We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean/Beach Front Property, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Crest Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Crest Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Shore Crest Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4709 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Ocean/Beach Front Property, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Pros:
1) Great location to the beach. We rent a ocean front 2 bedrooms unit and wow, this property is right on the beach.
2) Our unit was updated & renovated recently
3) Staff was friendly, knowledgeable of the town and helpful
4) The North Myrtle beach wasn't as crowded as Myrtle Beach

The Cons
1) Horribly, painfully slow elevators. The property is old so as the elevators, they should make upgrade. Luckily, our unit is on 4th floor, we used the stair.
2) Limited & tight parking space, some nights there was no parking spot left, but we can park on the other building's parking spot.

I still recommend this property as the access of ocean front and view are breathtaking!

Room Tip: Ocean view and Ocean front is different, make sure you ask for Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    72
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
81
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent a week here and enjoyed ourselves. Not as nice as Bluegreens Harbor Lights but a much better location. Right across the street from Barefoot Landing-we will come back. I would recommend for families but a girl or guy only nightlife type trip would be better off on the main strip further south

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson, SC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed from sunday to sunday. where I wasnt ocean front, I wasnt disappointed with the view. the checkin went alot better than last year, not as confusing, must have hired a new staff. it was more updated with newer couches. its always clean with everything we need. all we had to bring was food and clothes. the staff was very nice and told us about some good restaurants. the pools and hottubs were well maintained. I really wish the bedroom was bigger, kinda odd layout. If I had to say anything negatives about it ,they have such slow elevators, terribile, they really need to work on that other than that , great vacation !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, AL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here starting on Sunday before Memorial Day through Friday. This place is wonderful. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean front room. Master bedroom had a king bed with a garden tub. The 2nd bedroom had two twins. The other bathroom was a standard bathroom. It had a stocked kitchen with new appliances. It had a washer and dryer. Dining area and sleeper sofa in the living room. The staff was as friendly as any I have ever encountered.

It was conveniently located to the beach and the pools were pretty good. This place is close to restaurant row and really close to Barefoot Landing (outdoor mall).

The only reason I would not give it a 5* rating is because the elevators are slow and get crowded during check-in and check out. The check-in can be a little confusing. And the dryer while new, did not do the greatest job drying clothes. It did get them dry though.

As far as the parking goes, this place was not built during the SUV era. So parking in the deck can be a little tight for big cars. However, they have plenty of overflow parking across a very lightly traveled street. To me it is was no more inconvenient than parking at your average Hilton Garden Inn.

We already have plans to go back next year. This is such a great place to stay and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: If you have an SUV drop your luggage at the elevator at check-in and then park in the overflow acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Pros:
1) Great proximity to the beach
2) Our unit was updated (i.e. newer kitchen and bathroom)
3) Staff was helpful
4) The beach wasn't as crowded as Myrtle Beach

The negatives:
1) Horribly, painfully slow elevators. Often the elevators were full with the staff hauling their stuff/carts. Apparently they don't have a service elevator at this place for maintenance/house keeping.
2) Very limited and tight parking. Upon our arrival, I had to park at the building across the street and haul our stuff across in multiple trips. Combined with the painfully slow elevators, it took me 30+ minutes!!!
3) Be aware of when you book---we unknowingly booked during the tail end of "bike week" (Memorial Day weekend)---lots of very loud motorcycles, scantily-clad people (not kid appropriate), and some motorcycles driving very dangerously (e.g. weaving ridiculously in traffic).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Shore Crest and it was just as good as the first time. We stayed in Shore Crest 1 overlooking the pool and the ocean. At night we could open the sliding doors and listen to the ocean. My four year old daughter loves the pools, hot tubs, and the lazy river and of course the beach! Beach access is very easy and there was always plenty of room on the beach. Only complaint with Shore Crest were the elevators which were very slow. Wait time for the elevators could be at least 5 minutes. Other than that, no problems and we had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have a family of six, and we decided to vacation with friends of ours who have a family of five. Both families stayed in Shore Crest I. We both had partial ocean view rooms. There were definitely pros and cons to our stay at Shore Crest. I will start with positives...
1. The beach access was wonderful. Whether you are staying in the beachfront building or the one across the street, getting to the beach was a breeze. The street it's located on is not busy at all. We felt comfortable allowing the children to cross with us without having to rush across.
2. The pool area was great! We all enjoyed the pool, lazy river and hot tub.
3. Our units were very clean and orderly. We found the cleaning staff and maintenance staff friendly and very helpful.
4. We enjoyed the location of the hotel. It's far enough away from the boardwalk area of Myrtle Beach that you don't get overwhelmed by all the activity and noise, but close enough to take a quick drive down for an evening.
Side note: I've read a lot regarding the elevators. We didn't have any issues with slow elevators throughout our stay. The only time things slowed down was during our check-out when many other units were checking out as well.

Now for the cons...
1. Our first impression of the whole experience was soured by the check-in staff. We had contacted the hotel several times before arriving to verify our rooms proximity since we were two families vacationing together. We had our rooms booked on the same day. We were ASSURED that our rooms would either be across the hall from one another or stacked one floor directly above the other. Neither happened. They claimed they gave one of our rooms away even though we had verified which room we would have. They were unapologetic and apathetic regarding our situation. It wouldn't have been as big of a deal to us, except we were vacationing with smaller children and we wanted to stay as close to one another as possible, which we explained to the staff during our multiple phone calls to them. Throughout our stay, we found the front desk staff to be a little off-putting.
2. The bedrooms were very small. Not much room to move about. We had a room with old appliances and old tube tvs. I wouldn't have minded the tvs, except that they had terrible cable service. A lot of the time, we got static sounds and fuzzy pictures.
3. I read several reviews regarding the parking situation. It is very true that the parking spots are narrow, but worse of all, there are not enough parking spots for each unit. If you arrived later in the evening, you would have to park across the street. I find it hard to understand why there are less parking spots than units.
4. There are no bathrooms close to the pools and there is plenty of room to add a bathroom, so I find it strange that they haven't done so.
5. We enjoyed the pool-side music when it was playing, but the front-desk staff didn't always make sure it was playing. Minor complaint, but it's a detail that is noticed.
6. This final complaint is not regarding the hotel, but the time of year. When we booked our vacation a year ago, we didn't realize it would be bike week. Hearing the motorcycles squealing and roaring, at all hours of the night, got really annoying. Having multiple bikes weaving in and out of traffic, cutting you off constantly, got really old, really fast. If that is something that would bother you, I would recommend you double-check your vacation dates if you are going to head to Myrtle Beach next spring.

All in all, we love the beach, so our time spent playing in the water and sand is always wonderful. I will NOT choose to stay at Shore Crest again. I'm glad I know not to go back.

Room Tip: Don't go during bike week
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Crest Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Crest Vacation Villas

Address: 4709 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Crest Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shore Crest Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Crest Vacation Villas Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Shore Crest Vacation Hotel
Hotel Shore Crest Vacation
Shorecrest Vacation Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Crest Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.