We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Decent Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Poo's Blue Marlin Yacht & Fishing Club

Captain Poo's Blue Marlin Yacht & Fishing Club
2200 Little River Neck Rd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-6265
843-249-7881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Eden, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Food, Decent Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I am not a big fan of flounder, but since this was the only fish offered, I had the flounder along with some crab cakes. Servings were generous and the flounder was fresh. We went on Thirsty Thursday and I ordered some of the $.45 wings. They were very tasty and cooked perfectly. The coleslaw was dry and tasteless. There was live music playing. The musician/singer was very talented and did a great job, however for the small area, it was very loud and made conversation impossible. I would like to go back sometime and try the deck seating on the waterfront. The lights shining on the waterway was beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    62
    27
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville VA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Poo on Captain Poos--and don't get the raw oysters!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We ate at Captain Poos in November 2012, loved it,and were looking forward to our return. What a let down! I asked about the raw oysters and the bartender said, "Dunno. I don't eat 'em. But people order them." That was little help but I ordered 6. I've eaten oysters all over the U.S.--including at Poos and other places in Myrtle Beach, and I'll have to say these were the worst I have ever had. Tasteless and gristly and gross. I kept thinking that if I tried one more I'd find one good one, but after 4 tries I gave up. My wife ordered a house salad that was sorta pitiful--so we decided to get our check and leave. When I asked the bartender if she wanted to know what I thought of the oysters she said yes and I said, "Worst I've ever eaten" to which she replied, "If you had let me know I would have taken them off your bill". Did she not realize I was letting her know right then? We couldn't wait to pay our bill and leave. Bye bye Poos--we won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What happened? ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This used the be the BEST bar until the owners lost interest. Now they stay drunk. Service is terrible and the "fresh oysters" are out of a can and on reused shells. There are much better places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome & fun with great food & drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have been steady customer of Captain Poo's for about 2 years. This place is awesome. My wife & I have never had a bad time there. The food is plentiful, as well as tasty. Lunch specials are so good for less than $8 and wow you get lunch that cant be beat anywhere. The view of the inter coastal is so nice and the yachts going by makes it even more special. Now the staff, we have never met a better group of fun, friendly, caring individuals. They are led by owners Mike & Rhonda who spend a lot of time there overseeing the staff and making sure all the customers are well taken care of.
So my advice while in North or South Carolina, you have to go to poos. Its at the Cherry Grove exit off 17 near the swing bridge. Trust me you will love it

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tequila Tuesday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were at Captain Poo's with vacationing family & friends in March 2013. It was by far one of my favorite vacation memories! The fresh oysters were the BEST we had the whole vacation. We will be back in North Myrtle Beach next March and Capt. Poo's is already on our roster for MUST GO places! It's a great atmosphere, great service, great food, great drinks....need I say more?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Poo's Blue Marlin Yacht & Fishing Club also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Poo's Blue Marlin Yacht & Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Poo's Blue Marlin Yacht & Fishing Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.