We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   98 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Swansboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has a premier location. The beach is large and well kept. The area is loaded with nostalgia....it is like seeing Myrtle Beach in the 50's...The room is clean and the view is unmatched...However the beds are a bit hard...and the TV is the old tube model....nothing fancy in the room but who stays in the room and watches tv at the beach!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view....but I would guess the higher you are the better the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    73
    41
    45
See reviews for
102
106
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to go to North Myrtle Beach on the spur of the moment and luckily the OD reservations desk was able to get us in via a cancellation and we were glad we stayed here. The rooms are a bit dated but they are extremely clean and very well maintained. The pool area is great and is also very clean and well maintained. Good location, easy parking, wonderful staff. Good value for the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were honeymooning on a budget and this place was perfect. We were a bit nervous after reading the reviews but the place was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds are not hard they're "firm" (which I like firm mattresses anyhow!) We had a beautiful ocean front view. There's a tiki bar that has good food and you can sit ocean front for that too. Theres no complimentary breakfast, and The breakfast buffet they provide is a bit pricey. We thought the location was great - we weren't in myrtle or south myrtle so we were away from the party scene - BUT there was still a night life! This place is by no means a Ritz Carlton, but it was perfect, comfortable, and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The location in Cherry Grove was great. The resort sits near the corner of Ocean Drive and Main Street. There are restaurants, ice cream, souvenir shops, etc. all within a quick walk from the hotel.

The staff was so friendly. And the hotel is nice.

The hotel has a small lazy river and indoor and outdoor pools. The pools were surprisingly not very crowded. We enjoyed the beach then pool each day of our stay with no problems.

I am a bit of a germ-o-phob and I found the room to be clean. We had an oceanfront king suite. Great view from our balcony!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Hot tub yellow, lazy river had trash in it, pool had mold in the grout and green fungus growing in the deck, front desk workers and pool monitor were rude, beds hard and could feel the springs. They need a seperate kids pool so that adults can swim without getting kicked and splashed. There was a great view from the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was impressed more with the staff than with the hotel. Before we arrived, I realized Expedia made a mistake, and I had to change the type of room we were booked for. Steve was remarkably helpful and understanding - he rebooked us into a bigger room without extra fuss. All my requests were fulfilled - without as much as an eye roll.
The room was clean, with a nice view on the ocean. Having a lazy river right under our balcony was a definite minus, but I knew it would be noisy going in - hotel description says family friendly.
Another drawback, hotel advertised restaurant on premises - not really. They have an all you can eat breakfast buffet - for $14/person, which was absolutely not worth it, given the variety. No lunch or dinner menu. The area has a lot of restaurants, so we managed ok.
Hotel site claims DVD player in every room - surprise! there was none. The kids were looking forward to watching their videos at night (as were we), so we had to keep making up reasons why they could not. TV in the room was so old, we could not even plug a DVD player we picked up at Walmart in it. I wish they did not claim to have what they could not provide.
The pool was getting dirtier by the day, but with the numbers of people in it, it was hardly surprising.
Overall, an ok stay, but I probably would not stay here again, given the number of other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: ask for direct ocean view, and go 4th floor or above, or you will listen to lazy river and pool chao...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to checking into our condo in the Windy Hill section, and I have to admit I was skeptical after reading some reviews but was pleasantly surprised.

First, we arrived early and asked if we could check-in and were told yes if our room was ready which it was. She said our room which was to be a 1 bedroom oceanfront efficiency had air conditioning trouble though and we were complimentary upgraded to an oceanfront suite on the 10th floor. The rooms are a bit outdated but ours was quite roomy and clean with an awesome oceanfront balcony. A reviewer mentioned a disgusting yellow mat and while there was one in the shower, it was not that gross nor was it set down in the shower but we had the option of putting it down. And for women with long hair, the water pressure was very good. I don't know how all the rooms are set up but you walked into the bedroom, then there was the full kitchen on the left, bathroom to the right and then straight ahead was the living room with a Murphy bed and then balcony. We experienced no noise problems other than people getting off the elevator and going to their rooms. The air conditioning units are however very loud when they turn on/off and did wake us up a few times.

The parking is limited so we just parked and walked to dinner/activities.

There are a couple restaurants in walking distance and some shopping and there is a little carnival right next to the resort with rides and fair food. In addition, there's a pavilion with games such as skee ball, air hockey, etc.

There is an Ocean Drive restaurant located on the Mezzanine level of the resort overlooking the ocean which only serves breakfast buffet style until 11 a.m. which was decent at $12 a person. You cannot charge this to your room however as it is not affiliated with the resort but only located in the resort.

There is also a place called a Tiki Bar/SpanishGalleon. You can get food and drinks there which is on the pool level which you can also get to through the lobby that once again is not affiliated with the resort but is located within the resort. Supposedly it doubles as a night club called the Spanish Galleon at night but don't quote me on that.

We did not use the pool area but you walk through the pool area to get to the ocean and it has a pool, jacuzzi and lazy river. You also have to display blue wristbands (at least they were blue for us) in the pool area. There was sand in the pool but I find it impossible to not get sand in the pool. Coming up from the ocean, there are 2 hoses where you can rinse off.

Also on the pool level there is a game room but we did not patronize that and snack machines.

Room Tip: Upper Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 98 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Resort
Ocean Drive Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Resort North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Golf
Ocean Drive Myrtle
Ocean Drive Beach Hotel North Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.