We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#103... the good and the not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas

Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas
502 48th Ave, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“#103... the good and the not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 4th of July week 2012. I'll start with the good... The space was fabulous. It was 3 bedrooms and 3 full baths. All the furniture and decor was nice and the view was great. It's only about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The first day we were there I was convinced it was perfect! Now, the not so good... We had our kids wear their flip flops inside because the carpet was so dirty that it turned our feet black, yuck! The porch was great, but the floor was filthy. My kids found old food under their beds from someone who had stayed before we got there. The fridge stopped working halfway through our stay and we had to throw a lot of things away. Then it started working again the last day. The master bathroom was wonderful with a huge tub. There was always enough hot water to take showers but don't plan on filling up the tub. It didn't even make it up to the jets before the water ran cold. The condolux people were super nice and helpful... but just don't need anything anything after they close around 5pm because their answering service answered all our questions with "I don't know."

All in all the place itself was wonderful, it was just the upkeep that needed some attention. If it was as clean as it looked upon first glance I would've been thrilled!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed at Unit 401 it is very clean and nice this place is very quiet perfect for the price will be back

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I along with our 2 1/2 year old daughter and two in-laws and a brother in-law stayed at the villa for the third week in August for a low price which was less than 700 a week. The place was spacious and it has a great view from balcony overlooking the marsh.
The only things we disliked was having to sleep on a full bed that was kind of small in the second bedroom. Would be nice if the place had two king beds in each room or a queen in one of the other rooms. Brother in-law had to sleep on a pull out sofa that he says was quite uncomfortable. The place also has beach chairs that you can use to take to the beach but they where very low when we took them to sit on. All in all the place was nice, may plan to go next year, but just wished we could have all slept better.
The villa also has a private pool area with 5 foot deep pool, a kiddie pool that is 1 foot deep and a jacuzzi tub out side. There is a place to rinse the sand off your feet as well in the pool area. Has a large kitchen, living room and dining as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The description of this unit was that it's new so I expected it to be pretty clean. After walking around the kitchen and living room for about 30 minutes, the bottom of our feet were black from the floors. At a glance the unit appears very nice and clean, but if you take a damp paper towel and wipe the floor it'll be black. The kitchen is bare bones - no paper products, spices, etc. Only minimal dishes. At least there was a coffee maker. There are also roaches that come out at night. The wall is cracked and the deck is worn. The railing shakes. It doesn't look new or safe. A roach exterminator banged on our door at 9:00 AM to spray the unit. I was not about to allow pesticides to be sprayed with my child there. On check out day, the cleaning lady banged on the door at 8:20 AM even though check out time wasn't until 10:00 AM. She then proceeds to ask what time we're leaving the unit. The phone rang at all hours of the day and night until we figured out how to turn off the ringer. We kept getting telemarketers and wrong numbers. Apparently, the unit has the phone number of a popular beach store that went out of business and the number is published online. The description of the condo says that it's located 1-1/2 blocks to the beach. It's more like 3 blocks. The description also says that the condo has broadband, but we had 3 laptops and none were able to connect. We tried using the WiFi from the Ocean Beach Club nearby, but the connect was intermittent. Also, the size of the pool is very small - about 8' x 10' lima bean shaped.

The good things about the condo are the flat TVs in each bedroom and comfortable mattresses and furnishings. The location is great. It's right across from Barefoot Landing

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas

Address: 502 48th Ave, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Ocean Marsh Resort And Villas Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Marsh Resort and Villas to your Saves list