We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1819 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I went to this resort in the late August. One thing I didn't like is our room was on the back side of the hotel with only a view of a golf course, tennis court, and a bunch of people swimming in a swimming pool. Yes I do like the Avista better they have a better view, pool area and nicer staff. If you want to be able to get in the Lazy river plan it at night. There is kids pushing you around swimming it's not a swimming pool if you want to swim around go to the swimming pool not the lazy river kids. And the inside pool smells like chlorine. The hot tubs are filthy . ( Do not plan to get in the sauna you have to ask the front desk for the key) The staff is not really friendly. And the elevators stink. The pool area is very small. I don't know if I will be back here or not. ?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of your stay at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort. Your comments are welcomed and appreciated as we try to surpass the standards that we set and improve upon our processes. For each attribute that you shared we will take the time to see what can be done to make sure future guests such as yourself have a more optimal time here. Again, we appreciate your response and hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    32
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
101
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm the type of person that reads reviews about places before i go. Let me just say a lot of the reviews are really misleading. We went to the Tilghman for my Bestfriends birthday weekend. The pictures didn't do this place justice. It was the best resort I've stayed at in a while. All of the bedrooms were clean and beautiful, the kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed, and the staff was very friendly. From the time we checked in to the time we left we had a ball.The pools were nice, clean and not crowded. As with all resorts, there is a security deposit of $250, but it comes right back to you in a matter of days.

We had pleanty of toliet paper and was given more when we ask. I loved the fact that the resort had it's on parking garage and that it was free. We visited our friends in Myrtle Beach and everywhere we went we had to pay to park. We had so many things to in North myrtle that it was just like staying in myrtle. This vacation made my friends and i realize this needs to be an annual vacation, and the Tilghman will be our first choice.

Room Tip: If you plan on checking out late, make sure you let them know when you arrive. Reserve your parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We're glad to know that you found our hotel standards beyond great and meeting your expectations. Your review is necessary and lets us know that we are continuing to show others who and what we are as a North Myrtle Beach resort. Please join our networks on Facebook and Twitter where you'll be in the know of specials, discounts and contests for opportunities to win a free stay with us! Again, we appreciate your response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since moving to North Carolina a few years ago we've been fortunate enough to be able to visit Myrtle Beach 2 to 3 times a year. We typically always stay in North Myrtle Beach and have tried a couple of the newer resorts like Prince Resort and Wyndham's towers on the Grove. Although those are both good places to stay as well, Tilghman has become our favorite For a couple of reasons. I love the fact that they have two bedroom two bath or three bedroom three bath condos to choose from. They are so reasonably priced that we often get a three-bedroom even when it's just the four of us which allows us to spread out comfortably And gives us the third bath which is what we are used to at home. There was plenty of room for six of us when my in-laws came for a visit recently. That is when we discovered the corner three-bedroom units that have two balconies one facing the ocean and one facing the golf course! The units are also beautifully decorated, up to date and modern as well as being well-maintained. Kitchens are Nicely set up with everything you need to prepare meals in rather than having to eat out all the time. They are always offering specials and we've gotten some great deals on the rates. The lazy river is so much fun and we enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools. The kids always look forward to picking out a couple of freeDVDs from the machine in the lobby to take back to their room. Even though the resort is not directly on the beach the buildings in front are low and there is a great ocean view. There is also extremely easy access to the beach right across the street and we were happy to discover on our last visit that new bathrooms and showers as well as a paved walkway have been added to the area. We are heading back to Tilghman today, As a matter of fact to celebrate my husbands birthday And look forward to relaxing in its luxury.

Room Tip: Some three bedrooms are on the corners and offer two balconies with golf and ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We're glad to know that your experience with us has made you choose our resort again! We hope that your most recent visit on the 6th proved to be equally as enjoyable and comfortable! Be sure to join our network on Facebook and Twitter! Many thanks and we look forward to having you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from a Labor Day weekend stay and liked the amenities, but did have a few issues with the unit. First, like many others have noted, the front desk staff aren't exactly friendly. You'd think management would've addressed this issue since others have complained about it. Not sure why they're so snooty. The $250 security deposit is also off-putting -- quite a hefty amount. We took pictures of stains, chipped areas, etc that we noticed upon entry out of fear that we may be held liable for damage that we didn't cause.

When we walked in our unit and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness. 3 bedrooms each with its own flat screen and DVD player. The "golf course" view is a little misleading. It's primarily a parking lot view with a small glimpse of a golf course way in the back corner of the window view, but it didn't matter that much to us.

The most noticeable issues to us were that the furniture, linens, and carpeting in the unit really need to be cleaned/replaced. The comforters looked worn and when we peeled them back, we were disgusted to see brown stains and smears on the blanket under each of the comforters on each bed. Obviously the blankets hadn't been washed in I don't know how long, which also led us to believe that the comforters hadn't either in a very long time. We ended up not even using the comforters and immediately washing the blankets. Fortunately the stains on the blankets did come out after washing. The couch and chairs looked worn and little thread bare. Doesn't lend a sense of cleanliness and comfort in the unit and neither did several noticeable stains on the carpet. We ended up buying a set of sheets from Walmart to put on the couch and chairs so that we could actually feel comfortable sitting on them during our stay! Once we did that, we felt much better.

