We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7645 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Residence Inn Charleston)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
1 review
“Great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly, down to earth, and respectful. This was my first visit to South Carolina and the staff was very knowledgable about the area around their hotel. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The quality of the of my stay and service was overall excellent. I will definitely stay here again when I visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    40
    49
    46
See reviews for
98
45
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm generally a very easy to please customer and I have never taken the time to actually write a poor review on a hotel because I've never had an experience so poor that I felt I had to save future guests from this experience. This hotel was awful! The room smelled of smoke and mold, i opened the windows but couldn't even air it out. all of my clothes and bags smell horrible now for being in there for only 2 days...absolutely disgusting. I washed them and still couldn’t get the smell all the way out....$75 later at the dry cleaners and i can finally wear them again. Additionally, 1 of the 2 beds had dirty sheets...fine...i understand this happens sometimes and things get over looked...however! when we called and requested the bed be changed i was informed that the maids had gone home for the day! mind you, this was only at 6:00 pm not early morning or late at night. Because the maids had left a man from facilities bought us sheets so that we could re make the bed ourselves....the "do-it-yourself" mentally is not meant for the hospitality industry. I'm not even at the best part yet! The hotel failed to inform me that during my two night stay we would also be sharing the hotel with a college fraternity in the adjoining building. The frat brothers and their dates were up all night both nights screaming and being loud. it was unbelievable. The hotel and its rooms were in desperate need of an update and deep deep cleaning. its only redeeming qualities were a couple friendly staff members and the Italian restaurant across the street. I will never ever ever stay at this hotel or another Wydham hotel in my life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis-St Paul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 8 nights here and highly recommend it for work or leisure. It's located near shopping (Best Buy, Barnes & Noble, etc.), movie theater and easy freeway access. Staff was 100% great... friendly, always asking if we needed anything, etc. Was surprised to find a fireplace in our room in addition to the standard full kitchen. No, it's not located in downtown Charleston if that's your destination (it was ours!) but it's only a 10-12 minute drive by freeway and the value more than made up for the location. Comfortable bed and pillows. Pool, whirlpool, breakfast and happy hour snacks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Overall my stay was pleasent. Clean rooms, helpful staff, breakfest was ok. My only issue was that the bed was hard. I personally like a soft pillow top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We had to stay here 3 nights while my mother was in ICU at MUSC. When i first walked in the room had a weird smell like mold but something else i couldnt quite name! I immesiately went to tha closet that house the airunit, in the kitchen, it was filthy- all the vents were covered in black dust! the floor looked like it had flooded and no one cleaned up the mess. which could be the smell. Wall paper was peeling in places
We got the 2 bedroom suite. It was fair, but nothing fancy. It was fairly clean. And we needed the room badly, so I am grateful for the hospital price. I would stay there but not for a vacation it wasn't that comfortable. The stairs were hard on my elderly father so he got the downstairs bed which left my husband and I little privacy in the loft bedroom.
thanks again for the MUSC rate which is great. I just would've loved a little cleaner room. Like home!! I posted pictures of the air unit closet. Black mold and tons of dust.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston

Address: 7645 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Residence Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Residence Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham N. Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.