We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in Time to the Best Service & Value in Cherry Grove!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blockade Runner Motor Inn
Save
You added Blockade Runner Motor Inn to your Saves list
1910 N. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashland, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Step back in Time to the Best Service & Value in Cherry Grove!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights here last week & was beyond pleased with our stay. The efficiency was perfect for the 3 of us, housekeeping was METICULOUS & there was a "step back to the past" feel when it came to the service & interaction with the staff. Let me just clarify that while I am typically a 4 star minimum kind of girl, the value of this place & the homey feel made it a place that I will definitely choose again. **Bonus--the pool/beach towels are provided & the beach is not crowded directly in front:).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First time in NMB, and couldn't have asked for a better stay. This place was perfect for our family of 4. Very clean room & as well as facilities. Excellent rate for staying in an oceanfront eff in July! The beach in front of the hotel was not overcrowded and there was just a great atmosphere overall at the Blockade Runner. We will definitely return!
If you are looking for a relaxing trip to the beach that won't kill your budget, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Blockade Runner is a clean, no frills hotel in the Cherry Grove section of North Myrtle Beach. This was our second stay and we'll certainly go back again. If you really like resort style hotels with 20 floors, lazy rivers, water parks and endless parking decks, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a stress free, easy in-easy out kind of place with a good location, then this could be your answer. Restaurants and stores are within walking distance. Cherry Grove Pier is close as well. Since this area does not have the concentration of resort hotels, the beach is less crowded and has easy access. The hotel only has five floors. There is one elevator but we never had a long wait for it. We chose the stairs for the most part even though we were on the 5th floor.

The staff is friendly and courteous and were attentive to our needs. Again, a fine no nonsense property with convenient parking, a nice restaurant and clean (if not fancy) rooms. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get 3rd floor or above if you'd like a better view of the ocean. First floor can be cool becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay at the Blockade Runner was one of the best vacations we have ever experienced. The accomodations were very pleasant. Our king room was huge and extremely clean. The rates were the best we have ever found. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in every way. This was the first time we had ever stayed in North Myrtle Beach so we did not know what to expect. We have found a new favorite place. Not too crowded in the area and some great restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay at the Blockade Runner again when planning a trip to North Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The top floor south end room has quite a bit of wind noise. May want to choose an interior room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family has been staying at Blockade Runner Motor Inn for years and we won't stay anywhere else when we come to the beach. We always stay on the top floor (the 5th floor) for the best views of the ocean (all rooms are oceanfront). Over the years the rooms have been upgraded and improved and now there are new appliances in the Kitchenettes, new TV's, new air conditioners, and overall decorations/painting renovations. There have also been updates the outdoor furniture/shared areas. Anytime we have a request for any of the staff whether it's the owner or anyone else we happen to ask- they are always responsive and helpful. The owner is usually there every day so if there are any issues or you just want to chat with him, he is happy to talk with you. The nice thing is since the hotel isn't one of those massive places - the beach in front of it isn't as crowded as other parts of the beach. We love staying there and have already booked our return visit for later in the summer at Blockade Runner.

Room Tip: I would choose a room third floor and up. The elevators aren't noisy so being near or away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are looking for fancy, overpriced stay, move on, BUT if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, pleasantly-decorated room with a mini-kitchen, including pots and pans, stove, sink, half-frig, pool, barbecues and tables with umbrellas, and beach view for a great price, this is the place! Nice little restaurant downstairs where we enjoyed breakfast. Went there last year and loved it. Going back in July. :)

Room Tip: Second floor or up, and you get a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The owner greeted us with a smile, our trip was long it started in georgia went to buffalo n.y to myrtle beach s.c. after all the places we stayed in during our journey the owner was gracious and very sweet. The room was excellant, and trust me my wife is hard to please. The location was perfect, close to everything we wanted to do while we where here. I recommend this to anyone with full stars

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blockade Runner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Motor Inn

Address: 1910 N. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Motor Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel
Blockade Runner North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.