advertising this. The bathrooms near the pool are in what appears to be a glorified doublewide. It's as if the entire resort and pool area were built and then someone was like 'oh, we didn't add bathrooms by the pool' and brought in the trailer. I know they were pool bathrooms, but both times I went in there they were very disgusting. Water and toilet paper all over the floor.
There were chairs and umbrellas for rent in front of the resort. Get there early or you won't get front beach view...you'll be behind other umbrellas.
Another thing on bookit was that the room was advertised as having a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room downstairs and a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Wrong! Completely opposite....the living area is upstairs. My mother...who booked based on this information because she generally avoids stairs as she has trouble walking up and down, was disappointed and had a full week of dealing with stairs she had hoped to avoid.
Overall North Beach Plantation Townhouses are very nice and the pool area is great. However if you want an oceanfront view with a room that is close to the ocean...there are very few rooms even at the main hotel that offer this. The majority of oceanfront rooms still require that you look pass the expansive pool area and over the lengthy sea oats protection area before you actually see the beach.....Rooms are approximately 200 yards away from the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

2nd stay here in the past few years. Pros- oceanfront with great pool area for all ages. Variety of tastefully done condos from 2-5 bedrooms. Great restaurants nearby in north myrtle- flying fish, miyabi, villa Tuscana, Benito's, Krispy Kreme and barefoot landing right across from hotel entrance. Housekeeping brings you towels and empties trash daily ( most of the time) and restocka things like laundry and dish soap, dish towels, paper towels, TP, tissues, soapand bathroom items wheer most make you bring your own. Spacious rooms and balconies. Allowed friday to friday stay which is a godsend versus tryin to get in and out of myrtle on a sat to sat stay wih the rest of the world Cons- price, slow and overcrowded elevators, have to jockey for pool chairs in busy season, bizarre blaring of live music and radio at same time on pool deck????? Pool bar food closes at 5 and bar at 7pm, housekeeping seemed understaffed as we had to call repeatedly on first 2 days to have trash removed And get clean towels ( the only housekeeping they do). Our other family members room was NOT clean at check in time and they had to call and fuss to get the food crumbs cleaned up and sticky kitchen floor scrubbed- totally unacceptable anywhere let alone. 4 1/2 star property!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in a three bedroom suite with another couple and our kids. The place was wonderful, and offered a lot! Walking to beach access, variety of pools and local to lots of restaurants and shops! The only thing I could suggest to the cleaning crew is to periodically shampoo the rugs and/or mop the floors, other than that the stay was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Beach Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Beach Plantation

Address: 100 North Beach Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Beach Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 7 1/2 acre "island" between the Atlantic Ocean and White Point Swash North Beach Plantation provides a magnificent oceanfront experience. With a Caribbean themed pool-scape, South Carolina largest swim up pool bar, award winning Cinzia Spa, and much more, you will know why we've earned the title #1 resort in North Myrtle Beach year after year. Choose from an array of luxury accommodation, from the 1-5 bedroom oceanfront condos in the towers or one of our 1-5 bedroom cottages. Each unit is uniquely designed with the finest of décor elements and top of the line appliances. Come experience the beach in luxury when booking your next trip to Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Beach Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Plantation Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.