We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and reasonably priced with great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blockade Runner Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blockade Runner Motor Inn
1910 N. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Stanley, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and reasonably priced with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Large rooms, great beachfront views, convenient location and clean all describe the Blockade Runner. It isn't the newest property, but you get a lot for your money.
My only negative was that the wireless didn't work in my unit. We had a strong signal, but no internet.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let me start out by saying I have stayed in Myrtle Beach for the past 10 years of vacations. Seven of those ten have been at this hotel. The rooms have been recently updated with new decor and wireless access. And the beach is always quiet and a hop, skip, and a jump away from the oceanfront rooms. The hotel has a nostalgic feeling that grows on you and it feels like home away from home. The hotel attendants are very friendly and after a week they feel like a part of your extended family. I also feel secure that belongings are safe. The air, refers, stoves, etc, all work perfectly and any inconsistencies in the past had been dealt with with the utmost urgency. Very clean place as well. (GREAT FAMILY HOTEL).
I was sad to learn that the restaurant (Locals) had moved on, but decided to sample the new restaurant (Mimosas on the waterfront) and it is superb.
I will be staying in North Myrtle at The Blockade Runner every year we stay at the beach. No hassle of the Main Myrtle hell hole.
PS ask for Michael, he is the best, and for the hotspots and best eating places just ask him he is awesome.

Room Tip: Pick the third floor or above for an awesome ocean view, first floor for straight out the back door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Rented the efficiency because of minimal price difference. Room was clean, well equipped to suit our needs. Maid service was good, everyday, and not intrusive. We paid $420/5-nights, inc. tax. All rooms are oceanfront, we stayed on 5th floor. Quiet area. Overall excellent value. Will be at top of list if we go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Second stay at this hotel. Get the efficiency because you get a small kitchen area complete with toaster, coffee pot, stove and oven, microwave, and fridge. Equipped with pots and pans also! Very clean. Updated nicely. All ocean front rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My mom and I stayed year about 7 years ago and we were thrilled to come back. The rooms have been updated with different decor and better furniture. The efficiency was great for our needs. Comes equipped with dishes, silverware, a stove, mid sized fridge, etc. There is a restaraunt on the first floor that has EXCELLENT food for great prices. The coin laundry is old but works great. The pool is great with a hot tub nearby. Both are very nice!! The only thing I didnt like is the elevator. It's old and makes lots of noise. But I did find out that they are getting a new elevator in October or November of this year! Overall this beachfront hotel is a steal and away from all the hupla in Myrtle Beach!!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room. I would get 2nd floor or above if you want to see the ocean over the sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

North Myrtle Beach is like a world apart from traditional Myrtle Beach, but it's right at your back door too. We always stay at NMB now, this is our go to hotel. I love that they rent to you for even 1 night if the place is not sold out. Not a resort, so if that is what you are into, this is not your stop. Prices are execptionally reasonable, entirely oceanfront from what I remember, clean rooms, older place yes, but a great great great find. I'll come back again and again. I am 32, have a wonderful husband, 2 kids ages 5yr & 4yr. We love 1 to 2 night spontaneous vacations. Location is great, rooms updated, onsite restaurant has good prices...not a tourist trap. What else can I say? I left happy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My daughter & I stayed for 3 weekday nights last week in room 408. The efficiency room had a huge living / sleeping area:2 queen beds, fullsize eating table, large dresser, flatscreen tv, computer desk, sm. side table @ oceanside window & six table chairs. A fully stocked kitchen w/ larger reduced sized refrigerator was seperated from the living space. The balcony patio was private w/ 2 chairs. The room was very clean and quiet & wifi connection was excellent. I was impressed that the pillows and mattresses were high quality and were dressed with fitted bottom sheets, ample sized top sheets, a soft blanket and new looking tailored top spreads. Many lamps were scattered througout the room and curtains moved easily and closed completely. Even with all the furnishings there was a lot of open floor space. The air/heat system was newer and quiet. The bathroom had been updated nicely but did not have an exhaust fan. Hanging clothes space was limited due to refrigerator taking up half of the closet. The front desk person, Eileen, was a gem. There is a restaurant off of the lobby which we used only for a carryout breakfast which was very good. The entire property is very well maintained. The elevator is extremely small, but it was not a problem for us as we were there mid-week with very liitle traffic at the property. I've tried perhaps a dozen motor inns, resorts and condo rentals over the last 3 years and this is the only North Myrtle Beach area oceanfront one that I feel provides an excellent value for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blockade Runner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Motor Inn

Address: 1910 N. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Motor Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel
Blockade Runner North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockade Runner Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blockade Runner Motor Inn to your Saves list
;