We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service; unique atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar

SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar
503 Highway 17 N, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
843-249-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Port Dr
Description: SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar is the top wine and sophisticated dining destination on the Grand Strand. The only recipient of Wine Spectator's Prestigious "Best of Award of Excellence" in the Myrtle Beach area and one of only ten in the entire state of South Carolina. Our chic and sexy dining room is surrounded by a private collection of art from local artists. Our extensive wine list boasts over 500 selections by the bottle and over 50 by the glass. Chef and Owner Kenneth Norcutt searches the globe for the finest ingredients and incorporates them with sustainable locally produced foods. We are very hands on, and are involved in every aspect of the restaurant. Our travels, experiences, and our passion for food and wine enable us to share our restaurant with our guests. Our personal expressions are shown in the menu, the wine list, and the decor. Tracy and I Invite you to...DRINK . DINE . DISCOVER...The SeaBlue Experience.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service; unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had our anniversary dinner here, and we were seated in a semi-private corner table behind a screen, which was perfect. As the evening progressed, we could tell that the rest of the dining room got quite loud, and it would not have been romantic out there.

The food (we had the chef's 6 course tasting) was excellent (but not perfect). The shrimp and grits was easily the best I ever tasted. The grouper was perhaps a little overdone, but overall, there was little to complain or gripe about regarding the food.

The service was superb, with just the right amount of table-interaction from the server. If you are going for a romantic evening, make sure you reserve the semi-private corner table.

The décor is trendy and upscale (without seeming stuffy), but BEWARE if you have kids. There are many photos of topless women in the restaurant (3 hanging over our private table; 1 in the main dining room, and 2 in the men's room). The photos are artistic and tasteful, but nudes nonetheless. We are glad we did not bring our kids!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    24
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Took my wife for our ten year anniversary to Seablue and I'm glad I did. We have not had this quality of food since our trip to Sonoma Ca. Price is high but not for the quality and taste of food. Service was unreal. Small atmosphere just right. No regrets need to go and experience, we will be back everytime we go back to Mrytle Beach!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Almost There”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The owners of SeaBlue Restaurant are obviously committed to providing an ultra high end dining experience. They just haven't quite got there yet.

My wife and I arrived to find the restaurant situated in a rather gritty strip mall. If we had chosen outdoor seating, we would have had to stare at the "Nothing More Than $5.99" sign in the beachwear store next door. But, we elected to be seated inside.

Wow! The interior was as serene and sophisticated as any restaurant we have ever visited. Tables had linen covers and were set up for two courses and wine service. Ambient lighting was soothing as was the background music, soft big band tunes and jazz ballads, played at a level that allowed quiet conversation. A virtually perfect setting.

Our server, Chris, presented us with a multi-page binder that included an ample wine selection as well as three menu pages. Amazingly, all the wines, save the most expensive champagnes, were offered by the glass. This is a potentially expensive risk for the owners in that wine, once opened, seldom lasts more than 24 hours before becoming unpalatable. We ordered an inexpensive bottle of Chardonnay. Chris presented it properly, label first, followed by opening, tasting, and pouring. The wine was just slightly chilled allowing its floral overtones to explode in the mouth followed by a long, gradual, faintly oaky finish. Perfect for the food we ordered.

My wife chose roasted beet salad ($10) and Fruits of the Sea ($39). I selected Charred Caesar ($8) and Porcini Dusted Day Boat NC Scamp Grouper ($32).

When the salad course arrived, my wife raved over the perfectly roasted red beets ("best ever") alongside greens dressed with goat cheese and vinaigrette. My plate contained a half heart of romaine, more roasted than charred, drizzled with a piquant Caesar dressing and dotted with herbed croutons, both obviously made from scratch, both excellent. The salads showed that simple ingredients lovingly prepared and elegantly presented beat exotic recipes poorly executed any day.

While we were savoring our salads, a group just off the golf course assembled at the bar about 12 feet behind us. Have you ever noticed how when two or more people meet at a bar they have to shout their conversations even if no other loud party is present? Even when they're physically closer to each other than the diners at the tables around them they have to bellow their accomplishments at the top of their lungs? Well, these guys (and one gal) did. We could no longer hear the background music or each other. Thankfully, they left shortly after our entrees arrived.

Both mains came in very warm oversized bowls. They effectively focused attention on the contents and facilitated blending of the various layers of flavor as eating progressed. My wife's bowl contained lobster risotto surrounded by a stream of lobster bisque. On top were piled a poached half lobster tail, a generous portion of claw meat, a wonderfully seared gigantic sea scallop, and a jumbo shrimp. She pronounced each ingredient cooked to perfection and the ensemble amazing.

My bowl contained a different risotto, this one swirled with goat cheese and dotted with bright green and tender asparagus chunks and surrounded by what I thought was demi-glacé. It turned out it was a reduced truffle sauce. In any case, it lent a subtle umami undertone that I thought might be risky in a fish entree. The grouper itself supported a cylinder of sun-dried tomato pesto, another risky combination, I thought. I was wrong on both counts. The flavor blend took my taste buds into another realm. Unfortunately, my grouper was ever so slightly over cooked. No, it wasn't dry or chewy. However, it had been grilled about 30 seconds beyond the ideal, the point where flavor and texture converge to maximum effect. To be sure, this is a quibble and I probably would not even note it were SeaBlue not striving so hard toward the ideal.

But they are, as reflected in their mission statement, impeccable decor, selection of ingredients, professional service, and pricing. And they are almost there. A little attention to the noisy bar and to achieving absolute perfection in the kitchen will get them a lot closer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had dinner here with a friend who had been to the restaurant before. A great recommendation. The food was presented well. The steaks cooked to perfection for our order. Jason, our waiter, was very personable and knowledgable, making our night more pleasurable. Other staff members also checked in to be sure all was well Part of the experience is in the lighting, don't miss the opportunity. Cost is appropriate for the meal and the dining experience. If you want a great fine dining experience check out this restaurant, it will be worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An AWESOME experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had dinner last night at Sea Blue and it was fabulous. The chef introduced himself to our family and offered to make a special entree for my son and daughter who are very picky eaters. Our meals were outstanding. The seafood as well as the beef entrees are highly recommended. the service was exceptional as well. It is a hidden gem in North Myrtle. Don't pass by this one. You will enjoy for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaBlue Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.