We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, close to beach, helpful friendly staff, loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1819 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean, close to beach, helpful friendly staff, loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I were invited to join a couple of friends in North Myrtle Beach at their vacation rental this year. We enjoyed the visit so much that we decided to plan a trip back to the area to spend some time with our 17 year old daughter who is a high school senior. She invited one of her girl friends to join us.

We did extensive research on the web and after much deliberaton we decided to book at Tilghman Beach and Golf Resort.

We all loved the resort. It was very clean, quiet and the pool area (indoor and out) were kept clean. At the time of our trip, the resort was not very busy as it was low season. The ocean water temperature was great for the first couple of days and we enjoyed the beach.

We have a beach cart and really appreciated the short walk across the street and up the path to the beach. Not far at all. There are even men's and women's bathrooms and a shower conveniently located at the start of the path which is easily accessible for those who need to visit while at the beach.

The rooms were decorated with good taste and definately had a beach theme which kicked us off in the right mood for a vacation. The beds in the rooms were very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, silverware, cookware, small appliances etc. Each bedroom and the living room area each had flat screen tvs.

We had contemplated booking an ocean view room but were not planning on spending much time in our room anyway so we chose to save some money by booking a golf course / lake view room. We were not dissapointed. The surrounding property is kept very clean and while staying on the 12th floor we had a stunning view of the lake and golf course.

The staff was extremely friendly and always seemed eager to help us when we needed change or other assistance.

The only complaint that I have is during our stay which was the second week of October, there were cleaning crews on the pool deck and on the side of the building power washing. We were still able to enjoy the hot tub, pool and lazy river as the cleaning crew roped off the areas where they were working.

That's not really a complaint though as we did have a wonderful time. I would rather see a hotel keep up on their cleaning and maintenance than experience uncleanliness.

Tilghman does require a security deposit as do most resorts of this type.

Our girls loved the free DVD movie rental. The lobby has two DVD rental machines that you can access with a special card you receive at the front desk. The movies were current and the girls were able to watch a few movies at night that they had not seen. The free wi-fi came in handy as I had to finish some school work during our stay. The wi-fi was fast and we had our 4 smart phones and two computers hooked up.

It is also a pet friendly resort as we saw several dogs in the hotel. The place was really clean though and we did not notice any unpleasant odors.

I highly recommend this resort. The price is good and definately worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a view of the lake and golf course. Still a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your review! We love knowing that you and your family had such a great experience! It's also nice to know that you found the golf-view suites to be just as pleasant as a room with the ocean view option. It's our desire for people to experience the resort in its entirety, including relishing the visual aspects of the property. Its important that the resort is relative to people of all ages so it makes us happy to know that the teenagers who were with you were also satisfied with their stay. Please be sure to connect with us on Facebook and Twitter as we offer great deals and opportunities to stay for free when you join our network. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    32
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
101
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I would NEVER stay here again. The Staff is very unprofessional. I was there for a Family Reunion and the staff had us all over the place. The only time you are greeted is when you check in. The staff acts as if you are non existent unless the suspect you may be socializing too much in the lobby. For this to have been the South the hospitality was lacking. When making the arrangements for the reunion the manager seemed incapable of handling any special requests.
4 Star you are NOT!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello LadyRed H,

We regret to have to correspond under such terms, but first and foremost, let us say that we appreciate your time with us and that you chose our property to host your relatives. As it is known, we do not present the facilities to hold events without advanced notice as we have homeowners within our building and must submit requests for events to HOA. In offering assistance to call around the city for locations to cater to the needs of you and your party, we hoped that this effort exemplified our desire to help you have a memorable stay. While we respect your comments, we do hope that you choose to stay with us again. Best regards and well wishes this holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were looking forward to this vacation with our friends and wanted it to be "special". We reviewed several places and based upon the website decided to stay at Tilghman. At the time we made the reservations we chose a B unit with a SOUTH Ocean view exposure. We also asked that we be put in one of the higher units to get the best beach views. We were told that they would not guarantee a specific floor, but would put our request on the reservation. Upon arrival,we were assigned to the 7th floor with a NORTH ocean view which mostly overlooks buildings, with some ocean. We were also told that no higher accommodations were available.
As soon as we arrived in our unit, we noticed the balcony was covered with dirt and debris from a remodeling project on the outside of the building. We again contacted the reservations desk and asked to be moved to the other side of the building away from the construction. The answer was "NO" as the construction would be taking place on that side the following day. They did send someone up to clean the balcony.
The following Monday morning the construction crew was back and the debris was again on the balcony and was there all week. At the same time, the South end appeared to be mostly empty and no construction took place on that end for the rest of the week.

Although the unit was clean and spacious inside, we were so disappointed that we were not considered with our former request. I suspect that will be the first and last time to stay at Tilghman. There are too many other nice places to stay.