Now for some positives: the kitchen was well-equipped, there was ample parking, the kids loved the lazy river, and the poolside cafe has good food (try the wings and fish and chips). Also, we enjoyed the free DVD rental. It was nice having access to a PS3, but unfortunately they didn't have any age-appropriate games for our young kids. Just a note that apparently free DVD and PS3 rental is only for guests who rented through the resort or a booking agency (I don't think it's available for people who rented directly through an owner). With 3 young kids, we didn't bother crossing the busy street going to the beach. Several people did, but it just seemed easier to trek down to the pool rather than across the street.

The stay would've been great if linens, furniture and carpet were updated. These are seemingly easy, low-cost fixes though and Tilghman management and owners should really examine the very low-cost it would take to replace these. Most nicer places use duvets rather than dated comforters, which wouldn't cost much to replace. Also, leather furniture that you can wipe-off. I don't think we're over the top in terms of pickiness, but it didn't meet our expectations. Based on other reviews, it seems really hit or miss depending on which unit you get. With the amount of money paid, I'd like to have reassurance that the rooms would be comfortable and have a certain level of cleanliness/maintenance but I just don't know that I'd take the gamble to stay here again with the fear that I might end up in a unit that is in even greater need of an update.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review as we are constantly looking to improve our units as well as our methods of customer service. We are making adjustments in protocol so that we are more efficient and displaying the service that you deserve at the front desk. Also, we are encouraging homeowners to see the benefits of updating their units as it will benefit both them and guests alike. While we regret to hear of the complications you had during your stay, we also want to have the chance to prove to you how much we appreciate you and your patronage. Please remain in contact so that upon the next time you look to visit the area, we are able to assist in making sure your stay is a pleasant one. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tilghman 's helped make our family reunion become real!thereWe had a ball,this place has everything you could ever ask for at the beach.Beautiful pool area,lazy river and all kind of fun things for the guest to do even free movies.Loved saying

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your stay with us here at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort! Glad that we can make your family reunion experience that much more fantastic! We look forward to your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us again. Be sure to join our network on Facebook and Twitter for updates on discounts, special offers and contests! Thanks again for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to myrtle and north myrtle beach for 8 years. Two to three times a year. This is the first time that I am staying in Tilgnmans. We decided to stay here because my friend was staying in prince resort and was not able to get a room there.
First, I thought it was on the beach but you have to walk across the ocean blvd to get to the beach which was not a problem.
Second, house keeping is not included so you don't get to clean your room everyday which I was pretty upset about. I never had a place didn't offer house keeping. They charge $75 for a house cleaning.
Third, no toilet paper. Come on. All the resort have extra toilet paper but this resort had one one the roll.
Fourth, no hair dryer. Really? You have to check it out from the front desk after signing your name.
Then I forgot to bring it down as I was checking out, front desk people told me to go get it instead of offering to pick it up by themselves. Wow!
Fifth, fitness center. Really? Smaller then a typical room with cramped three treadmill and one old universal gym machine? Man, need to upgrade. Didn't look like a picture. Very disappointed.
Sixth, no alcohol license. They cannot sell any alcohol because they do not have license. Not even frozen drink are available.
Pool staff was nice.
Seven, locked sauna. Why would you lock the sauna and make people go get the key for it. Inconvenience.
Eighth, some front desk staff do not act professional and don't know all the information. Some were very nice.
Nine, bed is uncomfortable and pillows are flat.

Rooms are spacious but blend. Nothing special about the room.
Too much for the service they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Public Relations Manager at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for your response. It pains us to hear that your stay was less than pleasurable. Your list of grievances provides us the opportunity to improve on each facet of our business so that you and others will have a mutually gratifying experience. This scenario is something that we prefer not to be continuous and we are thankful that not only did you choose to share with us your thoughts but just the mere fact that you chose us as the place to stay.

Please remain in contact with us upon your next visit to the area and allow us the chance to show you how we at Tilghman really show our appreciation. Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Am a couple of months late posting my review. We stayed in June 2013. We drove down from Maryland accompanied by my mom who is wheelchair bound. We arrived very early in the morning and although check-in time was not until mid to late afternoon, the staffed worked to allow us to check in a couple of hours early. I can't say how thankful we were as mom had been sitting for quite a long time and really needed to change and rest.

We loved how large the condo was and it was wheelchair accessible - esp the bathrooms - a huge plus for us. While the bathrooms aren't really handicap equipped with roll-in showers and grab bars etc., the entry doors were large enough for a 36-38" wheelchair, which allowed mom at least to roll herself into the bathroom and to use the sink and toilet.

We had a corner unit on the 6th floor with a somewhat oceanview. I say somewhat because there are tall buildings that somewhat take away from the view. However, the unit was clean and very nice. We found the staff very helpful.

It was quiet. Parking was great. Onsite food options are not great, but there is a small deli.

Room Tip: We had a "d" unit on the 6th floor. It was a 3bdrm/3ba unit with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Director of Sales at Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello! Thank you much for your patronage. We appreciate knowing that our accommodations at Tilghman served you and your mother to the utmost degree. Even though you may have stayed several months ago, your review is very relevant. Please be sure to connect with us via Facebook and Twitter @tilghman_resort and stay in touch for more discounts and opportunities to win free vacation stays with us! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 1819 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanview Myrtle Beach resort provides a variety of room types and unit sizes to suit every need. Lush accommodations and on-site amenities pamper adults and cater to children. Our family-friendly resort includes customizable golf packages, lazy river, water parks, kiddie pools, outdoor/indoor pools, hot tubs, children's play area, atrium with a library and reading area, high speed internet, state of the art fitness center, and washer & dryer in room. Find plenty of room to relax in these optimal suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilghman Beach & Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Tilghman Beach And Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilghman Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.