Room Tip: Since they would not honor our request, I doubt that you will be able to "choose" ; howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello! First and foremost, we want to thank you for this correspondence and we appreciate your response and the time taken to rate our facility. The circumstances regarding the construction was unfortunate and it would have been our pleasure to move you to another unit similar to your B styled condominium, however, the B units have the most limited availability (only 20) on top of that, we only own a portion of them (9) so at the time they were all occupied. We hope that you do change your mind and come to see us once again especially after the winter months as we plan to present Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort with a fresh face. We do apologize for any circumstance that may have impaired your stay and hope that you opt to stay here once again. Best to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My fiance and I arrived at the resort after he had made and paid for our rooms online. After checking in to the hotel and taking the elevator up to our floor, we were immediately greeted by a sign informing us that pest control would be in the building that week. Not the way we intended to start our stay.
In the room itself, there were swarms of bugs on the doors of the balcony outside that prevented us from going outside to enjoy the ocean view or eat meals. As soon as you opened the door, the bugs immediately entered the suite. We went back downstairs to the lobby to ask if maintenance was available and were informed by the unfriendly employee that maintenance had left at 5:30 but she could put in a service request.
We were planning on staying an extra night but decided to change hotels due to unsatisfactory conditions and poor customer service. The next day we asked the girl at the desk if we could obtain a late checkout, her response was "you better be out by 11:30". We also wanted to take a dip in the hot tub before we left and came downstairs at 9 am when it was supposed to be open. This same girl watched us come down with bathing suits on and towels in hand and never said a word. The door to the pool and hot tub were still locked. We had to come back to the lobby to ask her to unlock the door. She did so without a good morning or any kind of acknowledgement before or after.
This resort is rated as 4 stars, but based on the accommodations and poor customer service, this resort was overrated. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello! First and foremost we would like to apologize for the situation that you encountered when you were here. During this time of year, palmetto bugs and other types are very prominent as so we spray once a month, twice during September through November because of the increase. When it comes to customer service, we only want to exude the best attitudes and mindsets. Being that many of our guest at this time are homeowners, our staff has a more "treat you like family" mindset that can sometimes be taken differently with new guest. We truly do not want to offend anyone with this persona and we will make it our business to make sure that for these practices that everyone be treated as if they're a new guest, no matter what. Thank you for your comments and we truly hope to win back your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Tilghman Beach and Golf resort was fabulous! I was in a three bedroom condo that was spacious and had all the comforts of home. The hotel is located centrally, so we were close to many restaurants, attractions, grocery store and a CVS (had a minor medical issue during our stay). Most important were the accommodations for the disabled. There was a disabled child in our group and the accessibility could not have been better. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your response as your visit and comments mean so much to us! Our efforts to make sure that your stay was accommodating and that you had easy access to amenities both within the resort and outside of it. We're happy that everyone in your party had the same experience and was able to enjoy the property comfortably. Best to you and be sure to connect with us on Facebook and Twitter as we have more opportunties for you to win a free stay at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I went to this resort in the late August. One thing I didn't like is our room was on the back side of the hotel with only a view of a golf course, tennis court, and a bunch of people swimming in a swimming pool. Yes I do like the Avista better they have a better view, pool area and nicer staff. If you want to be able to get in the Lazy river plan it at night. There is kids pushing you around swimming it's not a swimming pool if you want to swim around go to the swimming pool not the lazy river kids. And the inside pool smells like chlorine. The hot tubs are filthy . ( Do not plan to get in the sauna you have to ask the front desk for the key) The staff is not really friendly. And the elevators stink. The pool area is very small. I don't know if I will be back here or not. ?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of your stay at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort. Your comments are welcomed and appreciated as we try to surpass the standards that we set and improve upon our processes. For each attribute that you shared we will take the time to see what can be done to make sure future guests such as yourself have a more optimal time here. Again, we appreciate your response and hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm the type of person that reads reviews about places before i go. Let me just say a lot of the reviews are really misleading. We went to the Tilghman for my Bestfriends birthday weekend. The pictures didn't do this place justice. It was the best resort I've stayed at in a while. All of the bedrooms were clean and beautiful, the kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed, and the staff was very friendly. From the time we checked in to the time we left we had a ball.The pools were nice, clean and not crowded. As with all resorts, there is a security deposit of $250, but it comes right back to you in a matter of days.

We had pleanty of toliet paper and was given more when we ask. I loved the fact that the resort had it's on parking garage and that it was free. We visited our friends in Myrtle Beach and everywhere we went we had to pay to park. We had so many things to in North myrtle that it was just like staying in myrtle. This vacation made my friends and i realize this needs to be an annual vacation, and the Tilghman will be our first choice.

Room Tip: If you plan on checking out late, make sure you let them know when you arrive. Reserve your parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We're glad to know that you found our hotel standards beyond great and meeting your expectations. Your review is necessary and lets us know that we are continuing to show others who and what we are as a North Myrtle Beach resort. Please join our networks on Facebook and Twitter where you'll be in the know of specials, discounts and contests for opportunities to win a free stay with us! Again, we appreciate your response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 1819 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanview Myrtle Beach resort provides a variety of room types and unit sizes to suit every need. Lush accommodations and on-site amenities pamper adults and cater to children. Our family-friendly resort includes customizable golf packages, lazy river, water parks, kiddie pools, outdoor/indoor pools, hot tubs, children's play area, atrium with a library and reading area, high speed internet, state of the art fitness center, and washer & dryer in room. Find plenty of room to relax in these optimal suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilghman Beach & Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Tilghman Beach And Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.